Ah, Milestones.

Mallory has hit an impressive amount of milestones in her short life…

Roll over?  Check.

Sit up on her own?  Check.

Crawl like the devil himself is behind her?  Check.

Pull herself up on furniture, my leg, the dogs, et al?  Check.

Feed herself from a spoon and eat more than she wears?  Check.

Take her very first unassisted steps this weekend?  Check.

Tell me, where in that list of notable accomplishments is the one that says, ‘Break Momma’s Nose?’  Maybe she’s going for the more advanced milestones now that she has the easy ones out of the way.

So yeah, she broke my nose.  We were playing on the bed, she had Ben’s cell phone, he took it away, she got mad and flung herself backwards.  I was laying down and unfortunately, my nose broke her fall.  Or her fall broke my nose…

I went to get x-rays at an urgent care and they told me it looked fractured but that I needed to follow up with an ear, nose, and throat doctor.  Outwardly, it didn’t look like anything was wrong with me.  My face was a little swollen but it wasn’t like I had black eyes or anything. Luckily, my mom has the hookup when it comes to doctor referrals and I saw the ENT on Thursday.  He took a look, pressed a bit on my nose, and told me that the treatment was to knock me out, reset the fractured bone, and put a cast on my face that I would have to wear for 6 days.

When I was done laughing I believe I asked him, “No, really.  Do I just wait for this to get better or what?”  Imagine my surprise when he repeated himself – knock me out, reset the fractured bone, and put a cast on my face for 6 days.  I almost cried at this point.  Here I thought my mom was just jerking me around when she told me I might need to have surgery.

I asked the doc what my options were and the surgery was preferable.  Alternative A was to do nothing and risk permanent damage, especially since the bone is pressing on a nerve.  I can push on one section of my nose right now and it makes my left nostril go numb.  Kinda cool but nothing I want on a long-term basis.   Alternative B is to wait about 6-8 weeks to see if my nose heals on its own.  If the bone doesn’t reset itself then I would need the same surgery only they would probably have to cut the bone because it would have fused.  Count me out!

Think of me this Friday; that’s when I’m having this whole mess straightened out.  (No pun intended).  I plan to have pictures taken and saved for when Mallory is old enough to appreciate it.  If I get adventurous I might even post one here for you guys to see.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 00:10:26

    Oh. My. Gosh! She broke your nose?! Holy cow! I know their hard little heads can hurt when they fling themselves like that, and Lord knows I’ve had my share of bumps and bruises from it too, but a broken nose?!

    Yeah, it was crazy. I figured they would tell me to put ice on it and take ibuprofen. I totally didn’t see surgery in my future. Grrr!

    Think of the guilt, the manipulation you’ll be able to lay on her as a teen! You’ve got way more than labor and delivery stories now!

    Awwwww yeah. I have a feeling this is gonna hurt like a mutha so I have no problems with telling her just how much it hurt. Forget having an emergency c-section… this trumps it all!

    I’m so sorry hon. I hope you feel better soon, and I will absolutely be saying a prayer for you on Friday! Don’t forget to update when you’re feeling better!

    Thanks for the prayers. I still don’t know what time I’m scheduled to go in… it’s one of those offsite surgery centers. I think they fly by the seat of their pants *sigh*. I’ll update you guys when I’m able to.

    Reply

  2. wigsf
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 06:31:41

    Aw she’s growing up so fast. Pretty soon she’ll be denying she knows you and talking on the phone for 23 1/2 hours a day.

    Sadly, it was a cell phone that started this entire mess! But yeah, I’m ready for the complete parental isolation in about 7 or 8 years. “Who, them? No, I don’t know them. Quick! Walk away before they say something!”

    Reply

  3. claire
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 11:28:14

    Awww, sorry to hear about that! I’ll be praying for you. These crazy things happen, hopefully you won’t be the victim again for a while! 🙂 Last week Em poked Jeremy in the eye – completely on accident, and he ended up in the ER with a scratched cornea. Heal fast and I hope all goes well!

    Thanks for the prayers. I can’t believe how totally random this was. ‘Ow!’ for Jeremy! Does having a scratched cornea affect his ability to fly or does it just hurt? What is up with this sudden rash of accidental parental violence?? Also, I’ve been meaning to get in touch with you… I feel like I’ve done a crappy job of staying in touch. Losing my cell phone has made it that much harder. We have to get together again soon – preferably after my two black eyes fade.

    Reply

  4. allison
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 22:37:02

    Wow, lots of news…and she took a step? Go Mallory! I’m still thinking of her as a newborn. I can’t believe she is all grown up…wearing pigtails, walking around, and breaking bones for those who dare to cross her (or take her phone away).

    TWO steps until she realized what she was doing and dropped back down to her dupa. She’s soooooo stinkin’ close! She’s also as tall and gangly as a two year old *sigh*. She’s only 15 months old and she’s well into 18 month clothing and some 24 month stuff more for the height; the waists are still a bit baggy for her. Plus, all the hair she has makes her look even older. We run into other girls her age who only have peach fuzz with a bow taped to their head all the time.

    Hopefully this early proclivity for violence will not lead to her being a bully in the future. We’re working on sharing and that’s going well. At least she’s not yelling “MINE!” at the top of her lungs…

    Reply

  5. Sherri
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 10:00:02

    My kids still like me, and my oldest is 11. You might have longer than you think before Mal starts ignoring you. 🙂 I’ve had a kid-busted lip, but so far they’ve managed to miss my nose, thank goodness. Hope your procedure is complication free. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment