Time flies!

A year ago I was massively uncomfortable and waiting for Mallory to make her grand entrance into the world.  Boy, was I unprepared.  She turns one on Saturday and as I look back, I can’t believe how miraculous a baby’s first year is.  From completely dependent on us and helpless to asserting her independence through crawling and hooting at us.

Yes, I said hooting… she loves to just make noises as well as say dadada over and over again.  On the rare occasion she will eek out a ‘mama,’ but her newest favorite sounds are wub wub wub and bub bub bub.  She has all four of her upper front teeth and the four lower ones as well as a full lower molar with another one breaking through.  Her toothy grin just cracks me up.  Her eyes have stayed blue – surprising since mine are green and Ben’s are hazel.

We’re working on transitioning her from a bottle to a sippy cup, but it’s been a difficult struggle.  She has absolutely no interest in it.  None.  There is a small glimmer of hope – our babysitter got her to drink 2 oz out of it today.  Hallelujah!  We’ve gotten lucky in the fact that Mallory doesn’t want a binkie or suck her thumb.  That’s one less habit to break.

Oh yeah!  I started my new job and I love it!  No more sales… more supporting existing accounts.  The bulk of the resources of this company are geared to the support of their account base, which is rare in this day and age.  It’s interesting that the org chart of this company has the CEO at the top, but he’s not at the pinnacle.  The customer is above even him and it’s trickled down throughout the entire organization.

Soooooo, what’s new with you?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatigotsofar
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 21:10:24

    I’m still having hard a time figuring out the sippy cup and still drink most beverages through the bottle.

    Beer is best from a bottle, not from a sippy cup. It goes flat too fast and tap beer sucks, anyways. Plus, you can’t put Tim Horton’s in a sippy cup… heat does bad bad things to them.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 03:07:36

    Bottles excel sippy cups by megaloads. I prefer mine chilled, but then, I can reach the freezer, so …

    Sippy cups… I’m just thankful I don’t have to wash as many bottles all the time now. Hallelujah! I’m more a bottle over can person myself. Remember when Coke came in the glass bottles? There was nothing better than getting one out of an ice box at an old fashioned country store, popping the bottle cap off with the opener attached to the box, and gulping down the first burning sip of caramel colored carbonated happiness. Ah, memories. Those and Jetsons orange push ups!

    A year. Fal reminded me the other day this was coming. Time does indeed fly, doesn’t it?

    Yeah, a *year*. Wow. It doesn’t feel like 12 months have gone by, but alternately it feels like it’s been a lifetime since she was born. Her little personality cracks me up. I hope she gets my sense of humor 🙂

    Happy b-day to Mallory. 🙂

    Indeed!

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 04:18:09

    Personally, I like the sippy cup. LOL

    We finally had a breakthrough today with the sippy cup! We have one of those three step ones and she *finally* started drinking exclusively from it. It’s a different nipple – it makes her work harder for it and prepares her for the real sippy cup – but it’s progress and I don’t have to deal with a million bottles. YAY!

    Good to see you post hon. 🙂 I got your email, but our connection has been extra difficult this past week. I starred it so I can get back to you soon. 🙂

    Argh! That stinks about your connection woes 😦

    Glad to see that things are going pretty well with you. I’ve been keeping you in my prayers. *hugs*

    Thank you, thank you, thank you for the prayers. You guys have been in our thoughts & prayers as well.

    Reply

  4. Sherri
    May 03, 2010 @ 08:31:21

    Sorry I’m late on this, but I just had to say happy birthday to the little Miss Squishypants. That first year of baby’s life seems like an eternity while you’re in the midst of it, and a whirlwind afterward. And they only go by faster and faster from now on. Each addition goes the same way.

    Glad you’re loving your job, too. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment