Playing catchup!

So, Miss Mallory is mobile… try saying THAT five times fast.  She started crawling last Sunday and hasn’t looked back.  She’s now terrorizing the dogs, pulling books and toys off ‘her’ shelf, and is already grabbing onto things to pull herself up on her knees.  It’s just a matter of time before she gets the bright idea to stand on her own two feet.  This is getting fun!  I can’t believe it took her this long to hit this milestone, but then I remind myself that all babies develop differently.  Mallory is definitely her own little individual personality. 🙂

By now you’ve probably all heard the news about Ben being picked up by the publishing arm of the ‘Library of the Living Dead.’  The first book in his ‘Undead Trilogy’ should be wrapped up in the next week and submitted.  We’ve been working through the first edit these past few weeks and I can’t wait to have it out of the house.  Don’t get me wrong, I love it and I don’t mind editing, but I’d like some time to just relax!  We’ve been living, breathing, and dreaming this book for the last few months.  Now we’re starting to research buzz marketing and all sorts of word-of-mouth and social media promotion for it.  I think that’s almost as much work as getting the novel together!

Let’s see… what else?  Oh yeah!  I started my new job today.  I left AccuNet a few weeks ago because I was just tired of being in sales.  Sure, every once in a while you get a pretty decent paycheck, but I was tired of cold calling, prospecting, and selling my soul.  My new company is leagues ahead of where I was.  It’s hard to explain what I will be doing in my new role, so I’ll save that for another post.  My first day included Elvis, tricycle races, and meeting every single person on our team – all 89 of them. I have a cube instead of an office, but that’s ok.  I’m not going to be a slave to the email notification on my cell phone anymore.  That’s a fair trade in my book.

I’m actually working on a piece of jewelry for a friend as a ‘thank you’ for serving as a reference deal.  She’s the one person I miss from my old job.  😦  Believe me, if I could I’d get her hired on at the new company post-haste!  I’m going back through and re-reading George R.R. Martin’s Fire & Ice trilogy.  Even though I’ve read it several times, I still sit in disbelief every time I read the part where King Robb of the North dines with the Freys after marrying that manipulative hussy Jeyne Westerling.  Who kills off a main character in such a crazy ass twist that you never expect!?

Weather’s getting warmer and we’re discovering Central Ohio’s great MetroPark system.  Glacier Ridge Park is near our house so we went there for a fun 2 mile walk on Sunday morning.  We bundled up Mallory in her stroller and did some exploring.  I think we’re going back this weekend to walk a different part of the trail.  They have a cool boardwalk over the wetlands (thank you, Honda!) so we’ll be able to see some scenic stuff as well.  I love how they’re reforesting the prairie.  Metro Parks are awesome!

Ok, that’s enough for me.  Time to head to bed.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Mar 23, 2010 @ 01:06:36

    Isn’t baby development AWESOME to watch? All the great things they discover and seeing them come to them on their own. Amazing aspect of life; irreplaceable.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 23, 2010 @ 23:01:26

    She’s right on schedule! I’ve seen babies walk as early as 6 mos, and as late as 18 mos, so no worries mom. 🙂 She’s doing wonderfully well.

    So glad you’re liking the new job so far! Woo! You held out and made the right decision at the right time – what could be better? You’re one of those rate people who seem to know what’s the best thing to do when. 🙂

    And at least now you know what to do about your phone! lol 😉 *hugs*

    Reply

  3. Sherri
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 12:19:00

    Sounds like things are going well for you guys!

    Reply

Leave a comment