Cell Phone Drama

I had to report my cell phone as missing this morning.  I had it yesterday when we walked through a house my sister is thinking of buying.  I remember pulling it out to see what time it was and placing it back in my purse, which was hanging on the post of one of their dining room chairs.  Tried to call my mom on the way back to our house (yes, I know I’m a bad person for talking and driving) and couldn’t find it.  My sister looked through her Hummer, looked on the ground where she thought I might have dropped it, and where I was parked, but couldn’t find it. 

I’m stuck as to what we’re going to do.  Do I pay the $50 and get a refurbed model of the same crappy phone or do I extend our contract and get the Google Droid phones we’ve been drooling over lately?  To add to the difficult decision, the Droid phones are now BOGO.  Plus, if we order online we will get the $100 rebate instantly *and* free activation.  I’m so torn.

I’ve already called Verizon and reported it as missing.  My next step is to figure out what the hell I’m going to do.  In the meantime, don’t call me.

Any advice?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatigotsofar
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 11:03:01

    First bit of advice, tell your sister to push the Hummer off a cliff. It’s a giant piece of junk!

    Actually, I think it’s awesome for what she uses it for. She walks or bikes to work and uses the Hummer to run errands on the weekends or to take her camper out on the road. She’s not one of those obnoxious Hummer people you see.

    Second bit of advice, get a wristwatch. Hard to lose something wrapped around your wrist.

    I’ve been meaning to get the battery replaced in my watch for the last two and a half years. The only place that will do it is in the mall and I go there once or twice a year. Odds are that I forget to take it with me and another 6 months goes by. I need to make it a priority, huh?

    Third bit of advice, get a cheap phone, especially if you are prone to losing them.

    I hate them all. Right now I’m using justa cheapie flip phone and it seems to be working for me. I think I’m going to keep it.

    Reply

    • whatigotsofar
      Mar 05, 2010 @ 15:48:26

      Are you aware that I’m not some SUV-hating hippy but somebody with actual experience in driving one of those things. I’d recommend selling it, but who would buy one these days. The only things that worked well in the Hummer were the brakes, because you never need to use them. The car comes to stop by itself without having to brake. It’s that unaerodynamic and heavy. The fuse in the power seats blew on a monthly basis. The AC never lasted an entire summer. This one time, my father was opening the door from the outside, but the door stayed closed, the handle came clean off the door. The rear hatch sensor always detected the hatch being open, even when closed. It would beep to warn the driver when the hatch was open. So while driving, it just kept beeping and beeping and beeping. Maybe I got stuck with a lemon, but an 80 grand lemon, is one big honking lemon.

      Reply

      • kreestee
        Mar 05, 2010 @ 17:31:50

        Oh, well that changes everything. She has a H3 and bought it used about a year ago. So far she hasn’t had a single problem. I drove it over the holiday through the mountains of West Virginia and Pennsylvania and didn’t notice any of the unaerodynamic qualities you’re talking about. Does it take off like a Dodge Charger? No, but it’s a lot better than some of the cars / SUVs I’ve had in the past.

        Sorry to hear you got a sucky lemon 😦

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 18:58:47

    I would say go with the Droid one, but what is BOGO? Can you get the new one with just a 1 yr contract instead of 2?

    Of course, you could get the refurb model and remain with no contract. But I thought you said once that most everyone you know is already on Verizon anyway, so you might as well stick with them. Or you could tell them that you lost your phone, you’re thinking of getting one of theirs, but you’re also looking at this great plan that [insert other cell carrier company] has and what can Verizon do to sweeten the deal and keep you as a customer?

    Definitely this is evidence of your current phone hostility, that you actually threw it out the window then make up this story about losing it someplace. Clearly you seriously wanted a different phone. 😉

    Reply

Leave a comment