Stand a little less between me and the sun ~ Diogenes

Do not, I repeat, do NOT get between me and the sun this week.  The days are getting longer minute by minute  and I was dazzled by bright sunshine on my foray to work travelling an eastbound freeway this morning.  I hope to get the same brilliance on my way home.  It seems there’s a little more pep in my step with the emergence of the sun’s rays and I’m loving it.

I listened to the weather this morning and couldn’t believe my ears when I heard them say that it would going to be close to FIFTY this weekend.  Fifty?  Hallelujah!  I’ve been seeing more and more patchy spots of sullen grass peeking out from where the massive snowbanks are starting to recede.  I’m sure the sun will coax it to a brighter shade of green here shortly.  Pretty soon there will be buds on the trees and diminutive delicate beginnings of the crocuses will peek out from under their wintry cover. 

Wow, I didn’t realize how much I missed spring!  I actually want to work in the garden, plant some flowers, and get dirty!  (No, WIGSF – not that kind of dirty).

The only thing that sucks is this whole spril forward thing next Sunday, March 14th.  I hate ‘losing’ that hour of sleep.  However, dogs and babies aren’t governed by clocks sooooooo this may work out briefly in our favor.  Any suggestions for how to adjust bedtimes to coincide with DST?  Any input would be appreciated.

I’d like to bundle up Mallory and take her out walking in a metro park this weekend.  I think I might check out Glacier Ridge Metro Park near our house.  We’d have to drive there, but I think it would be fun.  She LOVES the outdoors and shrieks with excitement when the wind blows in her face.  I have a feeling she’ll be a fearless daredevil on her bike when she gets older. 

What are YOUR almost-but-not-quite weekend plans?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatigotsofar
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 15:35:56

    By working in the garden and planting flowers, I’ll assume you’ll get some topsoil and other such dirt on your person, therefore, if I’m mistaken and you mean another kind of dirty, I gotta wonder what kind of dirty you mean? Even my filthy mind can imagine, well other than lying naked in the garden and smearing dirt all over yourself while the husband turns the soil with his tool.

    I shoulda just kept my mouth shut 🙂 This urge to work in the dirt will pass as soon as the flowers or seeds are purchased. It happens every year. This year we’ll probably have to stop Mallory from eating dirt though…

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 17:10:05

    *pout* We can only look forward to maybe 40ish. Maybe. If we’re lucky. *sigh* I miss warm!

    I felt like a turtle basking in the sun yesterday when the rays came through my car window. Believe it or not, but I had to turn the heat OFF in my car because it got a little too toasty. WOO HOO!

    Sounds like you’ll have a lot of fun in that park, and planting your garden. Wish I could help you there! Nothing like the smell of topsoil in the morning! 😀

    Walking through the park should be fun… and it’s free! As for the garden… ai yai yai! Ben has plans to expand our raised beds this year based on the success of last year. We probably won’t put anything in the ground until after May 15th – that’s the last freeze date for our area.

    Reply

  3. Sherri
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 09:37:14

    The only thing I’ve ever heard to deal with different bedtimes at DST is to do a gradual changeover to get them used to it. However in practice, babies take a while to adjust, and they do it on their own, like a week. When they’re a little older you just let them stay up late on the first night of DST, get them up at the regular time the next morning, and then they’ll be ready to go to bed at the new time. Of course, then you have grouchy kids for that one day, but it works. I hate DST. We have DST for longer than we do standard time, so what’s the point?

    Argh… that’s what I thought the answer would be. They just don’t understand that yesterday at this time it was 7PM, but now it’s 8PM and time for bed. I figure we’ll start in 10 minute increments and gradually work our way back to her 8PM bedtime. I’m right there with you with this stupid DST stuff. I forget – will it be darker in the morning with a longer evening? I hate this whole time confuzzlement! Sadly, I think I still have some clocks in the house that are still on DST. I forgot to change them over last time. Well, at least I can cross them off the list to program this time around, right? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment