Cha-cha-cha-chaaaaanges!

I did one of the hardest things I’ve ever done yesterday… I put in my resignation at my current employer.  I love this company, I love the people (well, ok, *most* of the people), and will really miss them, but I learned enough about myself during this process to know that I’m not cut out for sales.  Once I get in front of a customer I’m magic, but it’s that whole ‘hunter’ persona that I’m lacking.  Cold calls?  Huh uh, no way!  I gave two weeks notice and will be taking three days off – including St. Patrick’s Day! – before starting at the new place.  More money, incredible stability, better fit for my work personality, and I think it was just a change for the best that was a long time in coming.

So yeah… it’s weird.  I’m kind of being treated like Public Enemy #1 by some people here but others are extremely supportive.  You may remember that my current boss is my neighbor.  Luckily, he understood that I needed to get out of sales and pursue a new career.  I did tell him that if a different position ever came open or they created a new position to definitely give me a call and float me an offer. 

Met with the insurance adjuster yesterday and we’re looking at $4,000 (his number) in damages done to our house from the ice dams.  That includes the money we’re going to have to pay to the water remediation company that installed two industrial grade dehumidifiers in our house along with blowers to get everything dried out, new carpet in the upstairs bedroom, lots of repairs to the kitchen, and possibly new cabinets *sigh*.  I have a feeling that once we have our contractor get in there and start taking the cabinets off the wall, the scope of work is going to change dramatically.  We’ll probably do most of the work ourselves to save on the labor cost, but will need assistance from a contractor to document our loss to the insurance company.  This is going to be one great big pain in the butt, I can just tell.  I have NO IDEA when we’re going to get started.  Looks like we need to put some plans together right away.

Ben and I are still doing well with the entire lifestyle change we’ve made.  We’re cooking more low-fat / low-carb meals and have completely cut out sugar.  It’s weird for me to get a sweet craving and automatically reach for an orange instead of a fudge round.  I’ve gotten to the point where I don’t even miss it anymore.  We celebrated our 7th wedding anniversary this weekend with some specialty macaroons from the Whole Foods bakery and they were just overkill.  I’ve gotten pretty handy at putting together a meal plan ahead of time and arranging our grocery shopping around it.  Saturdays & Sundays have become Slow Cooker days – it makes the house smell soooooo good and we always have plenty of leftovers for the week’s lunches.  I’m trying my hand at Meatless Mondays and tossing in a seafood day or two throughout the week as well.  Ben is making fish in parchment paper with asparagus and oranges for dinner tonight.  I can’t wait to taste how that turns out!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatigotsofar
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 14:41:05

    Fridays are supposed to be meatless.

    Yeah, I’m not a big observer of Lent. Good for other people, just not for me.

    Reply

    • whatigotsofar
      Mar 03, 2010 @ 14:59:25

      I’m not a follower of Lent either, but I figure, if you’re gonna make one day a week, meat-free, might as well make it Friday. I don’t like alliteration.

      Sadly, I had to look up ‘alliteration.’ I’m not for it or against it. It just helps me to remember that Monday is meatless. However, last night’s planned fish dinner went kaplooey because we had the contractor over to look at the house. We ended up having hummus, carrots, cucumbers, and an orange pepper with some cashews for dinner. Sounds skimpy, but it was oddly filling.

      Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 15:19:05

    Yay!! Congratulations on the new job!! The prayers worked! And I’m sure your interviews helped some too. 😉

    LOL – my four month journey has come to an end! I greatly appreciate the prayers – they tipped the balance in my favor 🙂

    Sounds like a major pain with all the work on the house. Hopefully it won’t be as bad as you fear.

    Argh! I don’t even want to THINK about the work that needs to be done. It makes me sad just thinking about it. The insurance co. is giving us enough to just ‘fix’ everything but we’d like to nuke it and start from scratch. Unfortunately, the $$ isn’t there so we’ll just have to do what we can.

    And good for you guys on the lifestyle changes – nothing’s harder than that so kudos to your success. 🙂

    It’s crazy how much we’ve changed just in these past few weeks.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 16:46:42

    Congratulations on the new job. Glad the market’s working in SOMEONE’S favor! 🙂

    I credit networking (I know someone who already works for the company), perseverance, and a local unemployment rate that’s NOT in the double digits.

    Reply

  4. Sherri
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 22:01:03

    It’s so much easier when the whole house is on board with the lifestyle changes. Good for you guys. And congrats on the new job!

    It’s also much easier when he’s the one cooking / prepping all the dinners and leftover lunches so that I don’t even have a choice. I would have folded on the third or fourth day. We’ve realized that we can’t eat mass amounts of carbs like multiple slices of pizza anymore. Our bodies rebel in a not-so-pleasant way. I can’t wait until we can get rid of all this snow and start to plant our garden. I’m sure our grocery bill will go down once the veggies come into season. Hooray for spring!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

