Week 37… No baby yet.

Went to my doctor’s appointment today (yes, I know – I just went on Thursday) but this one involved another ultrasound.  Lots of good news from this appointment!

  • Baby is looking good at about 7 lbs.  They estimate she’ll be around 8 – 8.5 lbs when she’s born.  No need for a c-section.  We’ll take it as it goes 🙂
  • Her head size is in the 75% percentile.  Not what I want to hear…
  • Her legs are lonnnnnngggggg
  • She wouldn’t stop moving long enough to get a good solid heartbeat at first, but finally slowed down for a few seconds – 144bpm
  • My weight and blood pressure are still good
  • I’m finally dilated to 1cm.  Hooray!

Mom and Jamie went with me so they finally got to see her live and in motion.  I kicked them out for the exam part – that’s just uncomfortableness all around.  Pretty much we won’t be welcoming her into the world this week, but there’s always next week to look forward to.

My next appointment is next Thursday.  Hopefully there will be more to report… more dilation and/or effacement would be good!

I’m getting to the ‘is-this-over-yet-’cause-I’m-really-uncomfortable’ stage.  BH contractions are getting more frequent; I’m reminiscing about how a few weeks ago I didn’t even know what one felt like or if I was having one.  She’s active a LOT and it looks like I’m housing an alien under my shirt.  Getting up every morning is getting tougher and tougher – both physically and energy-wise. 

All I can think of is that this these ‘little issues’ will seem like heaven when she’s born and I’m sleepless, disheveled, and calling my mother for help at 3 in the morning.  Ah, memories.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Apr 06, 2009 @ 20:26:16

    Let the good times roll, eh? Hehehe.

    Ha! Good times my foot… I’m trying to get everything ready (ie – house cleaned, stuff organized, etc.) and get the rest I need. I wish I could clone myself to get all this stuff done.

    Reply

  2. claire
    Apr 06, 2009 @ 21:58:48

    Your last paragraph is so true…….

    But, yeah, the end of your pregnancy is wicked. I drank red raspberry tea by the gallon (raspberry zinger), took evening primrose oil capsules, and tried a few other things that they say stimulate labor (that I am not posting here!). And…they pretty much did nothing for me. Emily didn’t want to come out. Hence….induction. Bleh.

    My girlfriend Allison swears by Eggplant Parmesean. I think it’s about to become a staple of our meal planning for the next few weeks. Hopefully you didn’t try castor oil – ugh! I’m all for letting this happen on its own – she’ll know when she’s ready to come out. This is my first stab at letting her have some independence and the ability to make her own decisions 😉

    I was so miserable and Jeremy threw me in the car and took me to see Shrek III during one of my last weeks of pregnancy. I felt like I was Shrek! LOL!

    This last week and half is when I’ve REALLY become uncomfortable even when sitting / lying down. Last night I managed to get a cramp in the middle of my shoulderblades just lying down propped up on the couch. I keep telling myself that it’s going to get worse and that this is ‘nothing’ compared to how bad it could be. That still didn’t keep me from lying in bed crying last night just wishing it would be over – I try to limit my self-pity as much as possible though.

    Reply

  3. Allison
    Apr 06, 2009 @ 22:55:49

    Sounds like a great appointment! I love seeing the updates 🙂

    Reply

  4. Allison
    Apr 07, 2009 @ 07:37:08

    and yay for 1 cm! Do you plan on trying to work right up until you have the baby? Those last few weeks are so hard on your body. Be kind to yourself and take it easy.

    My plan is to work up until my water breaks. Luckily, I have an understanding boss and owner of the company who are giving me plenty of leeway in these last few weeks. I have been pretty good about not taking time off and/or making up the time I’ve taken for doctor’s appointments. Plus, when I’ve been here I’ve been delivering results (I’m currently $100k over where I was at this point last year, even in a down economy). I also have a few deals in the pipeline that would easily exceed what I sold in all of last year before we even hit June. They want to keep me happy so I come back after baby.

    I’ve been keeping everyone up to speed on what I’m working on, what they can expect while I’m gone, and even put together detailed processes on what I do on a daily basis. I don’t think they’ve ever had anyone be that organized. Pretty much a weekly phone call (if that!) should be all we need to keep all my stuff running. Plus, my boss is my neighbor so he can always pop over with questions.

    I’m trying to take care of myself but I’ve noticed it’s getting harder and harder to get things done when I get home from work. Just getting the dishes done and the kitchen picked up every night is starting to become a chore. Also, the small clutter that’s always present in my house is beginning to really wear on my nerves. I’ve got to get something done about that before the baby gets here or I’ll rip my hair out. I’m a crazy lady 🙂

    Reply

  5. Sherri
    Apr 07, 2009 @ 09:53:47

    My first kid was 10 days late, so I know that ‘is-this-over-yet-’cause-I’m-really-uncomfortable’ stage intimately. I’d planned to work up till delivery, but I was a pansy and left just before my due date.

    My mom was three weeks late with both my sister and I but then again, she only had 4 hour labors. Don’t know which I’d rather have… I just wish the waiting game was over because I *hate* waiting! I’m a planner, damnit!

    So I feel for ya, but at least the end is in sight! The end AND the beginning.

    Ai yai – so true, so true! I held a 2 week old baby last night and was like, “whoa… this could be us soon.” It still didn’t really sink in that the baby I was holding was just a little bit bigger than the one I’m carrying. I still have that total disconnect.

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 07, 2009 @ 19:50:51

    “The end AND the beginning,” what an awesome line!

    Everything sounds like it’s proceeding normally so that’s a blessing.

    Makes me happy 🙂

    And you didn’t do the castor oil thing did you? Ugh! One of my midwives recommended that to me and oh my word, I think only the threat of torture would compel me to take that crap again. I’d rather have labor.

    HECK NO! I’ve heard about other women trying it and it’s not something I would want to willingly put my body through. No way, no how!

    Just so you know, and I’m totally serious about this, okay? This isn’t “polite insincere bullshit” – if you need to call someone at 3 AM, I’m there. I’m often still up then anyway.

    You’ll have to email me your phone number… I was up at 2AM last night and was pretty restless. I managed to fall back asleep after an hour so it wasn’t too awfully bad.

    Reply

Leave a comment