Day 2 of the No Cable Experiment…

Well, one thing that will be coming out of the No Cable Experiment (or NCE) is that you’ll most likely see more posts to my blogs.  Lucky you, eh?

Tonight’s not so bad.  Ben tackled the winter backlog of dog poo in the back yard while I sat on the patio, kept him company, and cobbled together dinner.  (Frozen chicken from Costco with orange sauce + steamer broccoli + rice cooker perfect rice = good eats).  I might even cap it off with an Oreo Klondike bar 😉

Ben and I sat at the dining room table for the second night in a row and enjoyed each others’ company while we ate.  We discussed what’s going on with his work, how they’re thinking about letting him work from home 1/2 days when the baby’s born, the results of my doctor’s appointment, and what our plans are for the weekend.  It’s the little things in life that we’re trying to reclaim.

As part of our frugal journey  I also flipped through all of the grocery ads we received this week and wrote down what’s on sale where.  I’m going to conduct an experiment on Saturday where I test the limits of Meijer’s ‘we match competitors sale prices,’ and double coupons up to $.99.  Apparently, all you have to do is take the store ad with you and they’ll adjust the price.  I wonder if it only works on name brand stuff like Wheat Thins or if they’ll also do it for something generic like strawberries.

I’m also going to take a trip to Anderson’s, the local place that has a butcher’s in it, and  put together a price book of all the meat they have and the associated cost per pound.  That will allow me to see if $3.99 for top sirloin is truly a deal when it’s on sale at Giant Eagle.  Plus, it will give us a rough idea of what each meal costs us.  I’ll expand that price book to other stuff we buy fairly often but figured I’d start with meat – it’s expensive.

My plans for the rest of the evening (seeing as how it’s only 7:43 now) are to finish up reading all my blogs, wait for a phone call from Allison, chill out with the dogs on the sofa, bide my time until the big storms roll through – we’ll sleep good tonight! – and put together my hanging file folders.  We can already hear the thunder and wind moving in along with seeing a few brief flashes of lightning.  Fun!  Ben’s playing XBox.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 20:07:05

    I’m not even doing the experiment and I’ve got withdrawals. Good luck you guys!

    No withdrawal symptoms to report yet. We’ll see how the week ends up 🙂

    Reply

  2. claire
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 20:20:30

    That rocks that you guys are eating at the table together! Good luck w/ your meat shopping price book. If you’re interested, I found this amazing product called the Couponizer that helps me organize all the coupons I clip. It’s a spiral binder with pockets for each category of coupons. It makes it so simple to group them together and/or prepare for a trip. I got it online, but I think you could save $20 by making your own. 🙂 Let me know if you want to know the categories.

    Hmmm… I may have to investigate it and do a DIY job on it. Have you tried getting Meijer to match prices yet? I’m interested to hear if anyone has been successful locally or if they will look at me like I’m a crazy woman.

    IT would be cool if Ben could work from home 1/2 days…of course I am bias b/c I work from home every day! 🙂

    He’s taking a full week off when she’s first born and then going to do 1/2 days the next week. The rumor that he might be able to do those 1/2 days from home would be *awesome* since he would be programming.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 20:25:06

    LMAO @ DK!

    Wow, you KNOW it’s bad when your friends are going through withdrawal because of an action you’ve taken. Ben and I were just talking a few minutes ago about how varying the reactions are to the news that we did this. Most people’s reactions (not from any of my blog readers so don’t get paranoid) make us feel like we’ve done something dirty or horrible.

    I am really proud of you guys. 🙂

    I think we’re going to look back on this experiment and laugh. Well, I hope it’s not hysterical laughter…

    Reply

  4. sherri
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 22:34:53

    I love how you guys are a team.

    Reply

  5. whatigotsofar
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 15:30:57

    Hey Meijer’s! I been to one of those. (Don’t usually do my grocery shopping in foreign lands.)
    Don’t know if they’re all messed up like this, but this one outside of Detroit messed me up. First of all, it was busy on a Friday night after 10pm. Who does their grocery shopping on a Friday night? (Before you answer with “Well, you were.” I was on a business trip, I had just got into town and I wanted to stock up on cookies and cereal bars so I’d have something to eat at the jobsite.)
    Second, took me forever to find the cookie aisle. Place was huge! Turns out the cookie aisle was aisle 3. Aisle 2 was beer. Aisle 4 was other alcoholic beverages. Who puts cookies in between two aisles of booze. (Yeah, I know, American beer ain’t really booze, but it’s close enough.)
    It just seemed so messed up to me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

