Hola! My New Year’s Update

I meant to have a new post together for the beginning of the year but I was distracted by so many things… bowl games, snow,  Mallory, travel for my ‘new’ job, and a million other little details.  Here’s a quick snapshot of what’s going on with us in the new year:

Mallory finally found her words and is a little chatterbox.  When asked where anything is (the dogs, the car, her toys) her standard response is “I dunno!”  while she puts her hands palm up and shrugs her shoulders.  She’s so stinking smart when it comes to playing match up stuff and listening to directions.  Such an amazing little girl; I’ll have to post new pictures soon.

My small little company was acquired by a division of Cardinal Health in July of last year.  While this didn’t mean much to us then we are much farther along in the integration process now and our roles are changing to include more travel.  I love it because it allows me to see the country and meet my clients.  I also had the opportunity to meet one of my online friends in Oklahoma earlier this month – we sat and chatted for hours.  While they’re not the most exotic of locales (Tulsa, OK; Wheeling, WV; and Springfield, IL) it’s still fun to me.  

Probably the biggest change in the new year is that Ben and I have made the decision to go our separate ways.  I will be keeping the house with Mallory and he has moved out into an apartment. Our goal is to make this as amicable a split as possible and keep the needs of Mallory ahead of our own.   Thank you to everyone who has offered support or assistance during this time.  I’m trying to let the dust settle in the next few months and get used to this new reality.  It’s challenging, but I have a fantastic support system in my family and friends and we’re doing just fine 🙂

So that’s what’s new with us… oh yeah!  I’m going to the AFC Championship game in Pittsburgh on Sunday night.  I’m pretty psyched about it.  Look for me on TV!  They’re also taking a pretty cool 360 degree panoramic picture on Sunday night at the game so I will make sure to tag myself and share it with all of you.

What’s new with you?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 22:34:09

    Wow! That’s… big. I’m sorry to hear about some of this, and overjoyed to know you’re enjoying life so much in other aspects.

    I’m sorry now I have such a crappy car. Springfield’s a long haul but it might’ve been fun to meet you face-to-face. Maybe if Cardinal sends you to their offices in North Chicago, you’ll let us know. That’s a stone’s throw for us and we could do dinner or something, if you’re interested.

    Anyway, my condolences and congratulations both.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 02:52:13

    You have been so much on my heart the last few weeks, so I’m so glad to hear from you! I know you’ve been busy with work and travel and mommy stuff and I didn’t want to intrude. I’m sorry I haven’t been better at keeping in touch.

    I’m so happy for you that things are going so well at work and that you’re still loving it! That’s awesome!

    And being a mommy has it’s own special rewards and sweet sticky kisses. 😀

    I am sorry to hear about you and Ben. I know that must have been an intensely difficult decision to make. Both of you, and Mallory, are in my prayers through this “dust-settling” time.

    If you’d like to talk, please don’t hesitate to call or email. 🙂

    Have a kick-a$$ time at the game! I can’t wait to see you in that picture!

    *hugs*

    Reply

  3. claire
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 10:05:28

    Hey Girl!
    So good to see a post — I was wondering what was new! I know I’m kind of a long drive from you…but if you want to meet up at the Conservatory or COSI or somewhere with the girls, let me know! It would be fun to catch up. Please know I’m here for you if you need anything.

    Have fun at the football game this weekend. I’ll miss catching up with you at the bday party Sunday.

    C

    Reply

  4. Sherri
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 10:53:06

    Our visit was the highlight of my year! 😉 I’d like to see you again the next time you’re in the state. It was fun getting out of my rut, made me start thinking about where else I could drive by myself.

    Can’t wait to see that picture of you at the game!

    Reply

Leave a comment