Ice Dam-mit!

On the bright side, a minor miracle occurred sometime last night.  Our street finally got plowed!  Yeah, I know… after 23″ of snow fell they finally deemed it necessary to clear our street. However, they managed to plow in our driveway so Ben had to get it all cleared before my little Versa could venture out.  I almost got stuck in the babysitter’s driveway, but I managed to punch it and get outta there.

Got home today and was greeted with Ben who immediately laid some bad news on me.  Ice dams have built up on our gutters / roof and today’s ‘warm’ weather (yeah, the whole 33 degrees) combined with the sun shining on the west side of our house melted some of the snow/ice.  It doesn’t have anywhere to go except to crawl under the shingles on our roof or drip down some awesome icicles.  The picture below was taken from where the bottom back door looks up onto the kitchen window.  See those daggers of death?  Nice, huh?  We’ve had almost continuous temperatures below freezing since the big snow on February 5th.  It’s not forecast to get above 32 degrees in the next 10 days.  These icicles are only going to get more massive as the daily slight thaw / freeze cycle continues.

Evil ice... evil I say!

The entire side of my house is covered in ice!

Ice ice baby!

So what does this mean for our little family, you may ask?  Well, it leads to the ice digging under my shingles where it huddles and gets itself all nice and warm.  Once it gets above 32 degrees it turns into drippy runny water.  Water + roof = bad bad things.  It’s currently leaking from the ceiling in our kitchen, down our kitchen cabinets, and onto the kitchen counter.  When Ben walked in the door the throw rug in front of the sink was sopping wet and the counter was a mess.  We were told to pick the place where the ceiling soffit looked the weakest / most wet and bore a hole to let the water escape more easily.  Hopefully, that will contain some of the damage.  As I write this I keep hearing drip drip dripdripdrip drip dripdrip drip . It’s coming down at a pretty good clip.  We just noticed that the entire soffit will most likely need replaced and one of the kitchen cabinets is starting to swell and separate.  Yay, fun!

Tupperware to the rescue!

Drip... drip... drip...

The not-so-funny part about this whole mess?  I tried calling a roofing company that’s a client of ours.  Remember, my boss is also my immediate next door neighbor.  I called him when I got home and told him I was going to call our client and let him know what was going on.  I called the roofing company and left a message on their emergency line.  Two minutes later my boss/neighbor called me back to tell them to make it a 2-for-1 deal because his kitchen is getting water damage as well.  Got a return call from the roofers and they wanted $450 PLUS $89/hour PER CREW MEMBER to come out and knock the snow/ ice down.  They can’t fix any roof damage now, but this will stop the immediate water from dripping.  After the thaw they will come out, look at the roof, and assess the damage. We thought about it – the damage is already done.  Water is in the soffitt and it’s going to be an insurance claim.

One of the good things about this whole ordeal is that I’ve wanted to replace our kitchen cabinets and rip out those soffits for the past three years.  However, the mess and cost were keeping me from it.  I already have the new cabinets down in the basement.  We bought them at the Habitat for Humanity recycling store for less than 10% of their original cost – they originally retailed for over $26,000.  I figure we’ll probably get a new roof out of this mess.  It was most likely damaged in Hurricane Ivan that blew through here last September with 70mph winds (no joke), and this is the last straw.  I’m also hoping that insurance will pay to rip out the soffit and get the ceiling and drywall fixed.  We can cover the rest.  Looks like I gotta start planning, huh?

So, how’s your week going?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatigotsofar
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 09:44:38

    Every time I see a big icicle, I can’t help but be reminded of Die Hard 2. Unless the icicle looks like a penis. In which case, that’s just funny.

    That pic IS hilarious. I’m sure we have large penis-shaped icicles out there somewhere. I’m just not going to go trucking through knee high snow to find ’em.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 23:27:36

    Oh hon, I am so sorry about your roof and cabinets! What a horrible thing to have to deal with. Hopefully your insurance deductible isn’t to high and they cover the rest, because getting new cabinets up is awesome. Sucks to have to go through this to get there, but silver linings, right? Have to find the silver linings, and I’ll be praying that you come across even more. *hugs*

    Yeah, that’s what I’m hoping too. You know, we’ve been putting off this kitchen remodel / facelift for a few years due to money, but mostly because I didn’t want to live with a half demolished kitchen. Looks like push has come to shove and we’ll be forced to do it. Our deductible is $500, which isn’t too awfully bad. Hopefully our taxes come back much higher than we anticipate 🙂

    Thanks (as always!) for the hugs!

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 18:01:15

    I’m sorry about all this. Wow. That’s tough. Best of luck getting it worked out. 😦

    Yeah, the word “sucks” comes to mind. Damn this snow and ice. Damn it to hell!

    P.S. Did I mention we’re supposed to get another round of snow late this weekend? Helllooooooooo snowfall record!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

