Sugar Sabbatical

Honey, oh Sugar Sugar, you are my candy girl and you got me wanting you

I have a love affair with sugar.  Plain and simple, if it’s sweet then I want it.   If I were a death row prisoner and needed to pick my last meal it would contain nothing but empty carbs and sugary goodness.  Candy bars?  Don’t need ’em.  I like the gooey stuff and baked goods.  Brownies?  Yep.  Cupcakes?  Two, please.  Hot cobbler with cold ice cream?  Palatory heaven.

In the past few weeks I’ve just been… bleh.  My skin doesn’t look its best because it’s alternately dry / flaky as well as covered in intermittent blotches.  I constantly feel just bleh.  When I think about how I’ve felt over the past few months I realize that it’s all tied closely to my sugar consumption.  Drinking Coke, triple triples from Tim Horton’s,  and little to zero water most days doesn’t help.  Plus,  having a bagel every morning for breakfast – more carbs that immediately convert to sugar in my body – isn’t doing me any favors.

I know it’s bad for me and could possibly lead to Type-2 Diabetes, but I don’t think about that with every sip of Coke.  I know that PCOS played a big part in not being able to conceive for so long, which is tied to sugar consumption.  Teeth?  Yep, rots them too.  Plus, am I setting a good example for the Squish?  Not a chance. 

When I was pregnant I scaled back my caffeine and sugar consumption and felt fabulous.   Sure, I was tired and run down from being pregnant, but that was a different kind of tired.  I think it’s time I get myself back on track and I am going cold turkey tomorrow.  I picked a Friday start date because my weakest moments are on weekends.  If I can ‘detox’ this weekend then I will have more success next week.  Plus, Mondays suck enough as it is without adding another thing to it.  An added bonus is that I will be dropping a couple hundred calories from my diet per day so a side effect should be some form of weight loss.

My plan is to drink oolong tea with honey (natural sugar) in the morning.   I’ve also got some oatmeal with fruit ready to go that will take the place of my usual bagel.  More fruit is planned.  Lunch?  I’ve got that covered as well with a can of soup that I’m packing.  I know it’s not going to be easy, but I think the result will be more than worth it.

Think I’m crazy?  Sound off!

Update:  Successful with sticking to my oatmeal and oolong tea this morning.  One of our consultants from Cleveland brought in pastries and other goodies and one of our customers dropped off two dozen donuts for letting them borrow our projector.  This is a massive test of my willpower.  I will reign supreme!

Update #2: It’s 10:11AM and my stomach is already rumbling.  Better plan for two packs of oatmeal on Monday.

Update #3:  It’s 11:52AM.  The soup is thin, but ok.  I would shiv someone with a ballpoint pen fashioned into a stabbing implement for a Fudge Round right now.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Benjamin
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 23:03:21

    I think that is a great idea Honey! I could certainly do with the soda since I have to see the Dr. next week about my blood sugar. I’m proud of you for this decision and will be there with you through the whole process!

    Yeah, I came to the conclusion that it’s just something that needs to be done. I did so well and then slid rapidly backwards. I fell into the ‘easy’ trap. I’m glad you’re on board 🙂

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 01:23:04

    I think you are brave and I’m very proud of you. Hey, if I can quit smoking cold turkey, you can quit sugar. My prayers are with you!

    That’s what I figured. People quit harder addictions like smoking and heroin every day. I just needed to start looking at my sugar fascination as a real addiction and not just something harmless. Thanks for the prayers!

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Feb 06, 2010 @ 02:51:40

    It’s tough, I know. I have hyperinsulinemia and I always feel better when I cut the garbage. It’s tough but you can do it. You go, girl!

    I’m sure I have hyperinsulinemia as well as insulin resistance *sigh*. This is just the first step to feeling more healthy and hopefully prevent getting Type II diabetes. Thankfully, my blood sugar levels have never been high, even when I was pregnant with Squish, but it’s always in the back of my mind. They actually put me on Metformin (Glucophage) as part of my treatment when we were trying to have Squish. Crazy, no?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

