On My Bookshelf

I completed another run to the library last night and I realized that my haul was pretty eclectic, even for me. 

First, let me tell you about the world class library system I have in my backyard.  It’s a joint project between the Worthington Library System and the Columbus Metropolitan Library System, which encompasses many of the suburban libraries in Central Ohio.  Worthington Libraries won Library System of the year in 2007  and Columbus Library won Library of the year in 2009.  For a bibliophile like me, this is like being in heaven.

The best part about our library is that I can reserve items from multiple locations across the CML system and have them delivered to my ‘home’ library.  It will tell me what number I am on the list and gives me emailed alerts when a title comes in.  Another added perk is that they have a full service drive up window that I use when I have Squish with me; it’s a convenient stop between picking her up at the babysitter and our house.  I don’t have to get her out of her car seat, lug her into the library, and juggle her while trying to check out books, much less deal with the stroller.  While I have pangs of regret occasionally that I’m lazy, I still continue to use the service.

So what was I talking about?  Oh yeah, the books that I checked out.

  • A Knife of Dreams – Robert Jordan
  • The Little Stranger – Sarah Waters
  •  The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane – Katherine Howe
  •  Shop Smart, Save More: Learn the Grocery Store Game – Teri Gault
  • The Elegance of the Hedgehog – Muriel Barbery
  • 10,001 Ways to Live Large on a Small Budget – Editors of Wise Bread
  • The Gorgeously Green Diet – How to Live Lean and Green
  • Simply Modern Jewelry – Danielle Fox
  • Use What You Have Decorating

If you think that’s strange, look at what’s on my reserve list…

  • Speed Decorating: A Pro Stager’s Tips & Tricks
  • The Crow (CD): Steve Martin (yes, it’s a bluegrass CD)
  • Wizard’s First Rule – Terry Goodkind
  • Bead on a Wire: Making Handcrafted Wire and Bead Jewelry
  • The Impatient Beader – Margot Potter
  • Getting Started Making Wire Jewelry and More
  • Quick & Clever Handmade Cards – Julie Hickey
  • Quick & Clever Beading – Dorothy Wood
  • It’s all about Cards and Tags – Nancy Hill

Why I get all those beading and scrapbooking books I don’t know… it seems I never have the time to do it.  I need to make time! 

What are YOU reading?

**BTW Sherri, I think you would enjoy the Elegance of the Hedgehog.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherri
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 14:48:40

    I can’t wait to see what you think of Wizard’s First Rule. I won’t tell you what I think so you can form your own opinion. As for Elegance, it sounds too smart for me. But maybe that’s why I should read it. I have gotten dumber over the past decade or so. lol

    You know, when I first started Elegance I was like, “WTF is this pretentious crap!?” I almost put it down a few chapters in to it, but persuaded myself to finish it. Actually, the reason I think you would enjoy it is because there’s a passage in there about the beauty of grammar and it made me think of you. I almost typed it out in an email to you, but got sidetracked with a sick Squishypants.

    The only reason that I’ve got Wizard’s First Rule on my request list is because it is the basis for this TV show my co-worker is raving about – The Legend of the Seeker. I watched half of an episode one day and about puked because of the horrific acting. I figured (and hoped!) that the book would be better. Besides, Goodkind has sold a bizillion books, right? I’ll let you know my first impression.

    BTW, I started Knife of Dreams last night and can’t believe that Galad killed the leader of the Whitecloaks, Eamon Valda. All Tarmon Gaidon is breaking loose! 🙂

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 15:41:20

    I envy your library. It sounds so cool!

    It’s just like me… uber cool!

    I just finished a book by Andrew Klavan called Empire of Lies or something like that. Great book. Guy writes just like he talks on PJTV.

    Hmmm… I’ll have to add him to one of my lists!

    Hope you’re having a good day hon. *hugs*

    Meh. It’s fair to middlin’. Thanks for the hugs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

