Weekend Wrap Up… ‘There’s No ‘C’ In Dork’ Edition

We did it!  We actually left the Squish with my sister and headed out on the town for a date night… somehow, we ended up in Cincinnati.  At Jungle Jim’s International Market, to be exact.  Let me back up and start from the beginning.  As you may recall, we were going to see The Book of Eli at the theater and go out to eat.  Nice, local, safe.  Instead, Ben brought up the crazy idea to go to this awesome supermarket in Cincinnati on the spur of the moment.  We dropped off the Squish at my sister’s house and told her we might be a little late since we were going on a road trip.

We hit a local Wendy’s to fuel up on chicken nuggets and a vanilla frosty because I hadn’t had lunch.  Then, we were on the road due south to Cincinnati, about an hour and a half’s drive.  For some reason, I was telling Ben I knew sign language (ok, just the alphabet) and he challenged me to spell something.  I proceeded to spell out, “Y-o-u-a-r-e-a-d-o-r-k” but somehow slipped a ‘C’ into dork.  He kept a straight face until he couldn’t take it anymore and busted out laughing.  I swear, I laughed so hard I almost had to hit a roadside rest.  It was like the good ‘ole days before the baby. 

We hit Jungle Jim’s around dark and wandered around for about two hours (no, I’m not kidding).  I got a roast for $1.19/lb – that’s going in the crockpot this week!  We also picked up some imported hard cider we can’t get in Columbus as well as some imported British tea.  I snuck a $1.99 container of Oolong tea into our cart as well.  After our meandering through the aisles, we decided to get something to eat before we headed home.  Our first choice was some seafood place called Pappadeaux, but there was a two hour and 10 minute wait for two people.  I’m serious.  We ended up at Lonestar Steakhouse instead.  I tell you, it’s been quite a while since I had a big juicy steak so it all worked out.  We picked up the Squish (who was fast asleep), headed home, and tried to go to bed, but Squish had other plans *sigh*.  She hit her second wind and we were up until after midnight.

While we were up late the night before, we slept in until 8AM.  That’s almost a Squish morning record!  My parents claim she slept in until 8:15 at their house.  I call bullshit.  Aaaaaaanyways, we had breakfast and headed out to the grocery store.  Squish got tuckered out from all the excitement and fell asleep long enough to let us run into a furniture store.  Ben and I are on a mission… we’re looking for a used or antique or Amish (or all the above!) hutch to go into our kitchen to replace the makeshift island / cabinet we have going on.  I’m all for ripping out the wall between the kitchen and dining room completely and putting the hutch on that wall to unify the space.  Ben thinks I’m nuts 🙂  He may be right…

Watched the games, hung out, and oh yeah, Squish got her first black eye.  It was the teapot’s fault, honest!  Sure, she looks all sweet and innocent but when you’re not looking POW!  she socks you in the eye.  Ok, so Squish dropped it on her head, but same result.  Ben took the teapot away from her but I packed it in her toys for the babysitter’s today.  She needs to learn how to play with it (ie – don’t put it over her head) and not to be afraid of it.  She about broke my heart crying though.

I read a really good book over the course of the weekend as well: The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe.  It interposes a story of a harried Harvard grad student trying to find her thesis material and do a favor for her mother in New England with the Salem Witch Trials.  It’s good stuff.

So yeah, Colts and Saints.  I was glad to see the Peyton-bot get knocked to the ground.  I was hoping it would cross a few of his wires, but no such luck.  However, I’m still irked about the no call when Mark Sanchez got completely blindsided and knocked on his dupa long after he released the ball.  I thought Rex Ryan was going to keel over dead of a heart attack after he ripped off his headset and tore into the closest available ref. 

So that was my weekend… how was yours?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatigotsofar
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 14:11:48

    I’m sorry, this is not my area of expertise, but I always thought that the first date night after a baby joins the family was supposed to mean dinner+hotel, not supermarket. I am now left to assume that either you didn’t do the proper date night stuff, or worse, you did the proper date night stuff in a supermarket. And that’s just wrong.

    Pfft… that date night stuff is how we ended up with the baby in the first place. Going to the supermarket (and it’s not just ANY supermarket) was a lot cheaper than having a baby about 9 months from now 🙂

    I’ve been trying to learn a little bit of sign language using video tutorials I’ve found on the net. I watch the video then I try it in front of a mirror. Now I gotta find a person who understands ASL to tell me if I’m doing it right.

    All I know is the alphabet. Well, that and the Cookie’s Monster’s “C is for Cookie… that’s good enough for me” song. Oh wait, I think we also covered ‘I just called to say I love you’ when I was in grade school. Heh. Now I’m singing, ~~Oh, cookie cookie cookie starts with C!~~ I need to find that episode on the 40 Year Anniversary of Sesame Street that my mom got the Squish, just to get it out of my head.

    Reply

    • whatigotsofar
      Jan 26, 2010 @ 10:57:08

      Can’t speak for the supermarket you went to, but the supermarkets I shop at sell these things that can prevent pregnancies. They’re called condoms.

      Oh yeah…. forgot about those 🙂 After 5 years of TRYING to have a baby, it feels so weird to me to try NOT to have one. Plus, going to the supermarket was cheaper than the hotel.

      Then again, I don’t want to encourage this sort of behaviour.
      I’m glad I missed that post the first time around. Ew. I could come up with all kindsa comments about that, but I’ll refrain.

      Reply

  2. Sherri
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 14:41:11

    That sounds like a lovely date. I wish I had someone to watch our kids so we could go to a concert or something, but it’s been a long time since we had that luxury. Glad you guys had fun! Dorc.

    You have to position it in the right way, I’ve learned. Asking my sister to ‘babysit’ so that we could do something would have worked, but asking her if she was available to hang out with her ‘Cookie Pants’ for a night was magic! Plus, we took Squish down there so she didn’t have to deal with the dogs. Mom and Dad almost fought my sister to be able to spend time with Squish. Dad likes when she spends the night at their house.

    Oh yeah, that’s DORCK to you! 🙂

    Reply

    • Sherri
      Jan 26, 2010 @ 10:01:02

      So guess what I did. See, my mom’s house is not suitable for young’uns so I’ve gotten used to discounting her as a babysitter. However, I was inspired by your post and so I called her to see if she was willing to babysit in my house and she said yes! Woo! So now I have a weekend date to plan with the hubs. Thanks for the inspiration. I guess you’re not a dorc after all. 😀

      Ooooooh! Date night in the Sherri household! Whatcha gonna do, hmmmm? I don’t suggest a supermarket…

      I’m so glad you were inspired and now you guys will have to go do something fun. Ben and I laughed at ourselves because we found that we were eating our dinner and watching a rerun of CSI on the big screen TVs at LoneStar while we ate. It was like we had to force ourselves to make conversation.

      Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 22:53:18

    See, you hang out with the DarCs long enough and you automatically start putting C in place of the K in LOTS of words! 😉 Glad you had such a nice time and you made me so jealous with that steak! Mmmm! I can’t even remember the last time I had a steak! And I’m pretty sure the last time I was at a LoneStar was 06, maybe early 07. So now I officially want to poke you! *pokepokepoke* There. I feel better now. 😉

    Usually I’m too cheap to order steak at a restaurant, but this wasn’t too awfully bad. I think I was more excited about the baked potato LOL. I’m too lazy to make a baked potato at home… too time intensive to bake in the oven and it tastes like crap if I nuke ’em. Blech!

    Responded to your comment on my blog so won’t repeat myself here – the connection has already died 3 times in the last half hour so I’m typing as fast as I can! LOL I think ripping out the wall is a good idea. Go with your instincts. 🙂

    Hee hee. Ben has NO idea what I’m planning. I think it’s a freaking brilliant idea. I’m so tired of living with a half finished house. At least we have a dining room floor though…

    Love ya! *hugs* (Dorc!)

    *hugs* right back to you too. Ever notice how close ‘dorc’ is to ‘Darc?’ Bwhahaahahah *runs away in mortal fear*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

