Two steps forward… one step back

I decided to take a bath last night.  It had been a rough crappy day at work and I figured I deserved the nice quiet downtime that reading in the tub brings me.  After all, I had already taken care of all Mallory’s needs (she was sound asleep in her crib) and even got the dishes and bottles done.  A success, right?  Wellllllll, not so much.  I was so comfortable ensconced in the tub with my book that I soon lost track of time and it was 9:45.  Did I head downstairs to unload the dishwasher, get bottle stuff ready for the morning, and pick out my clothes for the next day?  Of course not!  I climbed into my jammies and crawled underneath the covers.  My inner procrastinator assured me that I had plenty of time and that I deserved a night off doing whatever I wanted.  As a result, this morning was more off-kilter than usual and I ran out the door frazzled and running behind.

I’m still trying to learn why my inner procrastinator keeps sabotaging me like that.  Even more importantly, why do I let her??  I feel like I’m Charlie Brown and she’s Lucy.  Every time I go to kick the damn ball she yanks it out and I fall flat on my face.  I know what the result will be, but I’m so lured in by the promise of not having to do it now.

My overall goal is to be able to get into enough of a routine (through manageable babysteps – no pun intended) so that I can get everything done that I need to and have enough time in my evening to devote 1/2 hour to working out with the Wii and quite possibly working on a piece of jewelry or two.  Yeah yeah yeah, I know, I’ve been saying that forever.

Anyways, here’s what we have planned for our exciting *rolls eyes* weekend.

  • Tonight: Home Depot to get a new garbage disposal.
  • Saturday: Dog food, hair cuts for me & Ben, date night!  We’re going to go see The Book of Eli and go out to dinner.  My sister has graciously offered to babysit.  She can’t wait; she even called me today to make sure we weren’t cancelling on her. 
  • Sunday:  Duh.  Divisional Championship games.  I might even let Ben make me breakfast. 

I’ll also squeeze in some laundry, bill paying, and basic cleaning / organizing in there.  Not to mention grocery planning, grocery shopping, and cooking.  Ugh.  I think I’m going to start relying on my slow cooker / crock pot more.  I’m gonna put that baby to work!

Have a great weekend!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherri
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 12:49:50

    I lurve my slow cooker. I have a hard time thinking of dinner in the morning, though, so I don’t use it as often as I could. When I do use it I’m all like, “Wow, I should plan ahead so I can use this every day!” Next day I forget about what’s for dinner until 3 p.m. Something else I strive to do is load the dishwasher before bed. But something about DH sitting on the couch watching tv makes me forget all about chores and I end up doing the same thing.

    I’m trying to plan out all of our meals (lunches *and* dinners) once we get our weekly ads delivered. I have a cookbook that’s over 1,500 slow cooker meals and try to match the meat that’s on sale to a recipe in there that doesn’t call for a lot of extra ingredients. Then I try to make the crock pot dinner stretch to cover a day or two of packed lunches for us. I have to run the dishwasher before bed to ensure I have enough bottles for the next day. Yeah, I have 12 of them, but I like to have one set perfectly clean and dry and one dirty. It’s just easier. Plus, our dishwasher doesn’t seem to get all the water from the dishes now even when it’s on the dry cycle. It’s a mystery. I have to run it and unload it before going to bed.

    I fall into the same trap with Ben. He’ll be working on something and watching TV in the background. Before I know it, I’ve been enraptured and can’t bring myself to do anything else except just sit there lifelessly until the clock hits 10 and I head to bed before I turn into a pumpkin.

    One factor in your time equation you didn’t mention is Ben. Could you make part of that routine his job, and then maybe if you remember at the last minute it wouldn’t be such a big chore and you’d be less likely to blow it off.

    I think that’s one of the things I’m having trouble with – doing everything. Ben recently received a lot more responsibility at work and was given a pretty tight deadline of February 10th to meet. As a result, he’s been working from home almost every night from the time he gets home until the time we go to bed. I dread the nights he brings his work laptop home. We’ve compromised – I’ll take care of dinner, dishes, and Mallory for the majority of the night as long as he takes time out to play with her, give her a bath, puts her to bed, or all three. I’d rather pick up the slack with the cooking thing for a short time rather than have him miss out on this fun time with her. That’s why I’m really pushing hard for crock pot meals with a cooking time of 10-12 hours… less work for me when I get home 🙂

    Or if Ben actually isn’t part of this equation you could still, say, pick your clothes even if you don’t do the bottles, or vice versa. Baby steps!

    Believe it or not, but I’ve been asking Ben to help out around the house more and more. I have a tendency to let the laundry pile up in the downstairs laundry room because I’ve overloaded the basket with clean clothes or haven’t taken up a load of hanging clothes recently. I’m being more outspoken about asking him to help fold (especially since 75% of the clothes washed are his – yet another mystery!) and at least take the stuff upstairs for me. It makes me happy.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 20:33:44

    Lists, sweetie. They really do help. I used to use Outlook and had everything on recurring tasks. When you know what needs doing, you’re less likely to forget it, and if you need someone else’s help, they can check the list and see what needs doing without you having to explain it to them, which only takes more precious time you don’t have.

    I can try helping you set up a list if you’d like sweetie, save you some time in that regard.

    Reply

    • kreestee
      Jan 25, 2010 @ 10:24:07

      Lists? LISTS!?!? I don’t need no steenkeeng leests!

      Oh, who am I kidding? I need a swift organizational kick in the behind. I’m on my Nth generation of lists and templates and stuff. I just need to USE it instead of creating it and thinking it will do itself.

      Actually, I think I’m going to start posting ‘BEFORE’ and ‘AFTER’ pictures on my blog so that the pressure of getting the ‘AFTER’ pictures completed actually gets me in gear. My dining room table right now is a wreck with stuff from Christmas still on it. Yes, some of Mallory’s gifts are still strewn about the table. That makes it hard for us to eat dinner as a family there and my blood pressure goes up every time I look at it. My bedroom could also use a good picking up. As we don’t have people over very often and thus have no social pressure to get it done, I’m thinking the Interwebz is the way to go. Expect the dining room picture to get posted tonight!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

