What I’m Working On…

I have this vision… a fantasy, if you will.  It entails me being perfectly prepared in the morning to the point where I just sail through my getting ready, bundling up the baby, and heading out the door to a glorious day of work.  Ok, so I got a little carried away there but there HAS to be a way to maximize my snooze / snuggle with Ben time and still manage to get out the door on time and with everything I need, right?

The solution is so simple I feel like a neanderthal for not figuring it out earlier during my 32 years on this earth.  Sure, my mom harped away about it but I thought that I knew everything.   Turns out, I was wrong.   What is this miracle solution, you ask?  Planning ahead. 

Previously I did everything by the seat of my pants (and sometimes the skin of my teeth).  Having people over?  I’d start picking up in the morning and woefully understimate how much time it would take me to get the house company ready.  Need to leave the house by 7AM?  I’d hit snooze, figure out what I was wearing, and walk out the door not looking my best at 7:10.  Having the Squish enter our lives means that I now have to think about someone’s needs other than mine.  I can go for a day without eating if I forget or am engrossed in something.  The Squish can go about 2.5 hours max before she converts into Crankapotamus.  I know that if we’re going to be out of the house that I need to plan for X amount of bottles in X hours.  Then I add an additional bottle just to be on the safe side. 

Our morning routine is coalescing slowly but surely.  I’m tweaking little bits here and there (do I shower before she gets up or after her breakfast?) but all in all, it’s working out well.  My goal is to be able to sleep in as long as possible, spend good quality time with the Squish, and get out the door by 7:10.  I’ve started by preparing the night before.  Is the babysitter out of wipes?  Best to pack it in her bag along with her toys before I go to bed so that I don’t remember it at 7:12 when I’m pulling out of the driveway.  I make up her formula right before I go to bed so I just have to pour it in the morning.  I get out the baby food, spoon, and bib and have it near her high chair.  All I have to do is stumble downstairs, turn on the news, and spoon the Cinnamon Raisin Granola goodness for her.  I actually picked out what I’m wearing to work tomorrow and what she’s wearing to the babysitter TONIGHT.  I know, I’m in shock.

I’m still going round-and-round with my inner procrastinator who tells me that I’ll have PLENTY of time in the morning *eye roll* to get all that done, sleep in to my heart’s content, and still walk out the door with perfect make-up at 7:10.  I know she’s a liar.  All those ‘it will only take me a minute’ things add up and make me run hella-late.  So yeah, everything is packed and ready to roll.  Time for me to hop into bed, grab a good book, and drift off knowing that I’m ready to face tomorrow.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 01:56:30

    Good luck with your planning! I always try to do as much as I reasonable can the night before I have to be somewhere. But always remember: Life is what happens while you’re making other plans. 😉

    Ain’t that the truth? Plus, the battle with my inner procrastinator… sometimes she wins and sometimes I’m the victor. I’ve found that I have less free time in the evenings but my mornings are starting to smooth out.

    Reply

  2. whatigotsofar
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 12:21:58

    Planning is for people who don’t like surprises. Never plan any thing and your life will be one surprise after another. For example: don’t plan for retirement, let your child take of you when you’re old and feeble and wearing diapers. Actually, if I were you, I’d keep a tally of how many times you’ve changed you child’s diaper so that when the roles are reversed you can say “I changed you diapers 2567 times so you owe me 2567 diaper changes. The shoe is on the other foot. Or more accurately, the diaper is on the other incontinent. And don’t be skimpy on the baby powder!”

    Yeah, I’m not one for surprises. I take after my mom that way. My sister? She’s crazy. She once took my mom to Europe for 10 days. They got off the plane in London and Mom expected her to pull out her itinerary so they could go straight to the HOTEL from the airport. Instead, my sister looked at her and said, “oh, guess we should look for a HOSTEL, huh?” She didn’t reserve them a spot and as a result they had to schlepp their luggage across London looking for a vacancy. That girl loves to fly by the seat of her pants. Me? I’m all about the confirmation numbers. That being said, don’t plan me any surprise parties. I like to know what’s coming.

    And as for the diaper changing… I’ve lost count *sigh*

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 14:53:06

    Laying out your clothes the night before helps tons too – you’re on the right track hon, pretty soon this will all be 2nd nature to you. 🙂

    I just keep telling myself it takes 28 days to create a habit and I didn’t get into this rut overnight. Change takes time, whether I like it or not.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

