Comments – How do you prefer ’em?

So I switched themes last night and am digging this one.  It’s serene, easier to read than Green Girl, and I like the crisp layout.  One of the things I constantly struggle with is how to respond to comments.  I know how other people do theirs as a matter of personal preference, but wanted to see what your reponses are.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherri
    Jan 19, 2010 @ 10:15:45

    I hated the comment-in-comment thing when it first started because I was subscribing to comments sometimes, and those won’t show up in the reader. I’m used to them now.

    Reply

    • kreestee
      Jan 19, 2010 @ 10:36:45

      Yeah, that’s what I was concerned with. It’s much easier for me to hit ‘Reply’ and go from there than it is to bold and italicize my comments within their comments and have to go through the whole editing process. Bleh.

      Reply

  2. Sherri
    Jan 19, 2010 @ 10:16:17

    Oh, and I like the new theme. Refreshing. 🙂

    Reply

  3. whatigotsofar
    Jan 19, 2010 @ 10:42:01

    But green girl was sexy. Sure, she was wearing those too long pants, I always hated those, but pants come off.

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Jan 19, 2010 @ 10:50:57

    I like answering in the comment. Then the person knows I’ve responded to them. When I hit reply and folks get the response on their dashboards, they can’t see who I replied to.

    Hmmmm.. excellent point. One I’ve noticed when reading back through other people’s comments. Then again, I don’t pay much attention to dashboards and such. I do it the time intensive way – going back to someone’s page where I’ve commented to see if they’ve replied. I really need to learn how to work smarter, not harder.

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 19, 2010 @ 14:31:17

    I like the “within” thing, for the reasons Darc listed. It’s hard to follow in the dashboard when people use the “reply” button. However, I do like the reply button for situations where the commenters talk to each other. Like, if I were to comment on Sherri’s comment, the reply button is great for that.

    WIGSF used to do the within thing – that’s where I got it from, then he stopped.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

