Mama Said There’d Be Days Like This…

Today hasn’t been a good day… not even close to being mediocre.  Ben’s car blew up (not literally, thank goodness!) but the engine block cracked or something technical.  On one hand it’s going to be $3,000 – $4,000 out of pocket to fix or we could get a used car.  Luckily. my parents are able to loan us their spare car so we’re not stuck with my just my little car. 

We drove up there tonight to see them and to pick up the 4 Runner – Mom and Dad get such a kick out of seeing Mallory.  We skipped her bath when we got home because it was so late and went straight to jammies and then she hit the hay.  Such a sleepy girl.  Oh, did I mention she’s currently working on getting one of her top front teeth?  Oh happy day.

So I took a few minutes to get the dishes done when she was down for the count.  Tomorrow is trash day, which makes today “Clean out the fridge night.”  In the midst of putting some leftover chili down the disposal I felt cold water drip-drip-dripping on my toes.  Opened the cabinet under the sink and saw water spraying out of the disposal.  Looks like we’ll be getting one of those this weekend. 

We were supposed to go on our first date night without the Squish Saturday.  My sister is all lined up to babysit and we have the movie and restaurant all picked out.  Looks like we’ll have to put it on hold til next payday *sigh*.

Well, tomorrow should be better… right?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. claire
    Jan 18, 2010 @ 22:22:30

    Sorry to hear about your bad day! But, don’t wait on date night!!! Still go cruise through Barnes & Noble and have a long chat over a cup of tea (cheap!), or if it’s still balmy out, maybe you could take a walk with the dogs? Date time is so important to your marriage…trust me. Without it, everything can start to fall apart. Marriage is more expensive to repair (emotionally) than any car or garbage disposal! So…for richer or poorer, go for a date! You have a free sitter, so go for it! 🙂

    You know what? You’re right! It’s too easy for us to push off stuff for us when things like this happen. I think we’ll do appetizers at Marcella’s and maybe a movie at the Arena Grand. We deserve it 🙂

    Reply

  2. Sherri
    Jan 19, 2010 @ 00:30:18

    Aw, sorry you had such a crappy day! Hope it’s all a blessing in disguise, but I guess only time will tell, huh?

    Welllllll, Mom and Dad got to spend some unexpected time with the Squish, so that’s a good thing 🙂 At least this happened right before we got our taxes. I should be able to wave my magic wand and say ‘abracadabra’ to squeeze some money out of our budget. It may mean no Horror Realm for Ben this year, but we have to set priorities.

    Reply

  3. mapelba
    Jan 19, 2010 @ 00:34:40

    Oh one of those weekends. Hope things are looking up by now and that you get your date. My husband and I get about 3 dates a year.

    Being a neurotic artist type, I thought I’d leave you a message here in addition to writing the email. I posted two new pictures on the blog. Let me know what you think and I’ll come up with something for you and your kiddo! Thanks a lot.

    Have a better week.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 19, 2010 @ 01:19:17

    Oh no! Nonono!! What a terrible day you’re having! This isn’t the new car, is it? The one you just got last fall?

    Goodness sweetie, you sure don’t need all this kind of stuff. On the bright side, it’s all happening at once, so once it’s all taken care of, you should be good to go for a while. Murphy’s law and all that.

    You need some hugs so I’m sending you all I have. *hugs* It will get better soon. It will.

    Reply

    • kreestee
      Jan 19, 2010 @ 09:26:29

      Yes, yes, yes, a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day. Luckily, it’s not the new car we just got. I would have been having an absolute COW if that had happened. This was Ben’s 2003 Dodge Intrepid. It just up and died after he got his oil changed.

      That’s what I’m hoping – that this is all just being poured on. I kept reminding myself yesterday that God doesn’t give us any more than we can handle. I can handle this. It might be tight, but we can do it.

      Thanks for the hugs – muchly appreciated!

      Reply

  5. DarcKnyt
    Jan 19, 2010 @ 01:40:38

    It never rains, does it? I’m sure it will all get better soon. Things like this seem to happen in waves. Try not to get too down about it; things only look worse then.

    We’ll say a prayer for you.

    Reply

    • kreestee
      Jan 19, 2010 @ 09:28:02

      No, no raining… just absolute pouring. I hope this is the final wave and it’s not like surfing where the 7th wave of the 7th set of waves is absolute devastation.

      I think venting about it helped me a lot. I just need to sit down with a calculator, my budget spreadsheets (yes, I’m a dork), and some resolve to see where we can trim fat from our budget. Once I take action, I’m unstoppable!

      Reply

  6. whatigotsofar
    Jan 19, 2010 @ 09:21:41

    holy crap!

    how does an engine block crack? did somebody shoot your car?

    Reply

    • kreestee
      Jan 19, 2010 @ 09:31:24

      It’s a mystery to me how it happened. Usually the engine temperature goes waaaaaaaay up and you have to continually put coolant in it before it gets to that point. Ben didn’t notice any warning lights and nothing seemed out of the ordinary, even when they changed the oil in it. They mentioned that one of his gaskets might need replaced soon, but that was it. Then on the way home it started smoking. He took it back and it died in the bay. Yay, fun.

      I’m currently shopping for a used car that’s under $10k. Any suggestions?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

