My New Toy

For Christmas I got an Acer Aspire One Netbook.  It’s pretty cool because it’s super thin, only 10.1″ and my only concerns (small keyboard and postage stamp mouse section) have been alleviated.  Sure, the keyboard is a bit smaller than I’m used to, but I just need to be more vigilant for typos.  It’s going to lower my 92 wpm to what, 80 at the lowest?  Perfectly acceptable.  Also, my mom made sure that she got the kit that came with it so I have a wireless mouse that is blazing fast.  No need to worry about keeping my index finder on the itty bitty mouse thingie.

Why did I need this mini miracle of technological prowess, you ask?  Simple.   I need to be mobile so that I can keep an eye on the Squish.  I can look up recipes in the kitchen (as I did at 5;30 this morning to make my Sweet & Sour crock pot ribs) or pay bills in the living room while Squish plays on the floor, or read & comment on blogs while we’re in front of the fire watching Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations.  I’m multitasking, bay-bee!  I need to get caught up on my blogs, rekindle some old friendships that I’ve let slide since the arrival of the Squish (yes Darc family, that means you), and keep a closer eye on my bills.  I have resolved to stop incurring stupid fees (yes, again – I didn’t learn my lesson last year) and I think that being able to access this info whenever I want will definitely help. 

A big part of it is that I don’t have to ‘bother’ Ben to use our laptop all the time now.   Had he ever said no when I asked him before?  Of course not.  It’s just a lot harder to ask all the time when someone is obviously using it.  I actually contemplated seeing if they had this model in pink so he wouldn’t use it.  This one is MINE, all mine.  I’m gonna use it for good, not evil.

So add me to your Google readers, people.  I’m back.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth Himes
    Jan 13, 2010 @ 19:10:50

    You have always been on my google reader. Welcome back K!!!

    Reply

  2. whatigotsofar
    Jan 14, 2010 @ 08:31:04

    My laptop (okay, it’s oooh-old) but it was the tiniest, most powerful laptop I could get my hands on. The small keyboard you will get used to really quickly.
    Now, I can type quickly and efficiently on either my laptop keyboard or a standard desktop keyboard. But if I use a different laptop, a normal big laptop, I can’t find a single key.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Jan 14, 2010 @ 16:32:18

    Never took you outta the reader. 🙂

    Reply

  4. claire
    Jan 15, 2010 @ 12:32:51

    welcome back, girl! i hope our friendship is one we can rekindle! I’ve missed ya!

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 15, 2010 @ 18:44:48

    You’ve never been off my Reader! But my Reader does seem to be “off” because it didn’t show up until the wee hours of this morning. I saw it on FB and figured it wasn’t a blog post.

    Either way, it’s good to see you, better “late” than never, I always say! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

