Surprise, Surprise.

I came home yesterday to an awesome, wonderful surprise.  But first, the background story…

Ben and I often visit Ikea when we’re back in Pittsburgh or in Cincinnati to get decorating ideas, daydream, or purchase cheap organization.  While we were there the last time I saw a living room I really liked – it had awesome storage, it was streamlined, and best of all there was a ‘discussion area’ instead of every seat in the room pointed towards the TV.  I bemoaned the fact that our living room could never look like that because it was too cluttered, not set up well, and it would cost a fortune to redo.

Imagine my surprise when I walked in the door from work last night and was greeted with a completely rearranged living room.  The main focus was taken from the TV and directed more to the middle of the room where he put the bookshelf and some art, as well as the opposite side of the room where  the large cube display stand went.  Ben wiped everything down as he moved it, vacuumed the spiderwebs off the ceiling and out of the corners, and even filled the holes from where he moved our hanging art.  He cleared out some of the cluttery knickknacks leaving only a few items behind, which he arranged so it looked completely different.  He even had a candle lit so it warmed the room and was a nice touch.

I asked him why he did it and his answer was simple:  “I listened.”  I can’t ask for more than that.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 12:48:50

    Of COURSE you can ask for more than that! You can always ask that he not only listen but be more attentive, more participatory, and more pampering!

    I take what I can get… WHEN I can get it 🙂

    … But it’s really cool that you acknowledge this and appreciate it. How can HE ask more? 😉

    Yeah, it was such a cool thing that I had to acknowledge it. He’s a good guy.

    Reply

  2. Elizabeth Himes
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 12:51:33

    Sounds like you had a real good ending to your day yesterday! That is always a nice thing. You two are precious…. 😀

    Yeah, it was a pretty good ending to my day seeing as how it started with a hot tea tsunami all over my desk at work. I STILL have papers spread out all over my office drying out.

    Reply

    • Elizabeth Himes
      Sep 30, 2009 @ 10:43:23

      Oh no! Almost as bad as the other day I stopped and got timbits for work, and spilled all of them all over my truck floor. 😀

      I would have put the 5 second rule into effect and eaten them anyway, depending on the condition fo the truck floor 🙂 I couldn’t even salvage any of the tea… wish I’d had a straw. It was God’s way of telling me to clean my desk, I suppose. I still have things drying out!

      Reply

  3. Sherri
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 12:59:49

    WOWZERS! I’m impressed and quite jealous. Kudos to Ben.

    Kudos indeed!

    On a side note, K, you might want to make it so the news feed links to your blog. As it is now, if I didn’t know your blog address by heart, I’d have no way of reading the entire post. 🙂

    Aw crap… I gotta figure out how to do that. I thought that it linked automatically. Thanks for letting me know!

    Reply

    • DarcsFalcon
      Sep 29, 2009 @ 16:13:15

      Check your Dashboard, Settings, Reading – look for: For each article in a feed, show
      Full text
      Summary

      If summary is checked, only part of the post shows up in the Readers. Sher, you should be able to click on the post title in your reader and have it open the blog so you can read the whole thing.

      OR, you can get the Better GReader add on for Firefox – it has a preview box you can check (in the options) so you get a preview button on each post in your reader. When you click the preview button, it opens the blog posts right there in your reader.

      YAY! Fixed… I think? Check it out!

      Reply

  4. whatigotsofar
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 13:28:02

    The focus was taken away from the TV. That’s sacrilege!

    But I’m closer to the DVDs now…

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 16:18:42

    An interior decorator too – will wonders never cease? 😉 Sounds like you had a nice surprise when you got home, just in time to relax. Woo!

    It was awesome. I fed Squish, got her settled in for the night, and fell asleep on the couch before the clock hit 9:15. Did I mention he had dinner ready to serve as soon as I walked through the door??

    Now listen sweetie, you have the right to ask for everything. It’s in the vows. 😀

    Oh yeah… I forgot.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

