Milestones

We hit three major baby milestones this weekend – on the same day!

#1 – First tooth.  Yep, her first tooth broke through and she has a few more nubs in there waiting to make their appearance too.  Oddly enough, they’re not the middle teeth but is farther back on her upper right.  Oh well… she hasn’t been conventional so far so why start now?

#2 – She rolled over on her own!  She went from her back to her front not just once, but FOUR times.  Ben’s parents were here and she was on her mat just having fun.  Looked over and she was teetering on her side, then made the final effort and ended up on her belly looking surprised.  She got the biggest baby grin and laughed.

#3 – We tried rice cereal off a spoon.  That didn’t go over so well.  On the advice of our pediatrician I made it pretty thin but she didn’t get that she was supposed to swallow it and just spit it out on her bib.  Our ped told us that if she did that to wait another week and try again because she wasn’t ready.  She’s only going through about 30 oz of formula a day (6 bottles x 5oz) so it’s not absolutely necessary for her to eat the rice cereal; I’d be more worried if she was exceeding 36 oz every day.

The tooth was a huge surprise because she hadn’t really been fussing much or drooling more than usual.  I’ve been running my fingers along her gums every once in a while just to see if there’s anything brewing but this was the first time I encountered something hard.  You can actually see it if you move her upper lip out of the way.  Craziness!

She refuses to chew on a teething ring or anything else that isn’t her hand or a bib / blanket.  I got the brilliant idea to dip a few of her washcloths that I don’t use in water and then throw ’em in the freezer.  I twisted them so that they’re kind of pointy and easy for her to chew on.  Voila – instant teething aid 🙂  I wish I had thought of that before I dropped $10 on teething rings and other accessories.

I’m so relieved she finally rolled over; most other babies her age had already hit that milestone.  I figured she’d do it when she got around to it, but it didn’t make it any easier to wait.  In typical Squish fashion she did the hardest thing first – going from her back to her belly.  Most babies roll from their belly to their back first.

My parents and sister came over today to watch the Steelers game with us.  They’ve been on vacation for the last week and a half and haven’t seen Squish for a while. They were amazed at how big she’s gotten and her milestones.  She did NOT want to sleep today, but fell asleep in my mom’s arms and later on in my dad’s lap.  That’s true baby happiness right there 🙂

With all this excitement on one day, I wonder what’s coming next?  She’s already starting to life her butt and put her feet underneath her when she’s on her belly.  I can’t see her going longer than 6 weeks before she puts moving her feet together with moving her arms and is scooting across the floor.

I’ll keep you posted 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 27, 2009 @ 22:16:56

    Woo for milestones! She’s right on schedule – HER schedule – so don’t worry about a thing, mom. You have an adorable baby there and she’s doing everything she needs to do. 🙂

    I was just starting to worry a teensy weensy bit… not much, really.

    Don’t sweat the small stuff. When she’s walking up to get her college diploma, it won’t make a bit of difference when her teeth came in, when she rolled over, when she walked … none of that stuff. 🙂 I’m confident she’ll have all that mastered by then. 😀

    If she’s like her momma she’ll trip over her own feet while receiving her diploma *sigh*

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Sep 28, 2009 @ 00:08:08

    Woo for baby milestones! They’re fun. 🙂

    I can’t believe they happened all on the same day. Sheesh – can’t she space them out a bit for us? I’m looking forward to what’s coming next while enjoying what’s happening today.

    Reply

  3. Elizabeth Himes
    Sep 28, 2009 @ 09:15:33

    Awww! Sounds like you guys had a busy weekend. What’s next? Dating. Yep, get ready mom, cause it will be here before you know it. Hmmm, wait, what is worse, dating or driving???? 😀

    Driving?!?!? DATING!?!? Oh man, I’m going to have a heart attack. I already feel nauseous. Blech.

    Reply

  4. Sherri
    Sep 28, 2009 @ 11:18:26

    How awesome that you got to witness her rolling over! I remember that “I did it!” baby look very well. Isn’t it interesting to think that babies that young already have a will and a purpose?

    I almost missed it because I was in the middle of making brownies. I walked into the living room to see what was going on and was like, “WOW!” I got so excited that I got on the floor with her and was like, “I’m so proud of you, Squishy!” Of course, Ben’s parents thought I was nuts for calling her Squishy, but oh well 🙂

    She definitely has a will and purpose of her own… she does what she wants to do, which is cool. I just keep a bare bones schedule and let her make of it what she will. She took a cat nap yesterday so she was up til 8:30 – that definitely wasn’t in the script!

    I’m glad we got to see her roll over. That was one of the things we were kind of bummed about when we decided I would go back to work – the possibility that we would miss seeing those milestones as they occurred for the first time instead of seeing them as a ‘rerun.’ Hopefully she waits for the weekends for ALL of them 🙂

    Reply

    • Sherri
      Sep 29, 2009 @ 13:01:56

      Yeah, but you know what? They’re just as cute, and sometimes the baby is just as surprised, the 2nd time. 🙂

      It’s funny, she didn’t roll over at the babysitter’s at ALL yesterday. She said that Squish usually does stuff for us first and then at her place a few days to a few weeks later. She thought that we were full of crap when we told her that Squish was lifting her head the first time because all she did for her was mash her face in the blanket and cry. It took photographic evidence for her to believe me… and now it’s become a trend. A good one for us 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

