A crazy past few weeks…

Wow, you know things are nuts when the first time you get a chance to update your blog is when you’re out of town on business.  It’s actually kind of nice to have some uninterrupted time to just read, sleep, or do whatever I want.  I read a whole book – The Other Queen – by Philippa Gregory on the flight from Memphis to Seattle and have picked up a few more books to read on the way back.  Plus, I’m enjoying being able to watch cable TV.  Imagine my immense disappointment when I turned on Headline News this morning and Robin Meade had the day off… grrr!

Anyways, here’s a quickie update on what’s been going on with us:

  • Our babysitter’s son had his surgery and is home again.  He’s doing great and Mallory is back at the babysitter as of this morning.
  • Our 15 year old live in house guest has gone home.  It was wonderful to have her living with us because she was so helpful, but I realized how hard it is to have a teenager under our roof.  I’m looking forward to seeing Mallory when she’s older but I’m hoping she won’t have any drama.  I realize that might be unavoidable with teenagers 🙂
  • My tooth is FIXED!  I had a crown put on followed by an emergency root canal last Wednesday.  I stalked my dentist that morning at 7AM and was in the endodontist’s chair by 9AM.  I can eat ice cream, drink fluids, and do everything I could do before.  I didn’t realize how badly it affected me until it was fixed.
  • We bought a new car!  This is my first ever new car and we leveraged the power of the CARS program along with a reasonably priced Nissan Versa.  Running the numbers, it will actually only cost us roughly $40/month extra over and above what we were paying for the Explorer (195,000+ miles) and Grand Am (169,000+ miles)  in gas, fees, and maintenance.  It’s also reliable – something I couldn’t say about the other cars.
  • I’m in Seattle at a conference for the next few days and Ben is being Mr. Mom while I’m gone.  For a glimpse on how he and Squish are doing, visit his blog.

So here I am in Seattle.  Got here yesterday and hung around the city.  Visited the Pike Market, famous for their tossed fish and farmers produce.  Ben and I have an unwritten rule when we travel that we don’t eat at chain restaurants; instead, we search out local good eats.  I hit up Emmett Watson’s Oyster Bar for lunch where I had an awesome basket of freshly breaded oysters, shrimp, and clams.  Also hit up a local Russian Bakery visited by Anthony Bourdain, Piroshky Piroshky.  They bill themselves as the ‘Best Russian Bakery This Side of the World’ and live up to the boast.  I had their awesome Poppyseed Raisin Roll.  Imagine a cinnamon roll that instead is filled with yummy poppyseed filling and studded with raisins.  Deeeeeee-licious!  I also snagged a pint of fresh Washington strawberries and ate them at 3:30 this morning when I woke up.  Thank goodness I thought ahead or I would have had to break into the disgustingly overpriced snack basket in my room.  I just can’t see myself paying $3.50 for a Snickers, yanno?  I didn’t even get a key to the minifridge; who needs that temptation?

Tonight is a dinner cruise around Lake Washington and tomorrow night has a Mariners/Oakland A’s game on the schedule.  I’m still contemplating wearing my Pittsburgh Steelers long-sleeved t-shirt to the game.  I don’t want to insult my hosts, but the temptation to wear it is overpowering 😉

I head home on Wednesday.  Catch up with you guys then!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Aug 24, 2009 @ 20:19:57

    Congrats on the new car! Have a fun and safe trip. Seattle’s beautiful if pricey but hey — that’s what expense accounts are for, right? 😀

    Reply

    • kreestee
      Aug 24, 2009 @ 20:40:04

      Buying that car was the scariest thing I’ve done recently. My stomach was in knots for DAYS. It’s not anything fancy, but it’s reliable and has a three year warranty so it works. I’ve always had used cars that were just shy of being beaters, but they were free (thanks Mom & Dad!) and you can’t beat free.

      Seattle is absolutely freaking gorgeous. I’m downtown so I figure that everything here is expensive. The basket I had yesterday was only $8.95, which I thought was pretty reasonable. Keep in mind, it wasn’t Coho salmon. I could have eaten brunch at Etta’s for $17.95, but figured I’d pass on that. I just needed something simple, not Dungeness Crab Benedict. The poppyseed roll was even reasonably priced at $3.55. Comparable cinnamon rolls were almost $6! Bottles of water are also overpriced, but that’s par for the course, right?

      Reply

  2. Allison
    Aug 24, 2009 @ 20:54:29

    Yay for a new car! I think those Nissans look really nice.

    Seattle sounds like fun. Show more pics 🙂

    I have new ones to post – much better than the blurry Seattle at night ones 😉

    The car is fun to drive. My first ever new car. Drove it to work this morning – yee haw!

    Reply

  3. claire
    Aug 24, 2009 @ 21:05:23

    Hey! I’m glad you’re surviving on your business trip! As much as I hate biz travel (b/c I fall behind on work), I adore the break from domestic and maternal obligations. It’s like a sneak peak of the freedoms you used to have, which is kind of fun when you think back and smile about how easy life used to be.

    Yeah, it was nice to wake up, stretch, and not have to worry about feeding Squish or making sure she had enough bottles. All in all, it was a nice little break.

    I travel this Weds/Thurs and next Mon-Weds…it has been nuts lately.

    We have got to get together soon. Squishy better not be in Kindergarten the first time I meet her! 🙂

    Yeah Yeah! Lets plan something for when you get back from Hawaii. Give me a call and we’ll make plans.

    Enjoy the new wheels, too!

    Thanks!

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Aug 24, 2009 @ 21:22:59

    Woo free time! How nice is that? Tell me what it’s like – I can’t even recall the last time I went somewhere without the kids, lol.

    It’s crazy being on my own with no schedule to adhere to. It was definitely a nice break from being at home, even if I had to sit through endless dull meetings on Internet security. Hey, I *did* get to see a Mariners game and Bill Gates’ house.

    Congrats on the new car – nothing beats reliable. 🙂 And make sure to take pics! Use your camera phone if you didn’t bring your camera. Can you see Mt Shasta from where you are?

    More pics should be going up shortly. Keep an eye peeled for them! And no, we couldn’t see Mt. Rainier very well because we were in the city. We passed it on the flight though. Incredible!

    Enjoy the free time hon. 🙂

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Aug 24, 2009 @ 22:11:16

    Whoops! Geography FAIL! I meant Mt Olympus. Or Rainier. Or St. Helens. Any one will do – what can you see from Seattle?

    Hee hee! I knew what you meant. No St. Helens. Seattle is kinda in a bowl so it’s tough to see beyond those hills. It’s a lot steeper than I imagined. At one point the shuttle bus was headed straight down. If the brakes failed we would have gone flying at least 10 blocks and then plunged into the bay. Not good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

