Weekend Wrap Up – Growth Spurt Edition

This weekend went by so quickly.  I thought I had plenty of time and before I knew it, it was Sunday night and time for bed.

Friday was an interesting adventure because Ben and I went to a No-So-Surprise Congratulations Party (accidentally ruined by Yours Truly) for a co-worker while my sister watched Mallory.  I jokingly told Mallory to go ahead and be ‘Evil Baby’ for Aunt Jamie, never imagining it would come true.  Apparently she ate one 4oz bottle, screamed like a banshee, and then plowed through 1/2 the second bottle.  At the time we thought it was an isolated incident, but now realize that it was the beginning of the dreaded growth spurt.

Mallory’s growth spurts are tough on us because she wants to eat every hour and a half to two hours.  Typically you can squeeze two to two and a half hours out of her between feedings and she just gets a little irritable.  During growth spurt season she’s just irrational and screaming.  During a typical day she will eat between 28 and 32 oz.  Yesterday she ate close to 40.  Yes, 40.

Saturday had Ben’s parents and sister who lives  out-of-town coming over for dinner and hanging out.  We grilled a piece of beef that wasn’t too great (noto to self: no more meat from Meijer’s meat dept).  The highlight of the meal was grilled pineapple slices with Homemade brand  Vanilla Bean ice cream drizzled with caramel syrup.  Num!  I ended up finishing David Dunwoody’s Empire too.  Getting ready to start the book for next week’s Book Club – Mistress of the Art of Death.

Sunday was one of those days where it starts out being 7:30AM and the next time I looked at the clock, it was after 8PM.  Made a neat pork loin for dinner in the crock pot.  Canned peaches + raisins + brown sugar + vinegar + onion + blender = pure pork happiness.   I used a 4lb loin so we have PLENTY of pork leftover for lunches this week.  I love those meals that you make once and just walk away from.  I uh, need to learn the definition of the cooking term ‘chutney.’  Apparently, it is NOT synonymous with ‘puree.’  Ben came tearing up the stairs when he heard the blender going full blast instead of pulsing – At least it gave him a laugh 🙂  Also, found out that the bottom of our blender pitcher is broken, which explained why all the liquid was on the counter.  That made Ben laugh, too.  My sister was at our house when I was prepping this and we must have looked like the Keystone Cops. 

Ben worked on his header for his new cooking blog and I had him make the header for my new blog (to be unveiled either later this week or early next week).  We caved and Ben bought an antenna to boost the signal for our digital tuner.  We now have NBC, CBS, FOX, and ABC along with PBS, the God channel, and the CW.  I will now be able to watch football – yay!  I was getting a little concerned with how far we were going to take this whole ‘no cable tv’ thing.  Mallory gave us a scare with a screaming fit – we rushed her upstairs, stripped her naked to make sure that nothing was hurting / poking / pinching her, and then decided to try a bottle.  Wouldn’t you know, she was starving. 

Rest of the night was uneventful – prepared for the week to come.  Never did  get a chance to sit down and work on that piece of jewelry *sigh.*  Maybe next weekend?

How was YOUR weekend?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 14:21:14

    Isn’t parenthood great? All the incomprehensible signals babies give, fun aren’t they? Amazing stuff. Just wait until there IS pain and you don’t know where, why or what. Exciting.

    I’m SO looking forward to that whole being in pain and not being able to communicate it thing. Not.

    My weekend was niiiiiice and boooooorrring. Heh. I like ’em that way.

    Me too! Next weekend people will be all nimbly bimbly, but this weekend was nice. I could do with a weekend without visitors to our house, but hey – I’m not going to begrudge Ben’s parents the opportunity to see their grandchild.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 00:34:33

    Okay, I think I have it figured out – there is no such thing as “plenty of time.” 😉

    Yes, this ‘plenty’ unit of measure is a farce, a legend, a tall tale akin to Paul Bunyan and Babe, his Blue Ox.

    I had to laugh at the “chutney” thing – that was funny! It’s more like salsa, I think, than puree. And I love those kinds of meals too – which reminds me I need to post on my cooking blog too. Yeah, that plenty of time thing again! LOL

    Uh yeah, it was pretty darn funny. It was runny in consistency and there was a chip in the bottom of a blender so it leaked alllllll over the counter. It looked like pureed sweet potatoes, but it was *sticky.* Blech. Tasted good though – I’m having the leftovers for lunch today. If you’d like, I’ll shoot you the recipe on over and you can include my story as an instructional lesson on chutney.

    That baby’s growing like a weed! I remember trying to nurse through those times and feeling like there’s no way I can produce that muck milk. But they were always fat so I guess I did manage somehow!

    You’re telling me! I was looking at her bouncy seat the other day and remembering how we used to have to get a neck roll thingie because she was so tiny and didn’t fit in it. Now she’s spilling out of it. We may have to give it up here shortly *sigh*. Maybe I can find a Bumpo seat to replace it. (Note: I just took a 10 minute break to research Bumpo listings on Craigslist. Think I found one).

    She seems to be back to her regular eating schedule – thank goodness. Looks like we’re bumping her up to 4.5 – 5oz from just 4. I tell you, that kid puts up such a fuss when she’s still hungry. You could strip her naked, leave her in the middle of the Arctic Circle in January and she would endure it stoically, but leave her the tiniest bit hungry and it’s the end of the world.

    Can’t wait to see the new blog! Are you keeping this one and just changing the theme, or what?

    It’s a completely new direction that I’m taking. I’ll keep this blog as a personal one and roll the other one out as a kind of new venture. I’ve been lurking around in the realm of personal finance blogs and am going to put my pinky toe in the waters to test. You guys will be the first to see it as I will be soliciting feedback.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

