Oh What a Night…

It’s not December and it’s not sixty-three, but tonight was a good night.  I think my tooth situation is under control -excessive grinding exacerbated a crown that needed replaced.  I wore away all the porcelain and the grinding/clenching caused the tooth next to it to be damaged.  My dentist hooked me up today with a filling and started the work to replace my old (now) bare metal crown with a gold one.  I have a temporary crown and will get the permanent one replaced in two weeks.  Thank God for modern dentistry; can you imagine the pain our founding fathers went through with their rudimentary dental work?  So yeah, I’m not getting shooting crazy pain and tingling feelings through the left side of my mouth/face.  That alone makes today a good day.

I picked up Mallory at the babysitter’s at 5; she was partially through a bottle so we sat and BS’d for a while.  Got home at 6 and lo and behold, a miracle had occurred at our house!  Ben went through and did a LOT of stuff that made my life easier this evening.  He cleared off the entry way table, emptied and reloaded the dishwasher, dusted the living room, cleared all the clutter from the coffee table and bookshelves, and arranged everything he picked up into categorized piles on the dining room table.  He also fed Little Miss Squishy Pants later in the evening while I cooked dinner -mushroom ravioli with alfredo sauce.  Don’t think I’m some kind of gourmet; the ravioli was frozen and the alfredo was from a jar 🙂  Don’t get me wrong – Ben is a good guy and I don’t want to make it sound like he never helps out around the house, but to walk in the door and have everything I would have wanted DONE before having to tell him was a great experience.  His whole reasoning behind it was so that I could have time to play Wii with him later.  We made an agreement that we would only go downstairs and play Wii when everything around the house that needed to be done was complete.  Tonight we headed downstairs with LMSP at 7:18 – that’s our time to beat for tomorrow! 

Did a load of laundry, took all the hanging clothes from this weekend’s marathon laundry session upstairs to the bedroom, and even had a few minutes to make three thank you cards for gifts received after M was born.  They’re made, filled out, and even have <i>stamps</i> on them!  WTG me 🙂  Played a few rounds of the Wii – beat my high score in archery (108/120 on the beginner level with a perfect score of 30 on one round) and got pissed off playing frisbee golf.  I keep throwing it some wonky way and it just flies off into oblivion.  Gotta work on that one, I guess.

So yeah, all in all it was a pleasant evening.  And now it’s bedtime 🙂  ‘Night!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Jul 28, 2009 @ 00:17:28

    Victory! Nice to have a good evening in the books.

    Victory is mine! Bwahahahaha! Seriously, Ben and I are going to see if we can beat 7:18. That would be ‘teh awesome.’

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Jul 28, 2009 @ 03:07:31

    Whew about that tooth! I’m so glad you’re getting that taken care of. Insurance is a wonderful thing. 🙂

    I forgot we had an emergency fund. I’ve conditioned myself so much not to touch it that when a real need for it arrived, I forgot about it. *whew*.

    And you crack that whip, mama! Now you know that bribery works to get Ben to do housework, hahaha! 😉

    There was no whip crackin’ necessary! It was incredibly wonderful 🙂

    Reply

  3. Sherri
    Jul 28, 2009 @ 09:27:15

    Now I’m singing that G-D song! Only the Oh What a Night part. Over and over. Damn you, woman!

    And so my evil plan has come to fruition… mwahahahahah

    See? Ben doesn’t want to be married to a bitter old woman. Having me for an example motivated him. LOL Glad I could help. 😉

    *WHEW* I don’t wanna be bitter, either. Thanks for helping out! He’s going to have a hard time when I come to expect all this stuff to be done on a regular basis instead of just once in a while. We’ll cross that bridge when we come to it. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

