Weekend Plans

We’ve got a fairly low key weekend planned with not much structure.  That usually leaves me wondering “What the hell happened to my weekend?” around 7PM Sunday night, but that’s okay.  I’m tag-team babysitting Timmy and his brother tonight so that their parents can celebrate their anniversary.  My friend and co-worker, Matt, is awesome with the six year old, but pretty uncertain what to do with a 4 month old baby.  I figure I can take Mallory over there and we’ll all hang out watching Harry Potter movies and eating pizza.  Ben might come over too if he gets to feeling better.  The Olive Garden from last night didn’t set too well with him…

Saturday brings all kinds of new fun because Mallory and I are going to help my mom pick out stuff for their new house.  They’re custom building on 13 wooded acres in Morrow County.  Yes, that’s where we were cutting down trees last weekend.  It’s a pretty cool concept; the builder has contracted with a company that provides all the floor, countertop, paint, fixture, and other amenity samples so that you only have to go one place to see it.

I have some thank you cards I’d like to get made so I’m looking to Sunday to do that.  I’m going to try very very hard not to do any housekeeping over the weekend that’s not basic maintenance (ie – dishes, vacuuming, laundry).  I need to stop killing myself trying to cram all the housekeeping, decluttering, and other crap into Friday night / Saturday / Sunday.  My house didn’t get in the shape it’s in over one weekend and it’s not going to get resolved in that short span of time either.  I’m going to work on cards and haul out the  stuff to put together the piece of jewelry that’s been tumbling around in my head for a while.  Now, that’s easier said than done, but I hope to have progress to show on Monday’s blog post 🙂  If not, feel free to kick my ass.

Oh yeah, I’ma gonna make brownies because Mal turns 3 months old today.  I’m an adult; I can have brownies for dinner if I want. 

What are YOUR weekend plans?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Jul 24, 2009 @ 17:30:40

    Let’s see … nothing … nothing … oh, and nothing, too. Maybe a treat of some sort tonight for the Princess’s birthday.

    Lets hear it for chocolate cake with chocolate icing!

    Did I mention nothing?

    Surely there was *something.* You watched a cool movie, right? It didn’t outright suck, right?

    Reply

  2. Benjamin
    Jul 24, 2009 @ 18:24:15

    uh…I didn’t get any brownies….

    That’s cause my slacker ass didn’t make any. They sure sounded good, huh?

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Jul 24, 2009 @ 22:19:29

    Birthday cake! 😀 And then a nap. 😉

    Birthday cake and naps – can life get much better than that??

    Reply

  4. Sherri
    Jul 25, 2009 @ 09:35:40

    It’s good you’re not killing yourself to get the housework done. If your house is anything like mine was, I was the ONLY one killing myself. Nobody else cared enough to worry about it. So it was pointless. Wish I’d figured that out earlier.

    Uh yeah, same mindset around the house usually. There are some days when there’s some sort of fire lit under his butt and things get done but on a regular consistent basis I’m the only one.

    My weekend plans are same as Knyt’s. Whole lotta nothin’. There’s a slight possibility we’ll go put some school clothes on the credit card. Very slight.

    School clothes ALREADY!? Say it ain’t so! That means tons of congestion and traffic on the road I take to work, which adds 15 minutes to my commute. Aw crap.

    Reply

    • Sherri
      Jul 27, 2009 @ 12:24:35

      Our school year starts mid-August. Yours might be later.

      I think it’s either the week before Labor Day or the week after. Blech.

      Y’all better get those chores divided up more evenly now if he doesn’t want to be married to a bitter old woman in 20 years. Just sayin’.

      I was pleasantly surprised when I got home from picking up Mal at the babysitter’s today. Ben had cleaned a LOT of stuff and showed me his accomplishments when he got home. It allowed me to get some stuff done for me tonight – I wrote a whole post about it 🙂

      Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Jul 27, 2009 @ 16:51:02

    What Sherri said.

    Werd.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

