Little Miss Squishypants Update

I can’t believe she’s going to be three months old on Friday.  Wow – that can’t be right, can it??

Mallory

That picture was taken on Saturday at my parents’ property where we were put to work clearing trees so that my parents can break ground on their new house in August. 

A few things to mention about that photo:

  • No, it wasn’t PhotoShopped. 
  • No, she’s not sitting up on her own.  My sister’s hiding behind the stump propping her up.
  • No, she’s NOT that close to the fire!  She’s over 15 feet away from it; the height of the stump plays an optical illusion that she’s closer than she is.  The stump is about 4 feet off the ground at its base.
  • Yes, I really did dress her in a cardigan sweater.  It was barely 70 degrees on Saturday!
  • Yes, that’s still the hair she was born with.  She’s lost a lot of the hair on the sides but still has her cowlick.
  • No, she doesn’t have shoes on.  Those are socks imprinted with Mary Janes.  My good friend Allison made sure she was styling with those – we have them in every color!
  • Yes, she *is* that cute all the time, even when she’s screaming.
  • Yes, everyone thinks she looks like Ben *sigh*

She’s now almost 13 pounds, close to two feet tall (oh my!), and loves to kick the crap out of the animals on her bouncy seat.  She’s starting to make the motions that she’s ready to roll over – rocking to one side, moving her legs, and scooting herself around in her crib.  Last night Ben put her to sleep in one position and when I got her out of bed she was rotated 90 degrees.  It’s only a matter of time (a few weeks?) before she makes that huge developmental breakthrough. 

She also loves to sit up – assisted, of course.  Don’t try holding her over your shoulder or cradled like a baby.  She wants to be sitting upright and facing forward so she can see all the action.  You would have thought she would be upset by the sound of chain saws and heavy machinery (a backhoe and front loader), but the only time she got squawky was when those noises stopped and it was quiet.  I have a wonderful well-adjusted child 🙂

P.S.  I just had the funniest thought for a caption for this picture.  I gotta have Ben make it happen.  Future Liberal Tree Hugger – FAIL!  Have a better caption?  Let me know!  Send it to your friends, make it a contest.  We’re short on cash so the winner gets a free dirty diaper!  I’ll even have Mal personalize it. 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sherri
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 16:01:00

    LMAO Do NOT enter me in that contest!

    Too late! Just by commenting you were entered for the grand poo… err, prize drawing!

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 16:46:26

    Um … I’ma pass on that contest, thanks ….

    Ha! You’re entered, too! I *so* counted on you to come up with some zingers. Alas, I am disappointed.

    Great shot. 🙂

    Thank my momma – she was the one wielding the camera. I may post the ones of me driving the front loader. They’re funny. Ben’s mad ’cause I stole his hat and got it all sweaty.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 17:16:17

    How KEWT!! Love that pic! 😀

    It’s DEFINITELY a keeper. There’s also one somewhere of the two of us sitting on the stump – she’s on my lap.

    How about this for a caption? “The most beautiful thing about a tree is what happens when you cut it down.”

    My dad’s contribution to the caption contest was, “Take THAT, Al Gore!” My contribution was, “…and I wear disposable diapers, too.”

    “Offshoot!” … “Woodland Fairy” … “This one didn’t fall far” … “When the bough breaks!” … Okay I’ll stop!

    I’ve got PLENTY of scrapbooking themes when I finally get around to it – thanks!

    13 lbs? I know that’s not “tiny” but doggone, my last one was almost that size at birth so it “seems” so little to me. 🙂 What a cutie you have – time to make another one that looks like you! 😉

    Wellllll, she started out at 8lbs2oz and was 7lbs4oz when she was released from the hospital so 13 is definitely some growth. I can’t imagine carrying around a baby that big inside me. Where did her knees go? Ai yai yai!

    Oh you’re funny… time to make another one that looks like me. I keel you. On a more serious note, my sister thinks that she looks just like me when I was a baby. Maybe I’ll have to throw some pics up for comparison.

    Reply

  4. Allison
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 19:44:20

    HAHAH! That IS a great picture. She is getting so big! Such a pretty baby 🙂

    Everyone keeps telling me she looks just like Ben. No one thinks she looks like me *sniff*

    Reply

  5. whatigotsofar
    Jul 22, 2009 @ 07:28:46

    I suck at the caption game. Best I can do is “Forest Queen” or something, and that kinda sucks.

    I”m *so* disappointed. Try again, Grasshoppah.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

