Hooray for Book Clubs

I”m trying to get out of the house at least one night a month for intelligent conversation.  No offense to my husband, but there are some times I just need to hang out with the girls, grab a drink, and unwind.  I’d feel guilty if I was running off to the bar (oh how I miss you, Filler) and leaving Ben with the baby, but have found a way to alleviate any potential guilt.

I like to read.  I like to debate and discuss books.  I like to toss back a few.   Add it all up and helllooooooooo Book Club!  I used to belong to one but it kind of disbanded.  My friend & co-worker, Jennifer, are putting it together and it’s going to be cool.

Here’s the ground rules:

1).  2nd Tuesday of the month at 7PM

2).  You don’t have to read the book to attend the meeting.  Life happens and you probably need the drink, anyways.

3).  Book selections rotate through members; the person who picks the book picks the location.  (English mystery = British pub with fish & chips and Strongbow.  Yum!)

4).  No self-help books. 

5).  No brand new releases.  The hardcover editions are too expensive and usually aren’t available at the library or Half Price Books yet.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 17:43:03

    Sounds like my kinda book club. Especially the “you don’t have to read it” part. Awesome.

    Book… Beer… they’re both four-letter words and start with ‘B.’ It’s allowable. Seriously, there have been some months that I didn’t get around to the book and freaked out not wanting to go to the meeting because they’d all know I was the lone loser who didn’t read it. Plus, there are some books that I am just not going to read… anything by Nicholas Sparks or Stephanie Meyer are off limits.

    Reply

  2. sherri
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 17:54:08

    I’m thinking about starting my own book club, since the library smells so strong. Not sure when/where/who it would entail, but I do think about it.

    Feel free to use our guidelines to start yours. I like the part where the person who picks the book picks the meeting location. I’ve been guilty of having it at a restaurant reaaaaally near my house when it’s my pick. Then again, I’ve picked a place about 20 minutes from my house because it fit the book so well.

    One quick question – how does the library smell so strong? Our library is pretty odorless, other than the pleasanty book-y smell. Do you have librarians or patrons that douse themselves in perfume?

    Reply

  3. claire
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 18:30:07

    good for you! you gotta do some stuff like that so you don’t get too wrapped up in mommy world. 🙂 just sent you an email about my schedule.

    Argh! Too bad you’re already booked on Tuesdays. I think you would really like the ladies that are going to be a part of the book club. Let me know if your current engagement ends or takes a night off so you can participate.

    have a great week, K!

    You too! How’s the treadmill at lunch thing going?

    Reply

  4. Allison
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 23:17:42

    Great idea! You are so right… you need at least one night each month where you can not be a mom or a wife for at least 2 hours. Some of the girls I used to work with do a game night every month. I really look forward to it. The host has it at their home and provides dinner and a game. Sometimes we play but usually we just end up eating, gossiping, and laughing 🙂

    Hmmmmm, there’s an idea. I know that some of the ladies I know used to get together and play Bunco. I have no idea what that game is or what it entails, but it could work too. I might get adventurous and try that after the Book Club gets off the ground. Ben loves to have people over and entertain 🙂

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 03:21:38

    Good idea! And good for you for finding a way to get out and meet that social need you have. 🙂

    I’m tryin’!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

