I’m baaaaaaack!

Back to work… back to blogging… back to some semblance of my pre-baby life.

It’s funny; once I drop her off at the babysitter’s house (conveniently located 1.1 miles from our house!) I switch into Work Kreestee – career woman extraordinare.   When I pick her up, I quickly morph into Home Kreestee – Wonder Mommy.  I’ve done really well this week with trying to keep my work and personal life separate.  Pre-baby I would answer my cell phone for work calls at all hours of the evening and respond to emails either from my phone or by remotely logging into my company’s server.  Post-baby I don’t answer work calls once I leave the office for the evening and I had our techs set up my phone synching so that I only receive emails and their associated notifications between 7:30AM and 5:30PM.

My morning r0utine has been spun on its head.  I get up at 5:30, brush my teeth and hop into the shower, then get her out of her crib and get her changed a little before 6.  Then it’s downstairs where she eats, then back upstairs so I can finish getting dressed (hair / makeup / clothes).  Once I’m ready, I get her changed from her sleeper into regular clothes.  Back downstairs *again*  and I get her settled in her bouncy seat while I pack up her bottles, blanket, and other items that have to go with her to the babysitter.  We leave the house a little after 7 and arrive at the babysitter’s 5 minutes later.  Most days I’m en route to the office at 7:30.   I’m thinking of tweaking it a little so that I take a shower at night; that might allow me to sleep in a few more minutes.

The past few days I’ve been leaving myself a “DON’T FORGET” list on the kitchen island of stuff I need to take with me in the morning.  Here’s what Monday’s list looked like:

  • Cell phone
  • Lunch
  • Diaper Bag
  • Formula
  • Bouncy Seat
  • Work Bag
  • BABY!!!!!

Our evening routine is starting to become more concrete as well.  It changed a bit because of going to the babysitter’s during the day, but it’s all coming together.  Luckily, she’s sleeping through the night without us needing to feed or change her.  I hear her get restless around 2 AM most nights – squeaking and sucking on her hand – but she falls right back asleep within a few minutes. 

The hardest part post-baby and post-going back to work is figuring out how to get all the stuff done around my house that needs it while also meeting her needs and spending time with her.  I haven’t vacuumed all week and I think the dust bunnies are multiplying.  I’m trying to take it room by room – concentrating on one area at a time – but am still feeling overwhelmed. 

I make sure that before I go to bed I have the dishwasher emptied and reloaded with the evening’s dishes, her stuff that goes to the babysitter is laid out as much as possible, formula for the next feedings is mixed, and our outfits for the next day are assembled down to socks and shoes (mine, not hers!)  That cuts down on the running-around-like-a-chicken-with-my-head-cut-off-chaos.  Anything else that I get done is a bonus.  I figure that no mom ever wished she spent more time cleaning the house instead of spending quality time with her kids. 

We have another wrench being thrown into our schedule this weekend – family is coming to visit us from out of town to Mallory.  We can’t host everyone so they’re all staying at my parents’ house, which means we’ll be spending a good chunk of time up there tomorrow and Saturday.  Hopefully it won’t throw off her eating and nap schedule too much.  Packing for those day trips will be an adventure I’m sure.

So, how has YOUR life been the past two months?? 🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 17:53:33

    Welcome back! Sounds like you’ve got things well in hand, and are doing a great job of adjusting to your new life.

    And to give you some idea of how boring I am … you haven’t missed anything in two months with me. 😀

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Jul 03, 2009 @ 00:01:48

    You are doing so well – I knew you’d be a natural at this! Look at how well you have your act together, how organized and efficient you are!

    As for cleaning – don’t sweat it – it’s not going anywhere. If you want a little tip, think of a room as like a clock. Pick a “noon” point and then go around “hour by hour”, so you’re not running back and forth.

    Keep up the good work hon. 🙂 For what it’s worth, I’m proud of you.

    Reply

  3. Sherri
    Jul 03, 2009 @ 00:10:06

    I love this template. But if you’re anything like me, it’ll be different in the morning. lol

    I’ll have to come back in the morning and read the post when I can see.

    Reply

  4. whatigotsofar
    Jul 03, 2009 @ 07:32:54

    I’ve been sleeping better, for the most part.

    Reply

  5. Sherri
    Jul 03, 2009 @ 11:27:22

    It sounds like you are adjusting quite well. And as for me, Twitter has kept you up to date on my status. Nothing exciting. 🙂

    Reply

  6. claire
    Jul 07, 2009 @ 13:54:03

    Hey you! Glad you’re back and glad the back-to-work thing is going well so far. That’s awesome. I think becoming a mom does make you realize what really matters in life — and what can wait till morning (the work calls, etc). I think that is a beautiful thing…knowing that human life is more precious than work! 🙂

    As for the cleaning, I got a cleaning lady after Em was born and I haven’t looked back. She comes every two weeks (in fact she was just here this a.m.). It allows us to really enjoy our weekends together — no more shower scrubbing and toilet cleaning — all I do is vacuum once or twice in between her visits and try to keep up with the clutter around the house.

    Good luck as the transition continues. I hope you’re loving your sitter, too!

    Hugs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

