NetFlix at 4AM

I’ve been awake at some odd hours of the night recently.  Unlike my blog pal, whatigotsofar, it’s not due to insomnia but the whacked out sleep schedule of a four week old.  Sometimes it’s 1AM, other times we’ve sat on the couch and watched the sun come up around 5:30.  I know I’m in trouble when I hear the birds start chirping.

As many of you know, we discontinued our cable a few weeks ago to save money and recapture some time that was wasted watching crap on TV.  However, we discovered the ‘on demand’ section of NetFlix where we can download tv series or movies to our Xbox 360 and watch them at our leisure.  Lately, my ‘leisure’ has been during the middle of the night feedings as background noise.

I rediscovered one of my favorite British TV shows – MI5.  It’s an awesome show based on the British Secret Service and the terrorism threats they deal with.  I fell in love with Tom Quinn, Danny, and Zoe all over again.  I’d only caught through part of Season 2 and missed where they all left the show and were replaced by Adam Carter, his wife Fiona (seriously, can you have a more British name than that??), Zaf, and a few other miscellaneous characters.  Today, Fiona got whacked and Adam lost his mind so I’m interested to see where the show goes from there.

The best part about it is that the episodes are 52 minutes long with ZERO commercials – no late night infomercials for me!  I can squeeze in at least 1/2 an episode during her late night feedings and can finish it up during her first feeding of the day.  It comes in handy the most when she’s falling asleep as she finishes her bottle.  I don’t like to move her to her crib right away because she’ll become instantly alert but let her get settled in to sleep before transferring her.

I finished up the latest season of NCIS the first week we were home and have since blown through Seasons 1 and 2 of MI5.  I’m only a few episodes away from wrapping up Season 3.  Unfortunately, Criminal Minds is only available on the physical CDs and it’s hard to start / stop them at certain points.  The on-demand feature allows me to stop the episode and then resume it where I left off, even if the console has been turned off.  It’s *awesome.*

Anyways, if there was a tv show you could revisit and watch on demand, what would it be?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    May 28, 2009 @ 21:18:21

    I think I’d like to sit through Deadwood, and maybe Dexter. Someone recommended Torchwood to me, and I thought if I could get the old episodes of Night Gallery, that’d be a blast.

    Best to baby and Daddy.

    Reply

  2. Allison
    May 28, 2009 @ 22:20:37

    did you ever watch “Earth 2”?? It was one of the few sci-fi shows that I kind of got into. It might be up your alley?

    And I am always a sucker for “Murder, She Wrote” or “Cagney & Lacey” 🙂

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    May 29, 2009 @ 02:08:41

    Hmm, what a tough question! Maybe American Gothic, or Picket Fences. Or The Monkees. 😀

    Oohhh.. the Monkees! They have some oldie TV shows on there like Adam 12 and Emergency! I vaguely remember Picket Fences. Didn’t it have Tom Skerrit in it?

    How’s mommy life been? Sounds like you’re getting the hang of it, just like I knew you would. That’s a whole ‘nother blog post I’m brewing. Stay tuned.

    That Netflix/Xbox combo sounds awesome. Perhaps one day we’ll be able to do something like that.

    Reply

  4. whatigotsofar
    May 29, 2009 @ 07:51:19

    You’ve been busy lately for obvious reasons, so I guess you missed the word. I think I just might have solved the whole “not sleeping” thing. Exercise and plenty of it. Not even hard core stuff. Just walking. Two walks a day at work and a walk at night. Basically, one after each meal. Not a long walk, just around the block. Keep the blood moving and the legs tired and sleep is quickly becoming my mistress.

    That’s AWESOME! Who would have thought that something so simple could fix such a debilitating problem? And you’re right… I’ve been kind of out of the loop lately. I about had a heart attack when I went to fill up my gas tank yesterday. When I went into the hospital gas prices were hovering around $2 a gallon. I paid $2.65/gallon yesterday. What a difference four weeks makes, huh?

    As for watching a show on demand like that, well, I’m the kind of guy who buys a lot of TV shows on BD/DVD. Recently, I’ve been watching Star Trek. Gee, that show was incredible. It really was.
    But back in the day before DVD, I wished for Newsradio to be made more available. Right now, I’d like to see Boy Meets World on demand. For some odd reason, I really enjoyed that show. Can’t really explain it. I just do.

    I too loved NewsRadio and was sad when Phil Hartman died. Steven Root is hilarious though – my favorite role of his was in Dodgeball. Don’t tell anyone because it will raise our geek factor through the roof, but we have been slogging through all five seasons of Babylon 5 with Bruce Boxleitner. It’s an awesome scifi show. Oh yeah, Ben loves Boy Meets World, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

