There’s an end in sight!

Had my weekly doctor’s appointment today – nothing too earth shattering.  Still barely at 1cm and nothing’s happening cervix-wise.  My doctor is concerned about me going too far overdue with the size of the baby and other stuff so she’s scheduling an induction for me for the evening of Thursday, April 30th if I don’t go into labor on my own prior to that.

I’m relieved to have a final date, but also worried about being induced.  My body is showing ZERO signs of wanting to give up this baby.  I feel comfortable with the decision because my doctor isn’t one to panic or do unwarranted medical procedures.  If everything else was normal and I had requested an induction or a c-section, she would have flat out told me no, to wait for nature to take its course.  WhenI first started going to her I was taking all sorts of fertility medication that was prescribed by another doctor.  She made me go off all of them for a full year to get my body back in tune with its natural rhythm and even then didn’t put me on any fertilility treatments because she believed that my body would get itself straightened out (she was right). 

At any rate, I’m glad that there’s finally an end in sight – TWO WEEKS MAX! – and that I will probably have a May Day baby.  Of course, now that she’s scheduled me for the 30th I’ll end up having her before then on my own with some miraculous insta-dilation 😉  I wouldn’t be surprised if my mom calls her and requests that she reschedule it for the evening of the 23rd so that I have the baby on the 24th – Mom’s birthday.  She mentioned it on the phone today and I wasn’t sure if she was kidding or not… both she and my sister know my doctor pretty well 🙂

So yeah, that’s the news such as it is.  I’m just glad I have a definite end date…. *whew*!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sherri
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 10:13:58

    Hooray! I was induced for two of my three children. It took longer to make progress with the pitocin, but this being your first, and a big baby at that, it’s possible it will be easier and faster with induction.

    Yeah, I’m getting more excited about it as the day goes on. They’re going to bring me into the hospital on the afternoon/evening of the 30th so that I’ll have time to progress during the evening. I’m going to do all the reading up on inducement that I can in the next few days so I’m prepared.

    Reply

  2. claire
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 12:03:44

    If they move it to the 24th, hit someone!!! your body is smart and is taking care of the precious little bean! 🙂 i’m praying for you guys, it’s all going to work out and then you get to be a sappy hormonal mess as you hold your beautiful little bean for the first time! 🙂 have fun!!!

    I doubt they would move it up to the 24th on a whim – my doc’s not like that. I can see my mom making the request though 🙂 I’m just so glad that I finally have a concrete date where I know I’ll be able to see her and hold her. I was literally in tears when I was thinking that it could be another MONTH before she was born if the dr. waited 2 weeks after my due date. I don’t think I could have stood waiting that long. We’ll definitely keep you guys posted!

    Maybe we’ll have to go to Hunan Lion on the 26th or something 🙂

    Reply

  3. whatigotsofar
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 12:45:39

    As a male of the human species, I had to stop reading after the word ‘cervix.’

    Completely understood.

    I’m sure everything is going fine and the bouncing baby is going to be happy and healthy.

    No matter how it goes, you guys will hear about it. I’m trying to figure out how to Twitter from L&D. Those nazis are probably going to pry my cell phone outta my hand.

    Reply

  4. Allison
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 13:03:04

    Great news! I have been checking your twitter everyday during my lunch and when I get home to make sure I am not missing anything 🙂

    My Twitter postings to date have been pretty crappy. You’re a trooper for reading through them looking for updates.

    Wow. Two weeks max. That is awesome!

    I know! For some reason, it makes me feel a LOT better about this whole thing. You know me – I hate uncertainty. Plus, it appeases my logical side. I go in on Thursday, spend part of the weekend in the hospital, and come home with a new baby by Monday. It works out well for my schedule and also gives Ben a definite time table.

    Reply

  5. DarcKnyt
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 14:04:42

    Ha! And you watch, those two weeks will FLY by! And I have a feeling things will happen all by themselves when they’re ready — and before the doctor has to take things into her own hands.

    I hope, I hope, I hope. *fingers crossed*. My sister is glad to hear the news because she left for Reggaefest at Sugarloaf (Maine) today and won’t be back until after the 21st. However, now baby’s imminent arrival on/near the first of May threatens her plans for the Kentucky Derby. Oh well 😉

    You can always take a tablespoon of Castor Oil with ice cream. It’s an old labor-inducing formula the midwife told V about. Ick.

    I got two words for you in regards to the castor oil suggestion and it ain’t ‘Happy Birthday’ I have no inclination to start off what I hope to be a pleasant birth experience sitting on a toilet for hours with self-induced abdominal cramps that may or may not lead to contractions. Thankyouverymuch, but I’ll pass. Ugh!

    At least the end’s in sight! Woo!

    Is it the end… or the beginning? 😉

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 18:44:34

    I have a feeling if your doc scheduled that date, she probably thinks you’ll have the baby before then on your own – she’s just taking precautions.

    Soon you’ll be holding that little bundle of joy. I can’t wait! It’s so cool seeing people become parents for the 1st time. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

