Week 38 – Still no baby…

Well, I pulled a pretty Kristy-like move yesterday and tripped over some stuff in the garage necessitating a trip to the OSU Labor & Delivery facility since I’m at 38 weeks and didn’t feel the baby move for a while after falling.

No worries – baby is fine, I’m fine (minus a few pulled muscles and assorted bumps & bruises), and all is well.  I got to hear the baby’s heartbeat for a good 2+ hours and let me tell you, this kid can KICK when she’s being monitored. 

Good news is that it served as a dress rehearsal for the real thing – I’m all checked in and ready to go paperwork-wise when it’s show time.  Plus, I found out how quickly Mom and Jamie can get upstairs from the operating room.  I texted Jamie from the lobby of the hospital and she ended up riding on the same elevator as me.  Plus, Ben and I learned where to park, how to get into the L&D floor to visit, and all sorts of fun stuff.  We also learned where the ATM is because we’re idiots and don’t carry cash.

This was also a wakeup call for me that I need to slow down, take it easy, and let other people help me.  Yes, I know… read back a few weeks and I said the same things then but I really mean it this time.  Honest. 

This is my pledge to myself over the next 4 weeks or so:

1).  I will let Ben know when I need help with stuff around the house and actually ask him to do it.

2). I will take people up on their offers to help me even if it means swallowing my pride and letting them see I don’t keep a Martha Stewart house.

3). I will sit on my butt when necessary and not overdo things because I *have* to get them done.

4). I will keep my cell phone fully charged at all times and have emergency cash stuffed in my purse somewhere.  

5).  I’m sure Ben will have something to add here 🙂

So that’s it – still waiting for baby.  I hoped yesterday would be the day but nooooooo, it couldn’t be that easy.  Next Dr’s appt is on Thursday morning.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcZombie
    Apr 14, 2009 @ 13:27:22

    5) Start listening to your husband when he says, “Honey why don’t you sit down for a little bit? I think you might be trying to do to much!”

    See? I knew you’d have input 🙂 Do I know you or do I know you?? Only problem is that when I take the night off from doing stuff around the house (like last night) is that there’s an even BIGGER mess waiting for me to pick up when I get home today. I’d rather take things in small bite-sized pieces rather than trying to eat the entire elephant at once.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 14, 2009 @ 22:20:09

    Yes, sit down!

    And lower your standards! You don’t “have” to do so much around the house. Trust me, the mess isn’t going anywhere. Let me share a little poem I read many years ago:

    Cleaning and scrubbing can wait ’til tomorrow,
    For babies grow up, we’ve learned to our sorrow.
    So quite down cobwebs, dust go to sleep,
    I’m rocking my baby, and babies don’t keep.

    But but but but but it’s so HARD!

    Reply

  3. claire
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 08:48:03

    As my mom would always say, “Honey, we don’t live in a museum! There’s gonna be some dirt and it can keep!” Not that it was a pigpen, but your house is a place you live and spend time — and your time doesn’t all have to be spent cleaning and torturing yourself! 🙂

    It’s weird – when I see the clutter I get overwhelmed and just shut down instead of cleaning it up bit by bit. Then, when it’s truly too much I don’t want people to help me clean it up. Then again, I’m probably the only one it bothers *shrug*.

    I think Ben should kick you out with a $20 or two and send you somewhere to get a pedicure! (Besides, they say if you get a good feet rub it can induce labor — but it didn’t work for me and believe me, I had that lady rub my feet for a LONG time!) Ha!

    Hmmmm.. tempting! I *do* get paid this week so maybe I SHOULD schedule a little pedicure time for myself on Friday night.

    So glad you and baby are okay. Now…for number 6) Start working from home two days/week. I double dog dare you.

    Ai yai – I don’t know if I can go there just yet! I’m stubborn!

    CK

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 14:43:15

    It won’t be so hard once you hold your baby. 🙂 It’s funny how everything else becomes so secondary once that baby’s in your arms. “Hobbies? What hobbies? Did you see this baby?? Cleaning? Oh that mess – it’s okay, have you looked at how beautiful this baby is? Who can see mess with such a beautiful baby to look at?”

    You’ll see. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

