Baby Watch Begins Today…

I had my first weekly doctor’s appointment today.  That’s a sure sign that there is an end in sight, but based on today’s appointment baby isn’t coming any time in the near future. 

Other than that, here’s a quick rundown…

  • I lost 3.5 lbs since my last appointment.  Weird, I know.  Must be because I stopped sucking down Hi-C Orange from McDonald’s like a fiend.  For some reason, it just doesn’t taste as good anymore.
  • Had my Group B Strep Test.  Thanks for the warning, jerkfaces!  Yet another invasive test that no one warns you about ahead of time.  Let’s just say that they’re not testing for strep in your throat here…
  • Baby is in the head down position – yay!  Unfortunately, she hasn’t dropped yet like we thought she may have.  Doc says that she’s still pretty high up there.
  • No dilation, no effacement *sigh*  Only good news is that it’s apparently getting ‘softer.’
  • I have an ultrasound scheduled for Monday at 11:30 to check on baby’s size and stuff.  Doc *did* bring up the C-section word today, but said that we’ll know more on Monday. 

My mom and my sister (both OR nurses) will be at Monday’s appointment with me so they can see and hear baby for the first time.  I figure if there’s ever a good appointment to have them sit in on, it’s the one where we talk about slicing and dicing, right?  Oddly enough, I’m actually leaning towards a C-section for some weird reason I can’t exactly explain. 

Oh yeah, did I tell you that she had 43 hiccups the other night?  Yes, FORTY-THREE. 

I’ll keep you guys posted.  My friend Allison brought up a  good point about how will we let everyone know that I’m headed to delivery?  Just check Twitter (follow either Kreestee or DarcZombie).  I downloaded a cool app to my phone today called Tiny Twitter where I can send / receive tweets on the go without having to use the Twitter website.  Genius.  Thanks to JLu for the heads up on that one.  I can just see myself tweeting in the delivery room… oh dear 🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sherri
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 12:36:10

    I didn’t think about that, OMG! Tweeting from the delivery room would be teh awesome!

    I’ll be bringin’ this baby into the digital world… like they say in the movie Serenity – “can’t stop the signal!” Appropriate, seeing as how she’s loosely named after two characters in the Serenity / Firefly series.

    As far as the dropping goes, you may be able to tell once she’s down by the pressure in your pelvis. I remember being able to tell the babies’ heads were wedged between my bones. Pleasant.

    One word – owie. I though I had enough pressure there as it was. No WONDER pregnant women waddle.

    I could tell you a lot more about my experiences in the delivery room, but they are a little too graphic for a public blog. If you’re interested, I can write you a nice, long, scary email. 😉

    LOL – I’ll pass for now but may take you up on it later.

    Reply

  2. Allison
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 13:05:19

    For fun, I checked my notes to give you some data points… G was due Sept. 24. On Aug. 22 I was 2 cm dilated. On Sept. 15th (the day my water broke and G was born that night) I was still 2 cm dilated and 80% effaced.

    Sheesh – I’m 0% dilated and due in 3.5 weeks. Nuthin… nada.. zip… zero… zilch. No % on the effacement either. That sucks, but I’ll deal with it. Hopefully it all happens at once like *magic*! Mkay, I think I’m getting delirious.

    Are you up for a phone call tonight? I wish you were closer so we could just grab dinner together! I would love to talk to you about how I also kind of wanted a c-section, ended up with one, and how I feel about the whole birthing experience and my choices, if I had any regrets, etc. It seems like too much for blog comments! 🙂

    DEFINITELY give me a call tonight. Like I said, we plan to spend the evening outside on the back patio while Ben cleans up the yard. We’ll probably run the girls and get them some much needed exercise. I’ll make sure to take my phone outside with me.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 13:14:38

    I think I should probably say nothing here.

    I’m trying to figure out which portion of the blog you’re needing to bite your tongue over…

    Reply

  4. claire
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 14:13:07

    While I ended up being induced and it was not my favorite experience, I am glad I didn’t have a C-section. I truly believe that our bodies are amazing and the whole process blew me away. In addition, most of my friends who have had C-sections had a longer recovery time and feel sad in some way that they could not naturally birth their son/daughter.

    I think I would feel much worse if I wasn’t able to breastfeed over having a C-section. It’s not that I’m afraid of / worried of / too vain to do a vaginal delivery. Honestly, my hips aren’t all that wide and if she’s not going to fit, I’d rather plan ahead and not try to squeeze a square peg through a round hole. Biggest concern is what’s best for her, not for me. I can deal with emotional fallout later, I suppose.

    I know it’s a hugely personal, and often medical, decision. The best thing you can do is go into labor with all options on the table, that way you are preparing yourself for anything!

    That’s exactly what Monday’s all about – figuring out where we are and how we get to the end of this journey. The most important part is that there IS an end… some people just need to take a different path 😉

    One thing’s for certain: Mallory Jane has got to come out sooner or later! 🙂

    Ummm… wait, can’t we rethink this? I don’t mind having her as a passenger for a while longer. You guys are going to love my incoherent rambling 4am posts during those first few weeks; I can just see it now!

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 00:59:29

    I don’t recall a strep test … it’s been a while.

    Most important things is knowing your options and educating yourself about them, then, no matter which decision you make, you’ll know you made the best one you could under the circumstances.

    You’ll be just fine hon, don’t worry. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Allison
    Apr 04, 2009 @ 01:02:24

    Haha I just re-read this post and got this hilarious image of you at the hospital… push! breathe! Tweet! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

