Week 36 – Sinus infection, bronchial infection, and Braxton Hicks – oh my!

Yeah, so this past week has majorly sucked on the health front.  Last night was the first night in 5 nights that I actually slept in my own bed.  The previous nights were mixture of sleeping in the glider rocker and/or the couch.  I completely lost my voice for a few days and am gradually getting it back.  They sent me home from work on Thursday and I just went back today (Tuesday).  Thank goodness I’m able to take Sudafed, Mucinex, and a baby-safe antibiotic!

Baby is doing just fine, other than pretty much not sleeping for a few days while I coughed my lungs out.  It got to the point where each bout of coughing would trigger a Braxton Hicks contraction, which would then kick off MORE coughing.  All in all, neither one of us got much sleep for a while.  Both of us are now resting MUCH more comfortably and we’re even getting back into a schedule of activity, albeit a little bit later than I would like.  Ahem, 11PM.

I go to the doctor again on Thursday to get checked out.  This week begins my every-week-until-I-deliver visits and also marks the first exam to see if I’m dilated /effaced.  The baby feels a lot lower and Ben says she looks lower – we’ll have to see if she’s dropped or not.  I also have an ultrasound scheduled for Monday to ascertain her position, weight, and hopefully get us a better understanding of when she’ll finally make her grand entrance.  I have my fingers crossed that it will be soon.

On the home front, the baby’s room is FINALLY done!  Ben got the last of the trim painted last night.  We’re starting to play a fun game called, “What if the baby came tomorrow!?”  It involves me freaking out and getting the baby bag packed; he’ll be installing car seat bases in both vehicles at some time this week.

I haven’t hit total freak out mode yet, but I can see it quickly approaching.  I’ll keep you apprised of when I hit super melt down stage.

Have a great week!

~k

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 01:21:40

    This is so exciting! I can’t wait, and I’m not even involved! Maybe that’s why — I can stand back and just vicariously observe. All the fun, none of the hassle/mess/pain.

    Still, it’s really thrilling to watch this unfold. You’re so close now! Woo!

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 02:45:01

    Oh my! You’ve been a sick little bird! I’m glad you’re feeling better now.

    And yay for baby’s room being done now! Woo!

    It really IS exciting to share this with you and I wish I could hold her when she arrives. 🙂

    Don’t freak out though – no need for that. You’ll be just fine, I promise. Inhale, deeeeep – now exhale, slooooowwwwwly. All will be well.

    Reply

  3. Sherri
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 09:02:59

    So glad to hear you’re feeling better. Respiratory infection is a special hell for a pregnant lady.

    So yay about the baby dropping! I guess this would be a good time to wish you a quick and joyous delivery. Just in case. 😉

    Reply

  4. claire
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 09:07:45

    I’m really glad to see a post from you — I was starting to think you had the baby early since you were MIA. 🙂 Guess I should log into twitter… Feel better soon and relax and enjoy the time you have left. Can’t wait to see pics of the baby room! I just put new pics of our basement on my blog last night. I’ll have to have you guys over sometime!

    Have a beautiful day, my beautiful friend!

    Reply

  5. Allison
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 20:03:55

    Glad you’re feeling better! You very well could be dilated somewhat. I know I was for a while but I would have to check my notes to see when it started.

    I am officially putting you on baby watch! What is the best way to keep up with your news? Twitter? Which btw I hate but will do if I must 😉

    And congrats on finishing the baby room. Can you put some pics on here or on facebook?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

