Week 35 – Is it over yet?

I’m one week closer to delivering and feel like complete and utter crap.  Believe it or not but all this cold / sinus / allergy stuff has made me completely forget all of my baby-related discomforts – it’s a blessing and a curse, I s’pose.

The good news is that I was able to talk to my doctor’s nurse practitioner today and she let me know that since I’m so close to delivering and all baby is doing is growing, that I can take most OTC medications to feel better.  I can’t wait to get home and take Mucinex and Sudafed to clear this crap outta my head and chest.  I’ve started the uncomfortable coughing and bringing up unpleasant surprises part of this cold or whatever it is.

Baby is still doing well – movements are less noticeable by other people now that she’s running out of room to kick.  They’re more turning from side to side or moving legs and arms.  Luckily, she’s not keeping me up at night moving. 

Last night I had to sleep in the glider rocker that my sister got us because I couldn’t sleep lying down – otherwise, I couldn’t breathe.  I was treated to an obnoxious Braxton Hicks contraction right before I fell asleep.  Just what I needed, right?  Better right before I fell asleep rather than waking me up at 4AM. 

We did our maternity tour on Sunday and learned some fun stuff about where to park, how they keep the infants safe from being baby-napped, and what to take / not to take with us to Labor & Delivery.  Apparently we’re supposed to save the nice pajamas for the recovery room – otherwise they’ll get ruined in L&D.  We should also keep the infant carrier in the car until the day we’re ready to take her home.  Never would have crossed my mind.

Speaking of which, I should probably get on the ball and get my hospital bag packed, huh?  My friend Allison sent along a great list of stuff to take (a fan, my own TP, etc) so I’ll probably go from her suggestions.  Anything you would add as a must-have?

~k

P.S.  Maybe I’ll get some nursery pictures up this week…. *maybe*

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 15:10:40

    You had to have instructions on how to prevent infant-abduction at your hospital? Are you SERIOUS? Wow. That’s … that’s terrible.

    Nah, they just reviewed all the precautions that they take to keep our baby safe, what with the dual parent/baby wristbands and alarm system. Just to give us an idea of what to expect.

    But it’s getting really exciting now, isn’t it? This is so awesome to watch!

    I’m glad YOU think it’s exciting. I’m getting to the point where it literally could be ‘any day now’ and hope that it comes soon. All this coughing has kicked off some not-so-fun Braxton Hicks contractions.

    Reply

  2. sherri
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 15:12:49

    Eek! It’s getting so close! Squee!!

    Ai yai yai!

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 15:43:27

    Just 4 more weeks, yay!

    I wish I had some advice on what to take to the hospital. I love giving advice, can’t you tell? 😉 Actually, something to read might not be a bad idea. They’ll probably keep the baby in the nursery for a large chunk of time and you might want something to do besides watch TV. In case she’s not born during the draft.

    Actually, they’re big proponents of ‘rooming-in’ with the baby now and only taking them away when they need specific tests done or you REALLY need to get some sleep. When we toured the maternity ward on Sunday there were ZERO babies in the nursery even though there were a lot of women on the recovery floor. I was kind of bummed because I had hoped to see what a 1 day old baby looked like.

    Another big swing is that as soon as the baby’s born (assuming everything went well) they give the baby to mom instead of whisking her away to clean her up, performing the APGAR tests, and putting her under the warmer. Apparently skin-to-skin touch immediately after birth is best to generate bonding, keep the baby warm, initiate breastfeeding, and all that fun stuff.

    How long are you expecting to be in the hospital?

    We found out that regular deliveries are a 48 hour stay and c-sections are a 72-96 hour stay. Hopefully, just the 48 hours!

    Reply

  4. claire
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 08:37:32

    Since I was induced and got an epidural, most of the crap I packed to bring to the hospital I was not able to use…

    – portable CD player (or ipod) with a variety of music you enjoy
    -some herbal heat packs (the kind you can microwave — or even a sock filled with rice works)
    -some lotion (lavender?) so ben can massage your back
    -a massage tool to rub your back (i have one of those roller ball ones they used to sell at bath and body works if you know what i am talking about)
    -a million maxi pads (prepare to bleed for six weeks, and don’t bring your “pretty panties” because they’ll get wrecked)
    -baby book so daddy can journal while you’re laboring
    -camera!!!!
    -list of phone numbers of people you want to call
    -a smile

    Hmmm.. all good suggestions and some of them I wouldn’t have thought of.

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 17:57:58

    Oh I’m so glad to hear that! The bonding is so special and – I believe – critical. And 48 hrs isn’t so bad, I suppose … but home is nicer. 😉

    Reply

  6. Allison
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 20:43:38

    Sounds like all good stuff, Kristy! I had heard horror stories from other people about not seeing the baby right away, especially after a c-section. But luckily that was not the case at our hospital either. Basically the baby never left my arms unless I said so. I did choose to put him in the nursery a few times at night but I think we were one of the only ones (and they brought him to me right away when he wanted to eat). Sounds like your class went well and was very informative! 🙂

    You know, I like to plan for stuff so when I got close to my due date I typed up a 3 page document with directions to the hospital, where to go in the hospital, visiting hours, when I would/wouldn’t want visitors, etc. and sent it to everyone who I thought would visit. Glad my giant “what to bring to the hospital” list is helpful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

