Week 34 Doctor’s Appointment

It’s weird seeing my doctor every 2 weeks now that I’m getting closer to my due date.  I like that I get to see her more frequently and have the opportunity to ask questions, but it’s also a reminder that we’re getting closer and closer to the end of my pregnancy and beginning of the Mom Journey.  Exhilarating and scary all at the same time.

So here’s the scoop…

  • Blood pressure is AWESOME.
  • Weight is so-so… I’m under the don’t ask, don’t tell policy about this right now.  Don’t ask me and I won’t tell you to take a long walk off a short pier.
  • Baby is currently measuring at 37 weeks, even though I’m just 34 weeks (3 weeks ahead).  However, this is better than the last appointment when I was measuring at 36 weeks but was only 32 weeks.
  • Heartbeat was chugging along at 140 beats per minute – same as last time.  My doctor had a hard time getting her to stay in one place so that she could listen. 

I have another ultrasound scheduled for Monday, April 6th so we’ll have a much better idea of what she weighs, how she measures out length-wise, and get a better approximation of when we can expect her to arrive.  I’m just praying this isn’t a 10 lb baby!

We have our maternity tour of the hospital scheduled for Sunday.  We’ll also get the paperwork so we can have it all filled out ahead of time.  I like this planning ahead stuff. 

Have a great week!  ~k

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 13:29:09

    Bad news, hon — the Mom Journey’s already begun. Remember that nesting thing? Yeah, that’s part of it. 😉

    This has to be a very exciting time for you both. I know how excited we are for you. 🙂

    In our thoughts and prayers.

    Reply

  2. Allison
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 14:28:21

    Sounds like a great appointment! You know what is really weird? If you see your dr every 1-2 weeks until the baby is born you might only have 2-3 appointments left! Better start thinking about those hospital bags soon 😉

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 03:00:29

    Yeah, the mom journey began the moment you knew you were expecting. 🙂

    And even if it is a 10lb baby, you’ll be just fine. Trust me on this! LOL

    Reply

  4. Claire
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 08:29:37

    Try this on for size…bigger babies are more developed and have a lower chance of having colic…so if you have a 10 lb baby, you might also have a really good sleeper!!!! 🙂 (Emily was 6 lbs, 10 oz, and had colic and it nearly made me crazy. Thank goodness it only lasted till she was six weeks old, but by then I was a sleep-deprived zombie!). GOOD LUCK!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

