Week 34… This isn’t so bad, right?

Week 34 already – where has the time gone?  I remember when I was on pins and needles waiting for week 22 so that we could find out if we were having a boy or a girl.  These last 12 weeks have passed by in a blur!

What’s going on with baby you ask?  Here’s some updates…

  • She’s close to 5 lbs now – maybe more.  I’ll learn more at this week’s doctor’s appointment on Thursday morning.
  • It doesn’t appear that she has much room to ‘float’ anymore – I can feel separate body parts (what we think are her butt, back, and legs) now.  It’s alternately creepy and cool.
  • She gets the hiccups!  She had them late last night and then again in the middle of a client meeting today.

Mom stuff (yeah, it took me a minute to remember I was referencing myself).

  • The pain in my hips is increasing.  I don’t know if it’s the way I’m sleeping or some super secret plot that my hips have to go their own separate ways, but it HURTS.  Not unbearable, but definitely uncomfortable.
  • I’m still averaging 4-6 hours of sleep a night.  No crazy up for 24 hours straight jags recently.  I think my body is still trying to rebound from that one.
  • Starting to feel a little lower back pain; the massage therapist said that it was from my hip flexors.  She worked the crap out of them and now they feel pretty good.  I’m not stopping in pain when I take a step anymore so that’s definitely an improvement.

Ben and I had an eventful weekend.  Saturday I redeemed the best Christmas present ever – a gift card he got me for the spa at our gym.  It was good for a 1 hour pregnancy massage, manicure, and pedicure.  I purposely scheduled it for the day before my baby shower so I’d look good 😉  Needless to say, the massage was wonderful, my toes look awesome (not that I can really see them anymore), and I’m loving the fact that my fingernails match my toes – I’m wearing OPI’s ‘Charmed by a Snake.’

Saturday night a lot of my family traveled in from Pennsylvania, West Virginia, and Detroit ahead of the baby shower the next day.  I love being able to spend time with my extended family – the last time I saw some of them was Christmas.

Sunday morning I woke up at 4:30AM and was at Meijer by 5:20 to pick up a few last minute things.  The shower was completely overwhelming.  Over 40 people showed up and I felt bad not being able to entertain everyone at once.  Plus, I hate being on display opening gifts in front of people.  I always feel like I don’t say thank you enough, have a big enough smile, or come across as too fake. I’m so glad that I have such great friends who traveled from Cincinnati – I’m happy that Claire and Allison finally got to meet each other after trading comments on my blog, too.

Ben and the guys in my family loaded everything up in the Explorer and we brought it all home – it filled the entire back bay with the seats down.  My sister came over tonight and we went through all the clothes, washed what we’re keeping, and got them put where I want them – at least temporarily.  I’m sure I’ll change my mind a bizillion times before the baby arrives on what  I want where.

The nursery is almost done!  I’ll have to take pictures and get them posted once Ben hangs the door.  I really like the closet organizer we installed – it’s perfect for all the stuff we need to store in there – both hanging and folded.  We’ll be able to reconfigure it as her needs change.

The only thing we truly ‘need’ to complete the nursery is a changing pad with covers.  I’m not really worried about the other stuff one there since we can do with or without it,  but I’d like to cross the changing pad off the list.

Oh yeah, I’ve eaten a bizillion Peeps (you know, the marshmallow chick thingies) in the past few days.  I’m surprised the baby isn’t on sugar overload.

I’ll try to post more regularly; I feel bad that I’ve been swamped at work and at home.  Posting to my blog has been the last thing on my to do list lately but I’m trying to work it back close to the top.

~k

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Mar 18, 2009 @ 13:05:27

    You’re busy and having a baby. Everyone who knows you will understand that, and look forward to when you can post.

    Still in our hearts, minds and prayers, hon. 🙂

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 18, 2009 @ 16:25:51

    I’m so glad you had a nice time at your party! Can’t wait to see the pics of the nursery.

    Don’t feel bad about not posting – it happens, and will happen even more after the baby’s born. And we’ll all understand. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

