Ahhh… insomnia blogging.

Woke up wide awake this morning at 2:10AM for no apparent reason.  Baby was quiet, the pain in my ankle was manageable, and there was nothing external that could have woken me up.  Instead, my brain was going a mile a minute on stuff I had to get done today – work, home, baby shower related, etc.  After lying there trying to quiet the rush of ‘gotta do its’ running through my head for over an hour I decided to get up and get some stuff done. 

So far I’ve made myself a cup of coffee, read some comments from yesterday’s blog entry, and am halfway through the 4th episode of Season 1’s Criminal Minds.  My goal in the next hour or so is to get my email inbox cleared up at work (all 1,000 messages in it), get some more personal finance stuff accomplished, and maybe watch a few more episodes of Criminal Minds.  I’m worried I’m going to absolutely crash at work around 3PM, but figure that I can always leave a bit early. 

Ben has Lodge tonight so he’ll be home extremely late and I have all evening to myself – bonus!  What am I going to do with all this unstructured free time? 😉  I’ll probably end up napping around 6 or something. 

So yeah, 4AM is… fun?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatigotsofar
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 07:17:14

    Insomnia blogging, eh? Welcome to my world. I find that infomercials for Time Life music collections can be really entertaining at 4AM. As for shows like Criminal Minds (or my fave Law & Order) are too intellectually stimulating for a time when the body and mind should be asleep.

    I gave up trying to sleep after an hour of lying there staring at the ceiling in the dark willing myself to turn off my brain and go to sleep. After that I gave up, grabbed the laptop, and headed downstairs. My alarm was set for 5:40 and I figured that I’d only get around 2 – 2 and a half hours sleep if I went to sleep that very second, which didn’t seem very likely. I didn’t want to get sucked into the miasma of late-night / early morning TV so I stuck with Criminal Minds as ‘background noise’ while I surfed personal finance sites, got a shitload of work emails cranked out, and posted to my blog 😉

    I’d say that zombie-like feeling where you just lose the ability to form a coherent sentence will hit around 2PM. That’s when it usually happens to me.

    Pfft… I’m already having trouble forming sentences. My husband mentioned it last night; I think the baby is sucking the brain function right outta my head. Lucky me – I’m meeting with a potential new client today at 1:30; just in time for the mid-day brain failure. Nice!

    Thanks for stopping by! ~k

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 15:52:21

    Oh, don’t feel bad about brain mush. It’s a common problem, I thought I heard. Maybe from my wife, but maybe somewhere else. Pregnant women get really dumb, so I think you’re doing pretty doggone well. It has to do with hormones, hits different women differently, and might be tied to sleeplessness (doesn’t get easier once baby’s around). So, you’re doing as well as anyone can under the circumstances.

    I find that I have to write everything down before it leaves my brain now or I forget it. I’ve dropped the ball on a few things at work, which is completely unlike me. I find myself wondering when the other shoe’s going to drop and it gets REALLY bad. Not being able to sleep now doesn’t make me feel any better seeing as how I know I won’t be getting any sleep after the baby arrives.

    As for the late night adventures … you can always call me next time or we can set something up on chat if you’d like. I’m up then, always. 😦

    I have no idea why this popped up all of a sudden – it was like BAM! Up at 2:30 and still up now with no nap inbetween *sigh*. I managed fairly well this morning as an every once in a while thing, but don’t know what I’ll do if this becomes regular behavior. I may take you up on the offer 🙂

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 17:58:57

    I hate that mile a minute brain thing. That’s why I read before falling asleep, to shut them up long enough for me to get some rest.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

