Some non-baby related stuff for a change…

I realized today that my life recently has been all about babybabybabybabybaby.  If I’m not griping about some new side effect or baby’s development then I’m updating you on my doctor’s appointment or blathering about baby shower stuff.  While I’m sure you’re all absolutely transfixed by my recent baby obsession, you probably want to know more about what I’m doing that’s NOT baby-related.  Even if you’re not, please humor me and let me believe that you are.

So, let’s see… where to start?

Ben and I just celebrated our 6 year anniversary on Sunday.  We went to the Melting Pot for dinner Saturday night (nuthin’ says love like cheese fondue) followed by some shopping at Easton.  We capped off an exciting weekend by attending the Central Ohio Home & Garden Show on Sunday.  I know, we’re geeks!

I’ve been reading a lot lately thanks to the generosity of our local library, which has been honored as the best in the nation.  I just returned a boatload of books, but at one time I had more than 30 checked out and read them all within the space of about 2 weeks.  I’m a reading machine!  However, this does not bode well for my housekeeping skills, I’m afraid.  Let me know if you want to read what I’m reading… it’s pretty varied and eclectic, but I’d be happy to make some recommendations.

We finally got rid of the huge hulking 32″ tv set and entertainment stand that threatened to overwhelm our living room.   I can’t believe what a change that’s made to the flow of this room.

Ben and I brainstormed a few zombie-related short story ideas and he just finished the rough draft on the first story – code named “Lusi.”  I’m so proud of him for following through on what he wants to do; he’s even investigating online publishing opportunities.

I think I’m going to evaluate / inventory all the unfinished projects in our house this week or over the weekend to figure out what I want to get accomplished before the summer.  Ben wants to add a bigass garden to the side of our house, but I’d like to get other stuff that NEEDS done (yes, I’d like to have a dining room floor again) before we move to the wishful thinking WANT stuff.  Sad thing is, we’re GREAT at planning this stuff, buying the necessary stuff at Lowe’s / Home Depot, and figuring out what we want, but absolutely terrible at execution.  I bet we have the raw materials in the basement to finish all but a few projects around the house; we just need to get our asses in gear and get them done.

You want to know why we suck at execution?  Ben lives to distract me from getting things done that I want to do.  Perhaps not intentionally, but it seems to happen more often than not.  For example, Saturday I wanted to get stuff done around the house (laundry, pick up, finish nursery, etc.) but he pulled his ace card – he knew there was NO WAY I could possibly turn down the opportunity to go to a shopping center on the other side of town that boasted both a scrapbooking store and a bead store side by side. He suckered me into getting ready for dinner early so that we could stop there on the way; that left no time to get anything done that I wanted to do.  It’s my fault too – I cave more often than not when I should be stronger.  I’ve got to work on my resolve and not let him wear me down…

Wow… this is longer than I imagined it’d be.  Guess I had more non-baby related stuff going on than I thought.  Wish me luck on the household project inventory!

~k

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 22:25:35

    Aw hon, this obsession ain’t NOTHIN’ compared to what it will be like once baby girl comes. 🙂 You’ll see. We all go through it, like no other parent ever has before, and we all humor new parents going through it. It’s part of the initiation into the club. 😉

    Ai yai… I think back to all those obnoxious new parents that we SWORE we’d never be like and just absolutely cringe. I’m trying reaaaaaally reaaaaaally hard not to be the stereotypical pregnant woman and hope to continue that over to not resemble the typical new mom. Aw hell, I’m just trying to take things as they come – who am I kiddin’?

    Does the list thing help with the execution of tasks? I know when I put like just one or 2 things up on the white board, I’m more apt to do them. It’s like a nag screen.

    For short term stuff there’s nothing like my daily to do list. Making a detailed master list and having an overall plan of attack really helps me figure out priority, how much time it’s going to take me to do something, and what it’s going to cost me – especially with some of the remodeling stuff we’re trying to accomplish.

    And if I didn’t say it before, Happy Anniversary!

    Aw thanks!

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 23:07:32

    Hm? I’m sorry, did you say something? I wasn’t paying attention.

    😉

    Execution. Tough. Very. But, at least you’re moving in the right direction and have everything ready. Don’t feel bad. Just keep yourself … to a few items at a time.

    Familiar with the List of Six idea? It might help you. See “Beattie, Bryce” for more information.

    Reply

  3. whatigotsofar
    Mar 04, 2009 @ 20:55:30

    How the single man and the married woman’s mind differs: You get rid of a 32″ TV with a stand for fear of overwhelming the feng shui or whatever of the room. I continously increase the size and audacity of my home theatre system to the point where renovating with sound-proof insulation is required.

    Reply

  4. claire
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 09:56:11

    about the garden…has ben ever had a garden before? they are a time sink — and can be very rewarding — but the first year w/ a newborn might not be my first choice time to plant one… 🙂 I would suggest looking into a CSA (community supported agriculture) for local produce that you get weekly throughout the growing season…support local growers, it’s fresh and healthy, and you don’t even have to pull weeds! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

