32 weeks down, 8 or so left to go…

We’re definitely into the home stretch now… baby continues to move and grow.  I’ m finding it harder to move but am still growing 🙂

Here’s what’s going on with baby:

  • Roughly 18 inches from heel to toe
  • Approximately 4+ lbs
  • She has toenails, fingernails, and peach fuzz hair (will it be dark brown or more blond-ish??)
  • Lots of kicking and stretching – this should be close to the peak for movement as she starts to get a little more confined.
  • She’s still practicing swallowing and sucking her thumb.
  • Her legs are drawn up into the fetal position

What’s going on with me this week? 

  • Starting to get tiiiiiiiired more easily.  We went to the Home & Garden show on Sunday and I had to sit and rest a few times.  I’m not my usual zippy self.  I even took a nap when we got home.
  • Getting out of breath after one short flight of stairs.
  • Starting to get some weird lumps that we can identify as body parts (dupa, elbow, knee).
  • I’m continuing to experience constant breakouts on my face, chest, and back due to the double blast of hormones from me and baby.
  • Not just pants are getting smaller… I’m starting to bust out of my shirts now.  I wore a dress on Saturday night to celebrate our anniversary dinner and felt like I was flashing everyone. Stupid cleavage.
  • I’m really looking forward to the day that I’m no longer pregnant… my sights are set for 37 weeks – April 6th. 
  • No Braxton Hicks contractions yet that I know of.  Maybe I’m having them and just don’t know it. 

I head to my next dr’s appointment on Thursday afternoon so we’ll see how things are doing then.  I don’t know if I like having appointments spaced every 2 weeks or find them an inconvenience.  I’m sure I won’t mind when they’re every week and I get closer to delivering, that’s for sure.

Look forward to a mid-week update… ~k

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 16:21:07

    Happy anniversary, you guys! You should have told us — we’d have sent you an eCard at least.

    Whoops – we forgot to tell you? 🙂 03/01/2003. Next year is lucky number 7!

    I’m really excited for you. This is great stuff! 🙂

    I’m starting to get excited too. It’s tempered by me being bulky, slow-moving, and all over tired. The good thing is that there’s now SOME excitement.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 16:46:42

    Happy Anniversary!

    Sank you berry mush!

    Oh, and just so you know, you’ll KNOW when you’re having Braxton Hicks! Your belly will tighten like a rock and it takes your breath away. It will stop you in your tracks when you have them, so be prepared to pause now and then until it’s done – just a minute or so.

    Hmm… then I’ve never had them. *Should* I be having them? I mean, with only 8 weeks (or less.. eek!) to go I thought I would have had at least ONE identifiable BH contraction. They’re supposed to prepare me for labor, damnit. I don’t want to go through this without a dress rehearsal! 😉

    I’ll ask the doc on Thursday. I’m sure she’ll have a vague answer for me…

    Reply

  3. Allison
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 20:55:34

    FWIW, I had no clue when I was having contractions. But I am just weird. I think my whole last month was one giant contraction.

    I’ve had weird jerky motions but just attributed it to the baby moving funny. I figure that I’ll know ’em when I have ’em… maybe 🙂

    My vote is the baby has light hair. Were you and Ben dark-haired babies, light-haired babies, or bald?

    I’ll have to look at my old baby pictures but I think that I had dark hair when I was born. Ben was pretty blonde until he was in middle school or so. Who knows, she could take after Jamie and be bald until she’s 4 🙂

    Reply

  4. claire
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 09:39:08

    congrats on the anniversary! i didn’t have bh contractions until i was at the very tail end of my pregnancy. as uncomfortable as you are, try not to wish this time away b/c as soon as baby is here, your life changes FOREVER. 🙂 see you for dinner on friday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

