Wandering about aimlessly in the Doldrums…

I’m sitting here at work and I just can’t get motivated to do anything.  I managed to cancel the 2PM appointment I was supposed to have today because the person going with me is out sick, but other than that I have barely done anything work-related since I walked in the door at 8:05. 

I’ve tried everything… writing down my list of stuff to do today (which seems to be never ending), working on some personal stuff hoping to jump-start my brain into tackling work matters, and even doing a little Twitter surfing.  None of it seems to be helping and I’m trapped in the Doldrums.

To make matters worse, I feel like I’m fighting off a cold *and* I’m burning up hot.  Either our office is really warm, I’m developing a fever, or the baby is starting to regulate my temperature.  No matter the reason, I’m screwed.

How do you get yourself out of the ‘I don’t wanna do anything constructive today’  mood?  I’m in need of some suggestions…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherri
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 13:13:18

    I wish I had a little wisdom to pass along to you, but I’ve been in the same boat! I feel a little livelier today, but I don’t know why.

    Reply

  2. claire
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 13:41:56

    great question because i have had that “bug” for a while now and I don’t wanna do jack squat! 🙂 perhaps it’s a groggy feeling that soon we’ll all be waking from hibernation just in time to enjoy spring and then we’ll get our groove back? 🙂

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 13:42:06

    Usually, I don’t bother trying to get out of the Doldrums. Here’s hoping it doesn’t last long for you.

    If there’s something you HAVE to do, that MUST be done today or by the end of the week or something, that might help. Deadlines have a way of motivating us.

    Hope you’re all right sweetie.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 16:34:01

    oh, it’s spreading! The winter-itus blah’s! Or something. All I know is that I feel listless and totally unmotivated to do much of anything. For days now.

    Reply

  5. Allison
    Feb 27, 2009 @ 12:55:02

    Get out of the mood? No way, embrace the mood! Play the pregnancy card!!!! Play it now!!!!!!! 🙂 Go home and VEG OUT!

    Seriously, the best day of my life recently was when I took Griffin to school and stayed home sick as a dog but I didn’t have to do ANYTHING. I laid on the couch and watched Lifetime movies all day and it was the best treat. I had not been able to do that for 2 and a half years 🙂

    Reply

  6. whatigotsofar
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 10:19:01

    When I’m feeling like that, I eat. I eat a lot. I’ll order a party size pizza and eat the whole thing myself. Sure, it may take upwards of three days to eat the whole pizza. But, gosh darnit, pizza’s good.

    Basically, I embrace the feeling. I let it overwhelm me. It takes over my person. I let it spend 45 bucks on pizza.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

