31 weeks down, 9 or so left to go.

I hit 31 weeks on Monday and realized after reading all the nifty baby sites that the baby’s whole development plan from now until she enters the world is to put on weight.  Sure, she has to work on that whole ‘making-sure-her-lungs-are-ready-to-breathe’  thing, but other than that her sole purpose in life (well, other than working on her kung fu moves) is to pack on the pounds.  This is probably the one time in her life that she won’t be worried about her weight, n’est ce que pas?

What’s going on with me, you ask?  Here it is…

  • Almost every conversation I have with people begins with, “How are you feeling?”  Sometimes I want to punch them even though they’re being nice.
  • Little Miss is moving about almost constantly.  I feel her up high, down low, and anywhere in between.  She’s making the laptop dance at the moment.  Also, I don’t think she likes Shiloh (our Aussie) because every time she rests her head on my belly the baby kicks her.  No kidding.
  • I’m starting to lose the war between my mind and my body.  My brain says, “Go-go-go-go!” while my body says, “Yanno what?  Let’s stop and rest for a while.”
  • On the other hand, I’m getting LOTS of books read.
  • Nursery is chugging along!  Room is painted, closet organizer is installed, and the crib is put together.  Hopefully it will be done soon.
  • We made it through the childbirth class… well, kinda.  We sat through the first night of classroom and fully detailed birth videos but couldn’t take the touchy feeley hippie stuff of the second day.  I had to bail because I was so uncomfortable.

Other than that not much is happening baby-wise.  Next appointment is a week from tomorrow.  I’m on the every other week schedule now.

Oh yeah!  Question for you guys… is your labor experience similar to that of your mom’s?  Only reason I ask is because I’m praying the answer is yes.  I talked with my mom this weekend and she said that when she had both me and my sister that it was roughly 4 hours from the time her water broke / labor started until she delivered us.  I can only wish / hope / make sacrifices that it will be the same with me.

Have a great week!  ~k

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 25, 2009 @ 01:19:08

    So, how are you feeling? 😉

    I KEEL you! 🙂

    I have no idea what my mother’s labor experiences were like. I do know my own were all different, just like each baby is different so is each pregnancy, even for the same woman.

    I’m just wishing and hoping my labor mimics that of my mom’s EXACTLY. Four hours sounds reasonable, yanno?

    What touchy feely stuff do you mean? I didn’t take classes.

    I wish we hadn’t taken this stupid class either. I’m so weird when it comes to people touching me (even Ben), especially when we’re in public. I just wasn’t comfortable with sitting on a thin mat on the floor with a bunch of strangers having Ben sit behind me, reach around, and rub my belly as ‘massage’ to help me relax. If anything, it coiled me tighter than a spring.

    Then it moved on to what types of massages could help during contractions (this is all meant for early labor before we head to the hospital, BTW) and there are just some ways I really don’t want my husband to touch me if we’re not alone. No, not the kind of touches that go us into this situation in the first place 😉 but just kind of intimate massage. One position included me draping myself over a stress ball and it was shortly after that where I decided I’d had enough and could figure out ways to relax on my own.

    I’m not a touchy feely type person!

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Feb 25, 2009 @ 01:49:07

    How’re you feeling?

    I KEEL you too.

    My daughter came with a whopping total of — what? — an hour and a half? Our daughter twenty, thirty minutes?

    Envious is MUCH too weak of a word to describe how I feel…

    Piece o’ cake. I never felt a thing.

    What? She never tried to break your fingers?

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 25, 2009 @ 04:06:04

    The 20 min labor was our son, the 90 min was our daughter.

    But I have spent 72 hours of my life in labor. That’s not for blog chat though. 🙂

    Yowza.

    Reply

  4. claire
    Feb 25, 2009 @ 10:24:24

    My experience was not like my mom’s. Two bad things happened to me. 1) I was induced so my contractions came on like a freakin’ firing squad. And 2) I had back labor, so all of my contractions were in the small of my back. OH MY GOSH, that was NOT fun.

    I heard that being induced makes the contractions hurt all that much more – ow! Hopefully I either head into labor early or can avoid having mine induced so I don’t have to go through that hell.

    As a result, my pretty little birth plan went out the window and when we got to the hospital I begged for drugs. Epidural with a bolster so I could administer more medicine every 30 minutes. That was a blessing for me.

    I’m kind of flying by the seat of my pants with the birth plan thing. I know I definitely want an epidural and want my mom & sister (who are both nurses) in the room up until the point I start pushing. After that, I think it will be me, Ben, and essential medical personnel. Love my family, but I don’t think I want them seeing THAT much. Oh yeah – I also want the first 1-2 hours after she’s born before we’re moved to postpartum to be just me, Ben, and baby for as much as possible. I’m still trying to figure out how to tell my family that’s what I want without hurting their feelings *sigh*.

    You kind of just listen to your body and go from there. My best choice was hiring a birth coach to be in the room with me. Doulas are like angels — they tell you what you need to hear, comfort you, relax you, etc. Nurses are not in your room very much and Jeremy and I had no clue what we were doing as first time parents…so our doula was a gift from God!! The best $500 I ever spent!!!

    I personally can’t see us paying someone for what Ben or other supporting family member is supposed to be doing for me 😉 I guess I’m spoiled by having 2 nurses in the family; my sister did a rotation in the OSU L&D so she’s pretty familiar with what goes on up there.

    Try not to worry about it too much, labor is the easy part in hindsight…then let the sleepless nights begin. 🙂

    Labor just looms immediately in the distance all full of pain and the potential for horror stories. The sleepless nights are something that I can’t even THINK about just yet. I’m also spoiled by being able to sleep almost completely though the night right now… I’m SO going to miss that!

    Ah, so much fun!!! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Allison
    Feb 27, 2009 @ 12:57:06

    I am so terrible…a co-worker just told me that one of our parents of a child at the center is 9 weeks pregnant (yay!) and the first thing out of my mouth was “wow! How is she feeling??” Hey, I am just being polite 🙂 Don’t kill (or KEEL) me if I ask you how you feel. I really genuinely care 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

