Week 30 + Doctor Appointment Notes

So here we are in Week 30… only 10 more weeks to go!

A quick look at what’s happening with baby:

  • She’s about 17″ now from head to toe
  • Lots of practice breathing & hiccups
  • Able to regulate her own body temperature.  I think this is the point where I start to get reaaaallly warm.
  • Definitely has her set schedule for being awake and moving about.  Prime time is anywhere between 7:30PM and 10:30PM.  Luckily, she doesn’t wake me up in the middle of the night thumpin’ & bumpin’.

What’s going on with me?

  • I feel like I’ve been pregnant FOREVER.  No, that’s not an exaggeration.  What makes it even more horrible is that I know it’s going to get worse in the next few weeks.
  • Sitting in the bathtub feels absolutely wonderful; getting in and out of the bathtub now requires forethought, flexibility, and sometimes assistance.
  • I pretty much sleep through the night now with the exception of getting up to pee or reposition.  I start the evening in a sitting straight up position and end up on my side when I wake up. 
  • I need to get my butt back to the gym.  I gained 7 pounds since my last doctor’s appointment; only 1.5 of it was from baby.
  • The nursery is coming along!  We now have paint on the walls and the crib is assembled!
  • We’re doing our Childbirth class this weekend – that’s going to be good for some laughs 🙂

Notes from today’s doctor’s appointment:

  • Yes, I gained 7 lbs for a weight gain of 14 lbs total.  This is depressing since I was doing so well throughout the first two trimesters.  Looks like I got complacenet with the third trimester. 
  • Baby weighs in at close to 4 lbs and is measuring at a 32 week baby, not a 30 week baby.  Doc says that based on the current trend that she will be 8 – 8.5 lbs when she’s born.
  • We’re now 95% certain she’s a girl.  Oh yeah, that reminds me… I still have to explain to Ben how the doctor knows she’s a girl from seeing the three white lines.  That’s going to be a funny discussion.
  • Other than that, everything is going well.  I start heading to the doc every 2 weeks now so my next appointment is March 5th.
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Feb 17, 2009 @ 16:01:13

    Gettin’ exciting! In the home stretch now!

    Glad YOU find it exciting… I find it painful. The fun part is over and there is only misery remaining. *sigh*

    Reply

  2. sherri
    Feb 17, 2009 @ 16:31:44

    About the weight gain, go easy on yourself. You can’t control how heavy your uterus is getting, or how much amniotic fluid you’re carrying, or any of that. Beat yourself up for about 2 of those pounds. 😉

    Uh huh… you’re telling that to the woman who has been subsisting on Big Macs and Hi-C orange drink for the last few weeks? Not to mention I haven’t been to the gym in FOREVER. I feel horrible that baby actually packed on an extra pound… I’m a bad bad mother 🙂

    Reply

  3. Allison
    Feb 18, 2009 @ 00:30:24

    An end is really in sight now! Will you do a hospital tour with your childbirth class? Ours offered a tub to labor in but I never got that far.

    The class is completely separate from the hospital so I guess I have to make that appointment separately. HAHAHAHA – I just tried looking up the site to make the reservation and it had a broken picture link but the photo description was still there, “Picture of a woman, distressed, in a hospital bed.” Distressed… wow, I bet THAT’s an understatement.

    Does having a crib all put together and ready to go make it seem more *real*? Get some nursery pics up when you can 🙂

    Yes! Having the crib up DOES make it a little more real. I’m thinking about washing the bedding and getting everything set up as soon as possible just in case. Hopefully, Ben will finish the touch up painting tonight and we can work on getting the closet organizer in there. I’m running out of spots in the linen closet to put baby things people have already given us.

    Oh, I RSVP’d to your shower. The invites were really nice.

    Awesome! I sent invites to Kelly and Carrie too. The invites.. I’m such a Martha Stewart wannabe *sigh*. Jennifer and Jamie wouldn’t let me assemble them all by myself so we had an invite making party. Glad you liked them! Tell me if I’m carrying the chick theme too far 😉 Wait til you see the matching thank you cards.. oh yes I DID.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 18, 2009 @ 00:50:48

    Woo! 75% of the way there!

    Holy crap! I never thought about it that way. 75%… that’s like a “C”. I’m still holding out for the “A” though 🙂

    I’m seconding what Sherri said – not all weight gain is “baby.” Your blood volume has increased, your tissue mass has also, so has your breast volume, and don’t forget things like amniotic fluid and the placenta. That sucker is heavyv. You’re doing just fine.

    I was supposed to not gain more than 15 lbs and I’m already at 14. I think the Hi-C and Big Macs had something to do with it…. call me crazy! I’ll get over it. It was just such a HUGE shock to see my weight go up THAT much over the course of 4 weeks when it had been so stable for over 6 months.

    Yay for nursery progress! 🙂

    Hallelujah! Ben actually let me help put the crib together – I got to use the allen wrench to tighten the bolts and he got stuck with all the heavy lifitng! We’ll post pictures as we work further on it. I hope to get more of it done tonight.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

