Week 29… Better Late Than Never, eh?

Pretty much these last few weeks (11 and counting!) are all about her gaining weight and getting ready for her grand entrance into the world. 

Here’s what’s happening with baby:

Your baby is almost 17 inches tall now (nearly as tall as she will be at birth), and close to three pounds (a weight that will likely more than double — and may even come close to tripling —  by delivery time).  TRIPLING?!?  Say it ain’t so! 

Her wrinkled skin is smoothing out as more fat is deposited under the skin surface.   Her muscles and lungs are continuing to mature, and her head is growing bigger to make room for her developing brain.  Is that what I feel pressing against my bladder?

Space in your baby’s living quarters is now at a premium, so you’ll be feeling jabs and pokes from elbows and knees mostly. But those kicks will be more vigorous than before (and also less erratic) because your baby is stronger and excitedly responding to all sorts of stimuli — movement, sounds, light, and that candy bar you ate half an hour ago.  Or when Daddy says loud curse words when Mommy jacks up his Zune. 

What’s going on with me this week:

  • None of my ‘normal’ pants or pre-pregnancy undwear fit now.  This sucks.
  • I have an insane craving for anything with fake orange flavoring in it – the biggest culprits being Hi-C orange drink from McDonalds and orange creme slushies from Sonic.
  • I think I’m developing pregnancy-induced carpal tunnel in my wrists.  I’m sleeping in some funky positions and wake up every morning with pain and swelling in my wrist and thumb joints. 
  • It’s official – the ‘can’t-sleep-through-the-night-because-I-hafta-pee’ stage is here.
  •  My nesting urge is increasing, especially as it relates to the nursery getting done – I now know how people with obsessive compulsive disorder feel.
  • I’m spending 1/2 hour to an hour a night in the bathtub trying to get the achiness and pain out of my joints.  Stupid Relaxin!
  • My registries are done (thanks for all your help!) and invites for the baby shower have gone out *whew*.

So yeah… enough about Week 29.  I move on to Week 30 on Monday and have all sorts of fun scheduled for next week including a dr’s appointment that I *think* includes my last u/s.  Maybe we’ll get confirmation that it’s really a girl 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherri Cornelius
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 13:25:00

    Hey, you guys have Sonic up there? You ever eat cheese tator tots? They’re my fave. I used to live right near the very first Sonic ever, in Shawnee, OK.

    Oh yeah, and good stuff about the baby, too. 😉

    Mmmm… Sonic! We didn’t have a Sonic within 2 hours of our house for the longest time. My girlfriend who lives in Cincinnati said that we don’t come to visit as often and she suspects it’s linked to a Sonic in our backyard 🙂

    Reply

  2. claire
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 13:43:47

    Oh, girl, you be careful. All that orange crap is pure sugar….pure calories….pure torture to get rid of post-baby!!! Take it from me, i’ve been there! What you need is some orange gum!!! 🙂 Or orange tic-tacs!! good luck. And, I am already planning my gift for your shower…I am SOOOOO excited! (And, excited to meet some of your friends and family, too!)

    No kidding! It’s toxic orange sludge coursing through my body. Good call on the gum or Tic Tacs. I’ll have to stock up on them later this week.

    I’m glad you’re excited about the shower – it should be fun and you’ll get to meet a lot of cool people. In fact, I want you to meet Jennifer, my co-worker who is planning my shower. I think you guys would hit it off really well. Just a word of warning – my family is nuts, but in a GOOD way.

    Reply

  3. Allison
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 15:31:15

    Everything sounds like it is just chugging right along according to schedule 🙂 I had the carpal tunnel issues too pretty bad. My doctor said it was from all the extra fluid I was holding. I am not lying when I say the very MINUTE that the drugs wore off after the c-section I was like “OMG! My wrists don’t hurt anymore!” I was almost as excited about meeting Griffin 😉

    I found one of your emails from when you were 30 weeks pregnant with Griffin – it made me feel better to read it knowing you went through this same exact crap.

    It doesn’t look or feel like I’m retaining water to cause my carpal tunnel issues. I tried sleeping almost sitting straight up last night and got some relief. I need to replace this Hi-C orange goop with just straight water to get me all flushed out. Luckily, my office is right next door to the restroom!

    I’ll keep you posted after next week’s appt!

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 15:47:44

    Coming along nicely! I can’t wait for next week’s progress update! I’m so excited for you guys. This is awesome!

    I can’t wait for next week’s update, too!

    Make Ben talk to her!! MAKE HIM!

    I’m one step ahead of you… I stopped at 1/2 Price Books today and picked up a few books. I figure she’s never too early to start learning that life is rough and unfair – I’m going to make Ben read her Hans Christian Andersen’s Fairy Tales every night. This kid’s library is going to be massive seeing the bibliophiles that are her parents!

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 16:34:27

    Oooh, I had that carpal-tunnel thing with my last one, it was awful.

    I’m glad to know I’m not the only one! Plus, I type all day at work, which I’m sure is not making it ANY better.

    Yep, that’s her head on your bladder – fun, isn’t it? LOL

    ‘Fun’ is not the word I would choose to describe this feeling. No, not at all.

    This is so exciting, and brings back so many memories. 🙂 I can’t wait for you guys to hold her when she’s born!

    I’m kind of torn here… on one hand, I want to hold her. I really really do. On the other hand, I want her to stay in there forever so I don’t have to go through the ‘baby extraction process.’ And if there was a third hand, I’d have to say I’m terrified to hold this baby and actually be responsible for it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

