Week 27… Third Trimester, Here We Come!

This week, your baby weighs almost 2 pounds (like a head of cauliflower) and is about 14 1/2 inches long with her legs extended.  Wow… I *know* what a head of cauliflower weighs.  This gets more real every week, huh?

She’s sleeping and waking at regular intervals, opening and closing her eyes, and perhaps even sucking her fingers. No kidding!  She’s extremely active from about 8-10PM now and sometimes even later.  I’ve got my fingers crossed that she’s not a night owl! 

With more brain tissue developing, your baby’s brain is very active now. While her lungs are still immature, they would be capable of functioning — with a lot of medical help — if she were born now.  Ummmm… lets hold off on this for now, shall we?  I can wait a little longer (three months worth) to see her in person.

Chalk up any tiny rhythmic movements you may be feeling to a case of baby hiccups, which may be common from now on. Each episode usually lasts only a few moments, and they don’t bother her, so just relax and enjoy the tickle.  Tiny?  TINY!?  Her hiccups are by no means tiny.  Last night I was lying in bed and I could feel a hiccup start on one side where it felt like her head was and then ‘ripple’ across my stomach.  It happened about 11 times and was pretty evenly spaced out.  Funny thing was, *I* got the hiccups a few minutes after she was done.  Weird, huh? 

Other news… I now officially have only TWO pairs of pre-pregnancy pants that I can wear *sigh*.  Well, that amount only includes button-up kinds of pants (work / jeans /cords) and not the yoga pants I wear around the house.  Shirts are becoming increasingly shorter as I get bigger too.  Luckily, I’m fond of longer sweaters so this hasn’t really started being a problem yet.  I’ve got about $40 left at Motherhood Maternity… looks like I need to splurge on 2 pairs of pants to get me through the time I have left. 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Allison
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 11:42:58

    Woohoo! Cauliflower! Really moving up in the world of produce now 🙂 What is next? Watermelon???

    I peeked ahead and saw the following array of veggies… Chinese Cabbage, Jicama, and regular cabbage. No watermelon to be seen. Of course, I didn’t go as far as 42 weeks 😉

    Reply

  2. Allison
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 14:48:45

    Boo. I am disappointed in the next batch of vegetables. I think it will be more like honeydew, cantaloupe, medium pumpkin, and watermelon 🙂

    Oh, I think butternut squash is coming up too. As for spherical size, I think I’ve passed honeydew and cantaloupe… they’re still good for baby’s weight, though. Medium pumpkin – oi yoi yoi. I don’t even want to THINK about watermelon.

    I’ll have to get Ben to take a picture tonight of me sideways – you’ll get a kick out of it.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 14:52:53

    In the home stretch now! 😀

    Three months seems so lonnnnnnggggg and yet so utterly short at the same time. Needing help getting up off our couch is starting to get old.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 22:58:35

    They say hiccups don’t bother baby, but I beg to differ. When I was pregnant with my son, if he got hiccups, he’d get super angry and start stomping around in there, having a baby fit.

    Know what?

    Not much has changed since then, either. 😉

    2/3 of the way there! Woo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

