Baby Registry Hell

Baby registries are great for getting what you want from people before your baby is born – I get that.  What I don’t get is how someone who has never used (and sometimes never even HEARD of this stuff!) is supposed to figure out what they need for this alien little person that’s about to enter their lives.  I thought my wedding registry was tough but at least I could roughly estimate how many towels I’d need or place settings, even when company came to visit.  This baby stuff completely discombobulates me.

For example,  I had to have someone much more knowledgeable explain to me the difference in a receiving blanket and a burp cloth.  They should have an encyclopedia for these things.  Also, how many of each do I need?  What type of laundry load per day am I looking at?  Those of you who know me well know that I’m pretty anal retentive and want to know this stuff… and know it NOW!

Ben and I went to Babies R Us this weekend (Friday *and* Saturday!) to get our registry started there.  We managed to make it through the ‘big’ stuff like the furniture, stroller, car seat, monitor, etc. but I had no clue where to start when it came to blankets, washcloths, towels, and pacifiers.  What do I need?  What is just junk marketed to new mothers that we absolutely don’t need?  My poor husband – he wants to register for all the ‘fun’ stuff like clothes, blankets, and other stuff that people will completely disregard if it’s on your registry and buy what THEY think is cute.  I have a feeling we’re in for a lot of pink *sigh*.

On Saturday we also popped into Target to get him some Zune accessories before he heads off to North Carolina next week.  Sine the baby stuff aisle is conveniently close to electronics, I let him go and started looking down their aisles to see what they had compared to BRU.  Ben found me 10 minutes later completely transfixed by all of the diaper selection.  I was close to hyperventilating trying to figure out which diapers we needed to register for and how many.  Seriously – Pampers Swaddlers, Huggies, Luvs, store brand… aaaaaack!! OVERLOAD!  OVERLOAD!  OVERLOAD!  Ben talked me off the ledge and soothed me with a big ole cup of TH tea.  Thank goodness.

I might put all my registry questions into one big post and have you all leave me comments on what I need, what I DON’T need, and any other advice you can give me seeing as how this is throwing me into a tizzy.  Don’t be surprised to see emails with registry links or get panicked phone calls as my February 1st registry deadline looms ever closer.  Yes, Allison – you almost got a crazy lady call last night around 9:30 but I figured Griffin was in bed and didn’t want to chance it.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. claire
    Jan 26, 2009 @ 11:03:47

    hey girl…don’t have time to read this much now…i am on my way out the door to Milwaukee for the week. let me know if you want me to go “registry shopping” with you — i’ve been there, done that…and those marketers try to sell you a lot of crap that you don’t really need. i cheated and looked at other people’s registries on line to see what they were getting…and asked a million friends…and somehow it all worked out. remember, silly, the most important thing you need is something you already have: LOVE. 🙂 And you’re gonna be a great momma no matter how much crap you do or do not buy. 🙂 can’t wait for dinner on friday!!

    Reply

  2. Allison
    Jan 26, 2009 @ 11:54:29

    Call me anytime! If the roads are decent how about we all come up on Saturday for the day? We can go shopping and if Griffin doesn’t cooperate then Brad can take him somewhere to play. Let me know. I don’t have any other plans.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 01:04:01

    Hon, your encyclopedia is other moms. That’s what we’re hear for, and believe me, we live to pass on our knowledge!

    Prepare for the fact that diapers will be on your grocery list for the next 2-3 years. At least one package a week. It comes with the territory.

    I can help you with the other stuff, and I’d love to. Keep in mind, you feel like an idiot now because this is all new and unfamiliar to you – by the time Mallory’s a few weeks old, you’ll be a pro. Don’t worry so much! You will be fine, I promise, and me and the other moms you know will hold your hand the rest of the time, until you’ve got your mommy feet under you. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

