Week 26 Doctor’s Appointment

I had the most aggravating wait for a doctor’s appointment that I have ever had in my life today. 

I was running a little behind for my 9:15 appointment since I forgot to drink the little bottle of fake orange soda for my glucose tolerance test.  So there I was, driving down 315 at 8:40 trying to chug this 10oz bottle so I won’t have to wait for the finger stick test at the doctor’s office.  I get to the OSU hospital around 9:05 and realize that I don’t have enough time to park at the garage and walk to the doc’s office to allow myself the 5 minutes of ‘courtesy time’ before my appointment.  Instead, I valet park my car (which will end up costing me $6) and breeze into the waiting room with a good 8 minutes to spare.

I sign in, and begin the waiting game.  10 minutes… 15 minutes… 20 minutes.  Finally, I had to tell the people at the desk that I was due for my glucose tolerance test at 9:40 (a full 30+ minutes after I signed in).  The woman at the desk was snippy and informed me that I should have told them I was due when I came in.  I fired back at her that I didn’t expect to be waiting for the last half hour and it shouldn’t have been an issue. 

Needless to say, they pull me into the back and do the finger stick test in someone’s office because all of their rooms are full.  They dumped me back into the waiting room where I sat for another 15 – 20 minutes.  I was finally taken back to an exam room where I was hustled through a 7 minute ‘check up.’  The highlight of it was that they didn’t have a doppler in that room – just the ultrasound machine – so I got to catch another sneak peek of baby. 

Her head is right near my bladder (yay for me!) and her legs are up at the top of my uterus.  Essentially when I feel lower movement it’s her headbutting me.  The doctor said not to worry about my recent series of ‘accidents’ as long as I didn’t fall directly on my stomach and she’s still kicking fine.  I have to start doing kick counts in 2 weeks or so.

Oh yeah!  I passed my glucose tolerance test – no gestational diabetes for me!  My blood pressure was also fine (surprising seeing as how pissed I was when I finally got to the exam room), and I gained three pounds.  Looks like slacking off from going to the gym is really catching up with me.  Still, the doc was impressed with how I’m keeping my weight gain reasonable.  Next appointment is in 4 weeks and after that she wants to see me every 2 weeks. 

After waiting in line to check out, get my next appointment, and get the hell out of there, I realize that I only have $3 in cash in my wallet.  That would have been the perfect amount had I been able to park in the garage.  I sucked it up and got $20 in cash from a non-Chase machine and was whacked with a $3 processing fee.  Great – there’s another $3 down the drain. 

I had to wait for 15 minutes for the valets to bring my car back and when I did, some crazy lady decides to park her car in the lane right beside the valet lane and blocked me in for another 10 minutes.  She parked, took her keys out, and went into the hospital – I wonder if she missed all the valet guys in their bright green jackets?  Needless to say, I was mad from the appointment, STARVING because I couldn’t eat or drink anything due to my test, and irked that someone would be so inconsiderate as to completely block traffic.  I’m amazed I made it back to the office unscathed!

I owe it all to the soothing power of Tim Horton’s hot tea and a cinnamon raisin bagel with butter 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Allison
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 12:38:35

    Ugh! I am frustrated just reading about that visit. But *score* on the no GD and another ultrasound!

    My blood pressure rose as I was writing that post! I’m pretty thrilled with no GD *and* getting a quickie ultrasound. I think I have one more (maybe next appointment?) before we finally get to see her in person.

    Reply

  2. darcknyt
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 14:21:59

    I would’ve keyed that bitch’s car. Sorry for the bad language, but I would’ve gone ballistic. I used to live in a roach motel that passed for an apartment complex, and this fat jackass cab driver used to pull up in the morning, right as I’m leaving, and leave his car out there — turned off, keys gone — while he did whatever he had to do in the house. I was late for work more than once because I had to sit out there for ten minutes waiting for that a$$hole to move his cab.

    One word: WITNESSES. Yanno, all those guys in neon green jackets who were parking everyone’s cars? Yeah, not only would they have seen me but they also had my license plate number written down in their records. I don’t want to have the baby in ‘the big house’ and I’m not talking about the U of Michigan football stadium, either.

    UGH.

    Double up, ugh! ugh! Sorry, I couldn’t resist the Hammer reference 😉

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 19:01:23

    Some people just think the world revolves around them and have no concept that they are some of the most selfish and rude people on the planet. All such people need to be soundly spanked.

    Most importantly however, WOO on the no GD!! Congratulations! No need to bow, I know you can’t. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

