I think I have a foot jammed in my belly button…

From today’s ultrasound I know that one foot is to the left of my bellybutton and the other is to the immediate right.  The right one seems to have shifted and is now firmly lodged in/near my bellybutton causing me a good deal of pain.  I tried lying in two different positions to adjust her, but no dice.  Not as much movement this evening as in the past few nights,but we had a pretty active day. 

I was in a client meeting when my shirt just started moving;  she had the hiccups.  Luckily, I was the only person who noticed but it made me want to laugh.  It seems like when I pause for a few minutes after moving around a lot is when she really gets moving.  If I sit in a client meeting for an hour, hop in the tub for a soak, or sit on the couch in the evening, she gets antsy. 

Even now she’s starting to move more just a little below my bellybutton.  It must be her arms and head because it’s so low – what wonderful headbutts I have to look forward to 🙂  This poor kid is going to come out with two black eyes *sigh*

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 00:19:05

    It’s such a wonderful thing to experience! 😀

    I’m guessing that a guy’s version of ‘wonderful’ and a woman’s version are vastly different in this instance.

    Reply

  2. sherri
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 09:43:56

    Don’t laugh: Sometimes when gas moves through my stomach in a certain way I think it’s the baby kicking. My youngest is 5. Being pregnant never leaves you, even when the baby does.

    Oh dear. Hopefully my body will rebound once this is all over, but I know that’s wishful thinking. Friends of mine who have two year olds say that their bodies weren’t quite the same after baby.

    Reply

  3. claire
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 10:05:18

    haha, just your subject line made me giggle! Enjoy it. This is quality bonding time…before you have to listen to the fussing and change the diapers. 🙂 🙂 I’m glad you’re doing so well!

    It’s getting to the point where I think that once I have the baby I’m actually going to *miss* having that daily movement. Well, I figure we’ll make up for it by bonding skin to skin instead of skin to my insides. 🙂 I had Chinese for lunch today and she’s just all aflutter in there.

    Hopefully you got my e-mail about lunch today?? Let’s reschedule. I’m trying a avoid a total meltdown…

    I *did* get your email about lunch and sent it back, albeit pretty late. Hopefully you got mine seeing as how it’s after 1:30 now. We’ll catch up next Friday night – I can’t wait!

    Oh yeah, my book club kinda disbanded so I’m looking to join / start another one. Interested??

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 19:07:29

    Ahh, the old foot jammed into some weird inside place – brings back memories! One day, you will sort of miss it. I know it seems crazy to say that, but there’s something precious and amazing about being pregnant and experiencing that life within you, and when it’s gone, it’s gone forever, because each baby’s different. One day, you’ll laugh at the memories this baby made while “on the inside.” 😀

    I’m torn between wanting this pregnancy to be over because I’m quickly shifting into the ‘uncomfortable all the time’ phase and not wanting it to be over because some of this stuff *is* kinda cool. Like right now my shirt is moving because she apparently enjoys the hot tea I’m drinking 🙂 I know that a lot of moms feel kind of weird once the baby’s born because then they feel empty – I’m prepared for that feeling so hopefully I can plan for it!

    Reply

  5. Allison
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 22:09:58

    One of my favorite things *after* Griffin was born was to hold him against me, on my chest, and let him do his little newborn kicking and stretching around. It felt like when I could feel him during the pregnancy, but on the outside. It was a neat sensation. It is not nearly as sweet when he kicks me now 😉 How are you liking those hiccups?

    Can’t wait, can’t wait, can’t wait! It’s so weird getting to know this baby from the inside – I wonder if she’ll match what I thought on the outside? Hiccups aren’t too bad yet… I can tell when she has them because it’s a rhythmic movement instead of the erratic ones. They make me laugh, actually. At least she isn’t like me in the fact that if she gets the hiccups once then she has them all day long!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

