26 Weeks… What vegetable is baby now?

Here’s what’ going on with baby this week:

The network of nerves in your baby’s ears is better developed and more sensitive than before. She may now be able to hear both your voice and your partner’s as you chat with each other.   Note to self: stop dropping the F bomb now.  Ben yelled at the tv last night during the Steelers game and startled her.

She’s inhaling and exhaling small amounts of amniotic fluid, which is essential for the development of her lungs. These so-called breathing movements are also good practice for when he’s born and takes that first gulp of air.  Air is good. 

And she’s continuing to put on baby fat. She now weighs about a pound and two-thirds and measures 14 inches (an English hothouse cucumber) from head to heel.  As she puts on fat, I do too.  I wonder if her gaining weight is tied to my wanting Big Macs all the time?   Still no ‘eating for two’ occurrences yet where I can’t stop eating, but I’m sure my time will come.

Here’s what’s happening with me this week:

Your uterus is about 2.5 inches above your bellybutton (check!) and you will continue to grow approximately 1 cm each week. If you have been eating a well-balanced diet, you probably have gained about 16-22 pounds so far.  Not even close!  Last doctor’s visit was 2 lbs… we’ll see what this month’s visit on Thursday brings us. 

There was a period of a few days where she wouldn’t *stop* moving… I was worried that it was an indicator of what to expect in the months to come.  The last few days she’s settled back down into more predictable patterns and I can’t see my shirt move as much.  I wonder if her legs were kicking towards the front of me before and now she’s turned so that she’s kicking INTO me instead.  I can feel her move but can’t see them as well.   Plus, I think she’s flipped so that she’s right side up – I feel her moving lower now.  It was all near /above my bellybutton before but now it’s more like lower belly.

I’ll get to hear her heartbeat on the Doppler again on Thursday.  Ben isn’t able to make the appointment so I invited Mom and Jamie to go.  They’ll love it 🙂  I’ll update on Thursday with results from the appt.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 16:18:08

    The last month or so she’ll probably settle into her favorite position and pretty much stay there. Then only one part of you will bear all the brunt of the kicking. For me, it was the stomach that got it the most. It sounds like you have an active little gymnast in there!

    Her kicks don’t hurt… yet. There have been a few that startled the crap outta me, but no pain associated with her being in there to speak of. I was a little worried that her movements tapered off, but just think that it’s because of the new position. I’ll feel much better when I hear her heartbeat nice & strong on the doppler at the doctor’s office on Thursday. Right now she’s active as can be because I kinda indulged in leftover chocolate cake frosting.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 16:51:05

    I still say you should make Ben talk to her! She’s ready to hear daddy’s voice too!

    I’m *TRYING!* So far he just tells her bad jokes like, “What does a vegetarian zombie eat? GRAAAAAAAAINS!” I keep telling him that he can talk to her before we go to bed but I think it makes him uncomfortable to talk to my stomach. I mostly talk “to” her when I’m in the shower, getting out of bed (its own form of fun & torture!) or am in the car.

    Exciting! This is so awesome. 🙂

    I get more and more psyched with each week! Glad to know that people are reading my blog and aren’t like, “geez, hasn’t she popped this kid out YET!?”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

