Week 25

About Baby:

Head to heels, your baby now measures about 13 1/2 inches. Her weight — a pound and a half — isn’t much more than an average rutabaga, but she’s beginning to exchange her long, lean look for some baby fat. As she does, her wrinkled skin will begin to smooth out and she’ll start to look more and more like a newborn. She’s also growing more hair — and if you could see it, you’d now be able to discern its color and texture.  Ben and I were just talking about hair color the other day – will she have darker hair like me or almost blonde hair like Ben when he was a little kid?

Your baby is able to do more with their fingers now and can move her fingers to make a complete fist.  As your baby becomes more dexterous, she will be able to touch and hold her feet. Babies also begin to prefer their left hand or right hand at this time.  I never stopped to think about left hand vs. right hand.  I was too busy worrying about 10 fingers, 10 toes.

About Me:

You may also notice that you can’t move around as gracefully as before. HA!  Now *that* is an understatement!  I find I need help getting up off the floor, assistance out of certain pieces of furniture, and that I can no longer accurately judge how far my tummy sticks out.  I hit myself with the fridge door the other day *sigh*.

You can hear your baby’s heartbeat with both a Doppler and a stethoscope at this time, and your partner may even be able to hear the heartbeat unaided if he puts his ear in the right position.  Whoa!  We’re going to have to try that stethoscope thingie again. 

One other thing… I’ve FINALLY outgrown my favorite pair of  ‘regular’ jeans.  I tried to put them on yesterday for a quick trip to the grocery store and was sad to find out that they are about an inch too small at the waist.  I’ve had a massive growth spurt in the last 3 weeks – my bump turned into a definite distinguishable baby bulge.  Well, at least I don’t look just FAT anymore 🙂

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatigotsofar
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 16:57:43

    I’m sorry, I’m just stunned by the use of rutabaga. The rutabaga so rarely enters my life. I rarely remember such a thing exists.

    NOT my choice of reference point… just the website I copied & pasted it from. I’m going to have to google a rutabaga just to see what it looks like. Last week it was an ear of corn. That site is big on the fruit / vegetable comparisons.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 22:49:34

    Strawberry/rutabaga pie is yummy. I think it’s rutabaga. NO! Rhubarb! That’s it. I have no idea what a rutabaga is. Forget I mentioned it.

    Oooohhh… pie! Now I want an oatmeal creme pie. I’m getting worried because it seems I’m hitting the stage where I’m always hungry and the baby is perpetually in motion.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 03:45:25

    Does anyone know what a rutabaga is or what it looks like?

    The ‘official’ definition as found on Wikipedia: The rutabaga, swede (from Swedish turnip), or yellow turnip (Brassica napobrassica, or Brassica napus var. napobrassica) is a root vegetable that originated as a cross between the cabbage and the turnip. Its leaves can also be eaten as a leaf vegetable.

    She’s got about 7″ and 6 lbs to go before she’s done! Wow, just 3 more months! Time is sure speeding by. Nursery done yet? Post pics when it is, I’d love to see!

    Ai yai yai… 7″ and 6 lbs? This does not bode well for the entire baby extraction process. Yes, I’m in denial and am deliberately not thinking that far. 2 and a half more months all of a sudden doesn’t seem like that much time. ACK!

    Is the nursery done yet? Ooohhh boy… you’re funny! The nursery is um, in a state of partial readiness for painting. We’ve been such slackers about getting it done but it’s been targeted for completion this weekend. Ben has a 3 day weekend so I’m hoping to get the rest of everything cleared out, prepped, and painted in that time. Don’t worry – we’ll post pics 🙂

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 14:55:28

    Have you considered a home birth?

    Honestly, it’s not even on the radar.

    As a funny side note, Ben read that post and told me, “tell her that we compost and that’s about as far ‘hippy’ as we’re going to go.” On a more serious note, I admire people who choose to do that but can’t see it as a viable solution for me.

    Reply

  5. Allison
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 20:52:16

    The baby extraction process – haha! I found it easier to deny the fact that baby would actually come out. I don’t think I had given it much thought, honestly, until I was sitting in the hospital after my water broke. That was when my panic set in! 🙂 “Ohmygod this gigantic thing has to come OUT?!”

    I’m SO totally in denial right now that it isn’t even funny. I finally registered us for the ‘Childbirth Education’ class today so I’ll be forced to deal with it in mid February. I just try not to think about it too often or I get completely freaked out. I *hope* not to have to deal with it until my water breaks but we both know how I am… I’ll research the crap out of it. I can’t wait to see how my panic will manifest…

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 01:17:56

    It’s the kind of thing I highly recommend to anyone who is intrigued by the idea, but it’s not for everyone. And it’s not hippie! 😀 Neither is composting. 😛

    Hey now… *I* didn’t say it was hippie – BEN did 🙂 Composting and recycling is no longer hippie in my book – just socially responsible.

    Reply

  7. Allison
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 12:40:49

    Brad and I can’t even keep the bathroom clean. We would have to MOVE if we had a home birth.

    I don’t think there would be enough Lysol wipes at Costco for me to disinfect after that. We were talking about it at work today… I can’t even picture it. Maybe if I had a huge garden tub and a bedroom I was planning on demolishing after the birth.

    Reply

  8. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 20:16:50

    You guys are funny! It’s just a baby, not a disease! LMAO

    But there are all sorts of not-so-hygienic things that I don’t think I would want in my house associated with having a baby including afterbirth (ew!) and other um…. effluvia.

    Plus, I doubt I’d feel up to cleaning right after the ‘baby extraction process’ and Ben doesn’t have the most attention to detail when it comes to that stuff. Now my mom on the other hand would probably disinfect the entire house. She spent 5 hours cleaning our master bathroom when we first moved into our house. We almost had to rescue her from toxic cleaning fumes 🙂

    Reply

  9. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 17:13:23

    ROFL – bathtubs, hon, bathtubs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

