It’s official… I’m an addict.

Twitter, oh how I have come to depend on thee always being there for me…

It started off innocuously with Ben suggesting that I sign up for Twitter, a social networking site where you can read and send 140 character messages otherwise known as ‘tweets.’  It’s just like sending text messages over the web.  In fact, I can send/receive messages on Twitter from my phone, too.

I signed up for it and in the process got to know several of Ben’s online buddies who have since become my friends as well.  I’ve become accustomed to checking in with them once, twice, or even several times a day – mostly at work (shhh!).  I’ve also been able to follow a guru of the NFL – ProFootball Talk – who keeps me up to date with the league’s hottest gossip, breaking news, and noteworthy information. 

Today is when I realized that I have a problem… an addiction if you will.  I tried logging on first thing this morning to see any discussions I missed last night due to my falling fast asleep during the National Championship game, but I keep getting this error message:  “Something is technically wrong.  Thanks for noticing – we’re going to fix it up and have things back to normal soon.”

OH NO!  What am I going to do!?

P.S.  Follow me on Twitter at http://twitter.com/kreestee

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcZombie
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 09:56:00

    You my dear are such a dork! I hope the baby is cool like me 🙂

    Cool like you.. pfft! A certain level of dorkness is acceptable as long as you don’t exceed the maximum threshold.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 16:33:25

    Yes, geeks have a problem when they’re world is choked off. When the apocalypse comes and there’s no more Internet, what am I supposed to do?? WHAT??

    Perhaps it’s this mind-bending thought of what I will do without the Internet following the apocalypse that is keeping me up and causing my insomnia!? On a more serious note, I may suggest that Ben work that angle into his JoTA – how many people under the age of 35 would be able to cope without the conveniences of the Internet?

    Seriously, if the ball goes up Google goes bye bye… not to mention all the other sites we rely on so heavily – Google maps or MapQuest (welcome to the world of PAPER maps, kids – have fun folding ’em), blogging (back to pen & paper), et cetera, et cetera. Thanks for fueling my technology related nightmares for weeks to come *sigh*

    Reply

  3. jgayle
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 17:31:13

    UGH – seriously, twitter? isn’t that for preteens and other Twilight fans?

    Hmmm.. and this coming from the person who turned me on to Twilight and loves Britney Spears? You know you’re a 29 year old with a pre-teen trapped inside you – join the Twitter revolution!

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 03:37:57

    I feel responsible, since I think I’m the one who told Ben to sign up on Twitter. It’s like a contagion! It just spreads and spreads! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

