Week 24 – We’ve hit 6 months

Wow, it seems to be going SO much faster now.  It seems like only yesterday we had hit the 5 month halfway mark.  Maybe time goes faster in correlation to the less work that I get done in the nursery?

Here’s what’s going on with baby (and me!) this week:

Your baby’s growing steadily, having gained about 4 ounces since last week. That puts her at just over a pound. Since she’s almost a foot long (picture an ear of corn), she cuts a pretty lean figure at this point, but her body is filling out proportionally and she’ll soon start to plump up. Her brain is also growing quickly now, and her taste buds are continuing to develop.   I’d best start eating a multitude of foods now so that she won’t be a picky eater later.  I’ve always wondered if that’s an old wives tale…

In the past few weeks, the top of your uterus has risen above your belly button and is now about the size of a soccer ball.  No kidding that it’s above my bellybutton!  The whole soccer ball image just makes me go, ‘wow!’ 

I can feel her movements more frequently now – it seems she’s most active right after I eat, at 10:30AM, 4:30PM, and right before bed.  I figure if she’s moving around in there everything’s going as it should. 

I do my glucose screening test on the 22nd – that’s going to be a load of fun.  Down a bottle of nasty looking syrupy orange ‘cola’ and then have my finger pricked.  Hopefully all the exercise and not gaining weight early in my pregnancy will help me avoid those complications.  That was my main goal in starting the entire program anyways.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Allison
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 10:45:13

    Awww a little corncob 🙂 The orange drink wasn’t bad at all. If you have the option, drink it chilled though.

    It’s been in the fridge since I brought it home! Ben was like, “Um, why is there a piece of paper in the fridge?” I made sure to put the directions there with it so I didn’t forget.

    Reply

  2. claire
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 14:22:39

    lunch soon! and, can i help you with your nursery at all? or anything else? i can wash, sort and fold baby clothes for you, wash any bottles or other things that you will want ready, etc….really, just let me know how i can help you get ready for baby girl! 🙂

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 22:29:10

    Yep, the time goes faster based on how much you need to get done. Always.

    I think the picky eater thing is an old wives tale – some kids just are, like my son. My daughter, on the other hand, eats pretty much anything.

    The glucose screening’s not so bad. The stuff they give you to drink, well for me it was like the syrup they use to make 7up with. The hard part was having to do it on an empty stomach. I just don’t get telling a pregnant woman not to eat, even for tests.

    And I’m sure you’ll be just fine with the glucose tolerance. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

